Skip to main content

Art History PhD Statement of Purpose in 600 Words

An art history PhD statement of purpose shows field, objects, languages and fit. MA, language and sample rules at 4 programs, plus a constructed example.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechOctober 30, 202614 min read
Free Quick Review of your statementRubric-based feedback before you submit

Art History PhD Statement of Purpose in 600 Words

An art history PhD statement of purpose has to show four things fast: your field, the objects you work with, your languages, and the faculty you would work with. Queen's University gives you 500-600 words to do it. Yale's department page calls it a "one page statement of purpose".

The short length is not the hard part. Readers check readiness that the statement cannot talk around: UW requires an MA before its PhD begins, Harvard says a weak language background is a gap you will have to close, and Harvard caps the writing sample at 20 pages. This page sets out those rules, shows how to write a language plan, and gives a constructed statement inside Queen's limit. Once your draft is under 600 words, a free Quick Review on GradPilot's general PhD statement rubric checks it for a clear research direction, the preparation behind it, and faculty fit.

We checked each program page on October 30, 2026. Harvard and UW name a 2027 deadline or entry term; Queen's and both Yale pages give no year, so confirm those rows before you apply.

On this page: four programs' readiness rules · the language line · conflicting pages · a constructed statement · the writing sample

The readiness checks four programs publish

ProgramDegree needed firstLanguagesStatementWriting sample
Harvard HAA (Griffin GSAS) (deadline Jan 5, 2027, 5:00 pm)Not stated"A strong language background helps to strengthen an application"Personal statement: "Required""should not exceed 20 pages"; PDF up to 2.5 MB
University of Washington (Autumn 2027; deadline January 15, 11:50 pm PST)"a MA is required before beginning our program"Reading exams in two languages in year onePersonal statement on goals, background and preparation"should not exceed 50 pages"; "20-30 pages are most common"
Queen's University (Canada; no year stated)Honours BA and an MA "with an 'A' grade in the primary courses"Not stated"500-600 words""e.g. art history essay"
Yale GSAS, History of Art (deadline December 1; no year stated)Not statedNot statedNot stated on this page"A writing sample is required by this program."
Yale Department of the History of Art (undated page)Not statedNot stated"one page statement of purpose""a term paper or other writing sample"

Read across the rows:

  • Two of the four programs require an MA. UW requires it before its PhD begins; Queen's requires it for admission. If you are applying from a BA, check this first; our guide to a PhD straight from undergrad without a master's covers the wider question.
  • Languages are judged at admission even where they are tested later. UW's exams happen in the first year, but its page adds: "Evidence of ability to pass language exams will be a consideration in evaluating applications."
  • Sample caps differ by a factor of 2.5. Harvard's limit is 20 pages and UW's is 50 (our arithmetic: 50 ÷ 20). A 30-page seminar paper that suits UW must be cut for Harvard.

Languages: what to write when you are not yet ready

Harvard's full sentence is: "A strong language background helps to strengthen an application and students who lack it should be aware that they will need to address these gaps during their first two years of graduate study." UW: "We expect MA: Thesis Track and PhD students to take reading proficiency examinations in one (MA: Thesis Track) or two (PhD) languages relevant to their field of study during their first year in the program."

Neither page requires a language at admission, but both treat it as something the reader will weigh. So say exactly where you are, what evidence there is, and what you will do next.

Our view: give each language one line: the language, your current reading level in plain terms, the evidence (courses, exams, research use), and the plan for any gap. The basis is UW's sentence that evidence of ability "will be a consideration", and Harvard's that gaps must be addressed in the first two years.

The countercase: if your field needs no language beyond English, as some modern and contemporary fields may not, one sentence saying so is enough. Do not invent a language plan to fill space.

Constructed example: a language line that says nothing

Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement.

I am proficient in Spanish and have studied Latin.

It gives no reading level, no evidence and no plan. The fourth paragraph of the constructed statement below rewrites it as one line per language: what the applicant can read, how they have used it, and what they will do about the gap.

Comparative literature statements carry the same question; our comparative literature SOP language-readiness guide covers how to describe reading ability without the word "fluent".

