Skip to main content

UCAS Veterinary Personal Statement Guide 2027

UCAS veterinary personal statement: three questions in 4,000 characters, what 9 UK vet schools ask for in experience, and a constructed lambing answer.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechNovember 7, 202614 min read
Free UCAS Statement ReviewAll three questions
Try Free

UCAS Veterinary Personal Statement Guide 2027

A UCAS veterinary medicine personal statement answers the same three questions as every other course, in 4,000 characters including spaces, with at least 350 characters per answer. What changes for vet applicants is where your experience is counted: 6 of the 9 UK vet schools we checked collect it on a separate form or questionnaire.

So the statement is not where you prove your hours. Liverpool says it does not use personal statements "for assessing applications or selecting for interview", and Bristol does "not normally use" them. Lancashire, at the other end, says your statement "will be evaluated and scored" to decide interviews. One statement goes to all of them. It has to show what your experience taught you about a vet's work, especially the parts that are not about animals you like: owners, costs and welfare decisions. The general UCAS personal statement rubric reads a draft for exactly that kind of interpretation.

Every UCAS, RCVS and vet school page quoted below was checked on 7 November 2026. The 2027-entry vet deadline was 15 October 2026 at 18:00 UK time and has passed. If you are applying in autumn 2027 for 2028 entry, the three-question format below is the one on UCAS's current guide; recheck it and each school's experience rules when the 2028-entry pages appear.

On this page: the three questions · what 9 vet schools ask for · experience that counts · welfare and owners · annotated Question 3 · checklist

The three questions for vet applicants

UCAS's personal statement guide sets the three questions:

  1. Why do you want to study this course or subject?
  2. How have your qualifications and studies helped you to prepare for this course or subject?
  3. What else have you done to prepare outside of education, and why are these experiences useful?

Each answer has "a minimum character count of 350 characters", and "The 4,000 overall character limit (including spaces) remains the same". UCAS adds that "Admissions staff will still review your personal statement as a whole". The UCAS three-question format guide covers the mechanics for every subject.

Two UCAS rules shape a vet list:

  • Four vet choices at most. UCAS: "you can only apply to a maximum of four courses in any one of medicine, dentistry, veterinary medicine or veterinary science" (filling in your application). The fifth choice must be another subject.
  • One statement for all five. The same statement goes to your four vet schools and your fifth choice (UCAS multiple courses guide). Liverpool says the fifth choice "will not prejudice applications for Veterinary Science at Liverpool". The medicine fifth-choice guide works through the same problem for medicine, and the method carries over.

For vets, Question 1 is why this profession, Question 2 is the science and what it taught you about how you learn, and Question 3 carries the experience. Most of this page is about Question 3, because that is where vet statements differ.

What 9 UK vet schools ask for

Each row is from the school's own page, checked 7 November 2026, for 2027 entry where the page names a year.

SchoolExperience asked forWhere it is assessedWhat the page says about the statement
RVC70 hours in vet practice plus 70 hours in non-clinical settings with live animals, within the 18 months before the deadlineApplicant Supplementary Form, within five days of the RVC receiving your applicationNot stated
Liverpool15 days (105 hours) within five years; at least one week in practice or commercial animal workSeparate evidence submission, closed 29 October 2026"We do not use personal statements for assessing applications or selecting for interview."
EdinburghNo set amount or typeWork Experience Summary form, due 22 October 2026 for 2027 entryShould "describe your relevant practical experience and its duration"
GlasgowRecommends "a minimum of one week's work experience in a veterinary practice"Work experience form, due 22 October (no year on the page)Not stated
CambridgeRecommends "at least 2 weeks of vocational experience, if possible"Not statedNot stated
Harper & KeeleNo minimum; "no weight will be afforded to those with greater time spent on placements"Vocational Experience form with scored reflective questions; the page says the 2027-entry deadline "has now passed"Not stated
Bristol"does not have any specific work experience requirements for entry"Supplementary questionnaire (SAQ) that asks you to draw on your experiencesMay be used only to separate applicants with equal scores
Surrey"We do not require evidence of veterinary work experience"Online questionnaire"Personal statements may also be reviewed"
LancashireEncouraged; a lack of it "will not be a barrier"Questionnaire, then a selection panel"evaluated and scored. This will determine if you will get an interview."

