Medical School Waitlist Movement: April 30 to July
When medical school waitlists move: what nine schools say about April 30, May, June and orientation, and why your Plan to Enroll choice matters most.
Medical School Waitlist Movement: April 30 to July
Medical school waitlists move mostly after April 30, when accepted applicants must drop to one acceptance, and again after each school's Commit to Enroll deadline. The nine schools below say offers come anywhere from March to the first day of orientation in August, and most name a window inside that.
Most waitlist advice is about the next letter. Our view is that the move that matters most in May is not a letter at all: it is staying on Plan to Enroll, not Commit to Enroll, at the school you hold, so a waitlist offer can still reach you. A letter of intent can help where a school says it reads one, and one school says outright that it does not change the decision. If you are drafting that letter now, the letter of intent rubric is where to start.
Every school page quoted below was checked on November 7, 2026. AAMC's own protocol pages and its MSAR waitlist data refused automated retrieval that day, so AAMC dates here are quoted from school pages that reproduce them, and no AAMC figure is stated.
Why movement clusters after April 15 and April 30
Waitlists move when someone who holds a seat lets it go. The AMCAS calendar forces that twice. By April 15, 2027 accepted applicants hold three acceptances or fewer, and by April 30, 2027 they hold one, as USC Greenville and Duke advising reproduce the protocol. Every seat released on those dates is a seat some school offers again.
George Washington describes the result for its own pool:
"As per the Traffic Rules for Applicants set out by the AAMC, by April 30, all applicants holding multiple acceptance offers or seats must hold only one acceptance. Most of the movement for alternates takes place in April and may continue until mid-summer." (GW alternate status)
USF puts the limit on April 30 itself: "Please note that seats may not be available right after April 30th; this is merely a starting point of potential waitlist movement." (USF Morsani)
A second wave follows each school's Commit to Enroll deadline, because that is when applicants still on Plan to Enroll must drop every other waitlist. In 2027 those deadlines run from May 11 to July 1 at the schools in the AMCAS traffic rules 2027 dates table. Every 2027 school page we checked uses April 30 as the one-acceptance date; none uses May 15.
What schools say about their own timing
| School | When offers come, as stated | How fast you answer |
|---|---|---|
| Mayo Clinic Alix | "Offers of acceptance from the alternate list may be extended between April and June." | Not stated |
| GW | "Most of the movement for alternates takes place in April and may continue until mid-summer." | Not stated |
| Cincinnati | MD alternate offers June – July; MD/PhD April – June | "5 days after offer" |
| USF | After April 30, "throughout the summer" | School says it will "work with you" if you hold another acceptance |
| UTHSC | "Most acceptances offered to alternates are made by June 15, although a small number may be made subsequent to this date." | Not stated |
| Florida State (2026-2027 cycle) | "Final decisions of acceptance or non-acceptance will be made by late May." | Not stated |
| USC Greenville | After its May 14, 2027 Commit to Enroll deadline | Commit to Enroll "within 48 hours of acceptance" |
| UVM Larner | "our waitlist process will start in May. Our waitlist remains open until the first day of orientation in August." | Not stated |
| WesternU HCOM (DO) | "An alternate may be offered a place in the class between March and August of the entering year." | Not stated |
The two answer windows that are stated are short: five days at Cincinnati and 48 hours at USC Greenville. UTHSC also gives an end date for bad news: "alternates will be notified no later than July 20 if an offer is not likely."
How many get off: only school-stated numbers
We found no national waitlist-acceptance rate on any page we could retrieve. Three schools publish a number or a statement about their own list:
- UTHSC: "In the past four (4) years, the average number of alternates accepted has been approximately sixty (60)." The FAQ is undated and does not give the list size, so no acceptance rate can be computed from it.
- WesternU HCOM (DO): "a five year average would be approximately 60 alternates. Every year a significant number of alternate candidates are offered acceptance into the class." That 60 is the size of the alternate pool, not the number admitted.
- GW: "Please know that every year alternates are offered acceptances."
Others decline to give numbers. UVM: "We will not disclose the number of applicants on the waitlist. In addition, we cannot make predictions on an applicant's likelihood of admission." GW: "We are unable to tell you how many students are included in this pool." If you want to ask your own school, the waitlist position email guide covers how, and the ranked vs unranked waitlist guide explains why some schools have no position to give.
Waitlisted at your top choice, accepted elsewhere
Here the order of moves matters more than any single letter.
- Plan to Enroll at the school you hold, by April 30, 2027. It keeps your waitlists open. Commit to Enroll means you have left them, and USF says a commitment elsewhere "will result in an automatic withdrawal" for "both "Accepted" and "Waitlisted" students". The Plan to Enroll vs Commit to Enroll guide covers both options.
- Read what your waitlist school accepts before you write. GW: "Updates submitted to the portal are welcome at any time." Florida State: "We do not accept letters of Intent, or letters of Interest until the Spring, and only from waitlisted applicants." UVM encourages applicants "to periodically contact our office … affirming their continued interest" and says extra letters of recommendation "will not influence an applicant's place on the waitlist."