When the Graduate School and department pages disagree

Yale is the example. The Graduate School's program page says: "GRE is not accepted." The department's own admissions page, which carries no date, says: "The GRE scores are significant because they can compensate for any divergency in the meaning of the same grade in different colleges." The department page also gives the only statement length Yale publishes: "The student's one page statement of purpose is also read carefully."

Our recommendation: follow the Graduate School's program page for what the application accepts, because it is the Graduate School's current program listing and it states a deadline. Treat an undated department page as background. Where the two conflict on something that changes your file, email the program with both links and ask which applies to your entry year. For the statement length, one page is the only figure Yale states, so keep to it unless the application form says otherwise.

Naming faculty, and contacting them first

Brown's History of Art and Architecture department runs a public statement-of-purpose workshop, this year on Wednesday, November 4, 2026, 6-7:30 pm EST on Zoom, with pre-registration required. Its page posts a partial transcript of the 2025 workshop. In it, Professor Jeffrey Moser asks applicants: "Who do you want to work with specifically in the department, and why?"

On contacting faculty before applying, Moser says "the answer is a definitive yes", and adds: "We recommend doing it well in advance of the application to find out if they're taking students". He also says fit can come through method, not only period: "Even if they work on a different part of the world, with different languages, in a different period...that could still be a way of connection."

Moser also describes the statement as "an intellectual biography that demonstrates how you have become the ideal person to pursue the research you have proposed". That is one professor's framing at one department's workshop. At 500-600 words, keep the biography to what led you to your question. Where admission is pooled rather than mentor-led, see should you name a professor in your SOP.

A constructed art history statement under 600 words

Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement. Context (invented): an MA student finishing a thesis on late medieval Iberian altarpieces, applying to a program with a 500-600-word limit. Names in brackets are placeholders, and the objects and collections are invented for illustration.

I study the painted altarpiece in the Crown of Aragon between about 1400 and 1520, and I want to write a dissertation on how workshops reused designs across commissions and what that reuse tells us about patrons' expectations. I am applying to the doctoral program at [University] because two members of its faculty work on exactly the questions my MA thesis has opened.

My thesis, which I will complete in spring 2027, compares four altarpiece panels attributed to one Valencian workshop. Working from the panels themselves in [Museum] and from infrared images supplied by its conservation department, I found that two scenes share an underdrawing pattern although the contracts name different patrons. I argue that the workshop sold a repertoire, not a single design, and that the contracts' language of "copying" a model has been read too literally. My writing sample is the second chapter of the thesis.

My interest in workshop practice began in a summer internship in the paintings department at [Museum], where I helped catalogue a group of panels for a loan exhibition. Writing object entries taught me to begin with the object and its evidence before the documents, and that order now shapes how I work. It is also where I first saw two panels from different commissions hanging side by side and noticed that their compositions matched.

I read scholarly Spanish without a dictionary and have used it throughout my thesis, which draws on Spanish-language catalogues and archival inventories. I am in my second year of Latin and can read inscriptions and contracts with a dictionary. I would take a graduate Latin reading course in my first year to prepare for a reading examination. I also read Catalan slowly and would need formal study before using it for archival work.

At [University], [Professor A]'s research on workshop practice and the market for altarpieces in the Mediterranean is the closest model I know for my project, and I would ask her to supervise it. [Professor B]'s work on technical imaging in the study of panel painting would give me the method my thesis has only begun to use. I would also take part in the department's object-based seminar at [University museum], where I could study panels at first hand.

My question for the dissertation is whether design reuse was a workshop's commercial strategy or a patron's request. To answer it I would need to study the contracts and the panels together, across more workshops than my thesis can cover. I expect to begin with the workshops whose contracts survive in published editions, then move to unpublished notarial records in regional archives, and to pair each contract with technical images of the panels it describes. If the pattern I found holds for only one workshop, that is itself a result: it would mean reuse was a local practice, not a market norm. I have spoken with [Professor A] about the project and about whether she is taking new students this year.

After the PhD I want to work in a university or a museum where research and the care of collections meet. I am applying to [University] because its faculty, its collection and its seminars would let me do the object-based archival work my question needs.