Our count: RVC, Liverpool, Edinburgh, Glasgow, Harper & Keele and Bristol collect experience on their own form or questionnaire (6 of 9). Nottingham's course page returned HTTP 404 at the address we tried, so it is not in the table. The 2027-entry form deadlines in this table have passed; they show how early the forms fall after the 15 October UCAS date.

Our view: write Question 3 as reflection on one or two placements, with a short clause for how long each lasted, and leave the hour totals to the forms. The basis is in the table: the schools that count hours count them elsewhere, Harper & Keele says what interests it most is "the insights you gained", and the schools that read the statement closely (Lancashire, Edinburgh) are reading it for what it shows about you.

The countercase: Edinburgh asks the statement itself to give your experience "and its duration", so a reflective answer with no lengths in it falls short there. A clause such as "two weeks of lambing" covers it in under 30 characters. If Edinburgh is one of your four, include durations.

Experience that counts

The schools define "experience" more widely than vet practice. RVC lists non-clinical settings including "kennels, cattery, animal shelter, rural or city farm, stables, pet shop, lambing, intensive livestock, abattoir", and excludes "the home environment/family business/pet ownership". Liverpool counts "cattle, sheep, horses, pigs, poultry, dogs, cats, rabbits" as core species and says core species "does not include wildlife or zoo placements". Harper & Keele says "dairy and lambing experiences are very useful" and suggests time on livestock farms if you cannot get large-animal clinical experience.

Three things follow for the statement:

  • Farm and production-animal work is worth a sentence even if you want small-animal practice. RVC, Liverpool and Harper & Keele all name livestock, and clause 6.1 of the RCVS code below puts public health inside the vet's job.
  • Pet ownership is not experience at RVC. Your own dog can explain where the interest started in Question 1. It does not belong in Question 3.
  • People-facing work counts at some schools. Lancashire names "Engaging with the general public", communicating and problem-solving, "in a retail or hospitality setting". Liverpool lists a customer-facing role as an optional category. If that is your strongest material, use it, and say what it taught you about talking to worried people.

For how to turn any placement into reflection, the UCAS Question 3 work experience guide covers the general method. US applicants count hours differently; see veterinary vs animal experience hours for VMCAS.

Welfare and owners: the rules vets work under

The Royal College of Veterinary Surgeons sets the standard every vet you shadowed works to. Its Code of Professional Conduct opens with the declaration each new vet makes, ending: "above all, my constant endeavour will be to ensure the health and welfare of animals committed to my care." The first rule is:

"1.1 Veterinary surgeons must make animal health and welfare their first consideration when attending to animals."

Two more clauses are about owners, not animals:

"2.3 Veterinary surgeons must provide appropriate information to clients about the practice, including the costs of services and medicines"

"2.4 Veterinary surgeons must communicate effectively with clients, including in written and spoken English, and ensure informed consent is obtained before treatments or procedures are carried out"

And clause 6.1 adds public health: vets "must seek to ensure the protection of public health and animal health and welfare". When the code's duties conflict, it says vets "should balance the professional responsibilities, having regard first to animal welfare."

That is the job the statement should show you understand. A sentence about loving animals describes your motivation. A sentence about a vet explaining an estimate to an owner, or a farmer weighing a call-out, shows you have seen the work. Do not quote the code in your statement; show the moment where you saw it applied. The UK vet school interview questions page covers how the same code comes up again at interview.

Annotated constructed statement: Question 3

Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement. Context (invented): an applicant with two weeks of lambing on a hill farm and one week at a small-animal practice.

The weak version (362 characters):

I have loved animals since I was young. I completed three weeks of work experience at a vet practice and on a farm, which taught me teamwork, communication and resilience. I also volunteer at a cat rescue every Saturday. These experiences confirmed my passion for becoming a vet and showed me how rewarding the job is. I am excited to begin my veterinary career.