- Send a letter of intent to one school only, and only if you mean it. Duke's advising page: "You should send a Letter of Intent to only one school, and if accepted, should not change your mind." Know what it buys at your school. USF accepts one and says "submitting a letter of intent will not increase the likelihood of being accepted nor influence an acceptance decision." The letter of intent sample and the waitlist update letter guide cover the writing.
- Hold Plan to Enroll until the Commit to Enroll deadline of the school you hold. Committing earlier means leaving every list.
- Be reachable and ready to answer fast. UTHSC: "Please be sure the most up-to-date contact information is available in your AMCAS profile." Draft the withdrawal email for your held school now, so a five-day or 48-hour window is enough.
Our view: in May, your Plan to Enroll status does more for your waitlist chances than a second letter. The basis: commitment elsewhere ends your place at USF, USC Greenville, Cincinnati and UTHSC by their own words, while USF says its letter of intent does not influence the decision and UVM says extra letters do not change your place. The countercase: at a school that invites updates and reads them as files are reconsidered, as GW and Florida State say they do, a real update is worth sending. Florida State says updates "may increase the likelihood of applicants from the Hold/Waitlist list being offered acceptance during the cycle."
Two constructed cases
Constructed examples, written by us, not real applicants. Context (invented): two applicants each hold one acceptance on April 30, 2027 and are waitlisted at a school whose page, like Cincinnati's MD page, says alternate offers come June to July.
- Applicant A selects Commit to Enroll on May 2 to "feel settled". Under the policies quoted above, a June offer from the waitlist school cannot be made to them.
- Applicant B stays on Plan to Enroll, checks that the held school's Commit to Enroll deadline is June 18 (Boston University's published 2027 date), and sends one update in May with a new responsibility. When a June offer comes with five days to answer, B can still take it.
The only difference between them is the date they committed.
DO waitlists move on a different clock
AACOM's traffic guidelines set the DO turning point at May 1, not April 30: "prior to May 1, applicants need to withdraw from any college(s) which they do not plan to attend and only hold a position at one COM to avoid having positions withdrawn." After that, "Those accepted on or after May 1 may be asked for an immediate deposit." A DO waitlist offer in May or June can come with no time to wait. WesternU HCOM's window runs March to August. The AACOMAS traffic guidelines and DO deposits page has the deposit schedule, and the hold status guide covers DO hold and alternate terms.
Questions about waitlist movement
Do medical school waitlists move after May 15?
Yes, at schools that say so. Cincinnati's MD alternate offers run June to July, UTHSC makes some offers after June 15, and UVM's list stays open until orientation in August.
Can you get off a medical school waitlist in July?
At some schools, yes. UVM's waitlist "remains open until the first day of orientation in August", and WesternU HCOM may offer a place "between March and August".
How many people get off a medical school waitlist?
No national figure was retrievable. UTHSC says it accepted about 60 alternates a year on average over four years; seven of the nine schools we checked publish no number.
Should I send another letter while I wait?
Only if your school invites it and you have something new. GW and Florida State invite updates; USF says a letter of intent does not influence its decision; UVM says extra recommendation letters do not change your place. USC's April 30 window calls for a short remain-on-waitlist email; our letter of continued interest guide has a constructed one.
When the call comes, accepting a waitlist offer after Plan to Enroll covers answer windows and the same-day release email.
Get a free review of your letter of intent
While you wait, the one letter worth writing is a letter of intent to the waitlist school you would choose, or an update with real news. Get a free Quick Review of your letter of intent: it checks that the letter ties a named feature of the school to your reason for attending and states your commitment at the strength you mean. For new accomplishments, use the update letter rubric. More waitlist guides are on the medical school essays hub and the medical school review page.
Sources
Retrieved November 7, 2026, except where noted.
- George Washington University School of Medicine and Health Sciences, Alternate Status (refers to spring 2027): movement timing, updates, no pool size.
- USF Health Morsani College of Medicine, Waitlist Process for MD Program (no year stated): April 30 as a starting point; automatic withdrawal; letter of intent.
- Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine, How to apply (2027 dates): April to June alternate offers.
- University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, CYMS (2026-2027 cycle): alternate offer months and 5-day answer.
- UTHSC College of Medicine, Alternate List FAQs (undated): June 15, July 20, about 60 alternates accepted a year.
- Florida State University College of Medicine, Admission Process and Timeline (2026-2027 cycle): late-May decisions; updates; letters of intent in spring.
- University of South Carolina School of Medicine Greenville, Choose Your Medical School (2026-2027 cycle): 48-hour rule.
- University of Vermont Larner College of Medicine, Interview Outcomes (no year stated): May start, open to orientation, no numbers, continued-interest contact.
- Western University of Health Sciences, WesternU HCOM: Alternate Candidates (no year stated): March to August; about 60 alternates.
- Duke University Prehealth Advising, Managing Acceptance and Communicating with medical schools (no year stated): April 15 and 30 steps; one letter of intent.
- American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine, AACOMAS Traffic Guidelines (no year stated): May 1 rules.
- Boston University Chobanian & Avedisian School of Medicine, Deadlines (entering class of 2027): June 18, 2027 Commit to Enroll date used in a constructed case.
- Not retrieved: AAMC protocol pages and MSAR waitlist procedures (automated retrieval refused, November 7, 2026). Not quoted.
Review your medical-school letter
Check your school-specific reason and whether your wording matches your actual interest or commitment.