That example is 539 words inside the quote (our count), inside Queen's 500-600. At Yale, keep to the one page the department names. Where no limit is stated, add one more piece of thesis evidence and a second sentence per faculty member on what in their published work you would build on.

The writing sample

UW says: "Papers produced for art history classes are generally the most useful evidence for reviewers of your written work. Other helpful submissions include art history-related articles, catalog essays, museum publications, or other writing dealing with art historical topics."

Three rules decide the version you send:

  1. Obey the cap without workarounds. Harvard: "Do not send a longer sample with instructions to read a particular section." Cut the paper instead.
  2. Watch the file size. Harvard's PDF limit is 2.5 MB ("does not exceed 2.5 MB (2,500 kb) in size"). Images make files large, so compress them before you upload.
  3. Ask whether images count toward page limits. None of the pages we checked says. That is an unknown, so check the application form or ask the program.

For excerpt and authorship rules in other humanities fields, our grad school writing sample guide compares nine programs.

Art history statement checklist

  1. You meet each program's degree rule: an MA finished or nearly finished where UW or Queen's requires one.
  2. The first sentence names your field, period and region.
  3. Your objects are named, with where you studied them and how.
  4. Each language has a line: current level, evidence, plan.
  5. Faculty are named with one reason each, tied to their published work.
  6. The statement and sample fit each program's caps (500-600 words at Queen's, one page at Yale; 20 pages and 2.5 MB at Harvard), with no note asking readers to read one section.
  7. Where a Graduate School page and a department page conflict, you followed the Graduate School page and asked about the rest.

Questions about the art history PhD statement of purpose

How long is an art history PhD statement of purpose?

Queen's asks for 500-600 words and Yale's department page refers to one page. Harvard, UW and Yale's Graduate School page state no length.

Do I need an MA to apply for an art history PhD?

At UW and Queen's, yes. Harvard's page does not state one.

Should I email faculty before applying?

At Brown, a faculty member said yes, well in advance, to find out whether they are taking students. That is one department's advice; follow each program's own guidance where it gives any.

Writing for a history PhD instead? Our history PhD statement of purpose guide covers that field's rules. For art history writing sample page limits at Harvard and UChicago, see the field table.

Applying in musicology rather than art history? Our music graduate school statement of purpose guide sets out what Eastman, Berkeley, Harvard and Chicago ask for, track by track.

For projects on religious objects, the religious studies PhD statement of purpose guide covers language expectations by field.

Get a free review of your art history statement of purpose

Get a free Quick Review of your art history statement of purpose against GradPilot's general PhD statement of purpose rubric (there is no art history rubric). Paste the language and faculty paragraphs with the rest: the rubric checks for a clear research direction, the preparation behind it, and why this program and its faculty suit you. If the object paragraph reads like a catalogue entry, the scholar-voice rubric checks whether the statement shows your own view of the field; the PhD adviser-fit rubric reads the faculty paragraph on its own. More PhD rubrics are on the PhD statement of purpose review page.

More humanities PhD guides:

Sources

Retrieved October 30, 2026, except where noted.

  • Harvard Griffin GSAS, History of Art and Architecture (deadline January 5, 2027): language background; writing sample cap and no longer sample with reading instructions; PDF size; personal statement required.
  • University of Washington, Division of Art History, MA and PhD Admissions (Autumn 2027): MA required; language exams and their weight; personal statement; writing sample types and length; deadline.
  • Queen's University, Art History, Ph.D. Program Admission (no year stated): BA and MA requirement; 500-600-word statement; writing sample.
  • Yale GSAS, History of Art (no year stated): GRE not accepted; writing sample required; deadline.
  • Yale Department of the History of Art, Admissions (undated): one-page statement; GRE wording; term paper or other sample.
  • Brown University, History of Art and Architecture, Graduate Statement of Purpose Workshop (workshop November 4, 2026; partial transcript of the 2025 workshop): faculty naming, contacting faculty, intellectual-biography framing.

Get feedback on your statement of purpose

Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against an admissions rubric before you submit.

Rubrics for This Topic

All PhD rubrics

Related Articles

Check your statement before you submit

A free Quick Review against an admissions rubric. Sign up, paste your draft, see what to fix.

No credit card required