The revised version (744 characters):

Two weeks of lambing on a hill farm showed me how much of the work happened before a vet was called. I checked ewes every two hours overnight and learned to tell when a birth needed the farmer. When one ewe needed the vet, the farmer's first question was whether the call-out was worth it for one lamb. The vet put the ewe's welfare first, then set out the cost of each option and let the farmer choose. During a week at a small-animal practice, I watched a nurse talk an owner through an estimate for an elderly dog's dental work. On the farm and at the desk, the decision ran through someone else's budget and consent. I now see explaining options clearly as part of treating an animal, and it is the skill I most want to build on placements.

What changed, against the rules above:

  • Durations stay, totals go. "Two weeks" and "a week" give Edinburgh the duration it asks for. The hour totals belong on the RVC, Liverpool and Edinburgh forms.
  • Trait labels became observations. The weak version claims "teamwork, communication and resilience". The revision shows one decision and what the applicant did (overnight checks) and saw (the cost conversation).
  • Owners and welfare appear. The farmer's question and the estimate are clauses 1.1, 2.3 and 2.4 of the RCVS code seen in practice, without naming the code.
  • The cat rescue is gone, not lost. At 744 characters this answer leaves room for Questions 1 and 2. The rescue can return in one line if it adds something the farm does not.
  • The ending looks forward. It names a skill to build, not a feeling about the career.

Both versions are above the 350-character minimum. Character counts include spaces, as UCAS counts them.

Rules on AI help for vet statements

Edinburgh's how-to-apply page states its rule in full:

"The use of AI software, such as ChatGPT, to write personal statements for your application will be considered cheating and will be flagged by the application system. Therefore, whilst you may be able to use AI software to help start and structure your personal statement, we strongly advise you to write your own to ensure it is personal to you."

For UCAS's own position, see does UCAS check personal statements for AI.

Checklist before you submit

  1. Each answer is at least 350 characters, and the three together are 4,000 or fewer including spaces.
  2. Question 3 names one or two placements with how long each lasted.
  3. At least one sentence shows an owner, a farmer, a cost or a consent decision.
  4. Livestock or production-animal work appears if you have any.
  5. Pet ownership sits in Question 1 at most, never as experience.
  6. No answer repeats an example another answer already used.
  7. No trait label ("teamwork", "resilience") stands without the action behind it.
  8. Every school's separate experience form is filed by its own date, not the UCAS date.
  9. The statement still reads well to your fifth choice.

Questions about the UCAS veterinary personal statement

Do vet schools read the UCAS personal statement?

Some do and some do not. Liverpool says it does not use statements to assess applications or select for interview; Bristol may use them only to separate equal scores; Lancashire scores them to decide interviews; Edinburgh tells you what to put in it.

How much work experience do I need for vet school in the UK?

It depends on the school. RVC asks for 140 hours in the 18 months before the deadline, Liverpool for 15 days within five years, and Glasgow recommends a week in practice. Edinburgh, Harper & Keele and Bristol set no minimum, and Surrey does not require vet work experience.

Should I list my hours in the statement?

Give the length of each placement in a few words. Put the totals on the school's form, which is where RVC, Liverpool and Edinburgh assess them.

Can I write about my pets?

As the start of your interest in Question 1, briefly. RVC excludes pet ownership from its experience requirement, so do not present it as experience.

Get a free review of your personal statement

Get a free Quick Review of your personal statement against GradPilot's general UCAS personal statement rubric. It reads your three answers for course direction, preparation through study and activity, whether you interpret your experience rather than list it, and whether the three answers work as one statement. You can also start it from the UK personal statement checker.

More UK health statement guides:

Sources

Retrieved 7 November 2026, except where noted.

Review Your UCAS Personal Statement

Question-by-question feedback on your own answers — and whether the three read as one statement.

Review Now

Related Articles

Your UCAS Statement Deserves a Second Look

Private, rubric-based review of your own writing before you submit — plus an AI-authenticity check

Get Free Review
No credit card required