History PhD Statement of Purpose: Example and Limits
History PhD statement of purpose rules at 7 departments, checked Oct 30: 1,000 words to about 5 pages, samples of 10 to 30 pages, a constructed example.
History PhD Statement of Purpose: Example and Limits
A history PhD statement of purpose names a place, a period, a question and the sources that can answer it, then the faculty who would read your file. Columbia and Berkeley cap it at 1,000 words; Harvard says most run three to five pages.
It is tempting to treat the statement as the center of a history application. The department pages say otherwise. Columbia calls the writing sample "often the decisive factor in our decision", and Berkeley sends your file first to the faculty you list. So the statement's job is narrower than it looks: point the readers at a researchable project and make your sample make sense. If you are drafting now, a PhD statement of purpose review checks the project paragraph against a general PhD SOP rubric.
Every department page quoted below was checked on October 30, 2026. Several pages state no cycle year; where that is true, the table says so. Recheck each page before you submit.
What seven history departments ask for
| Department | Statement length | Second document | Writing sample | Naming faculty |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Columbia (deadline December 3, 2026) | "1000 word limit" | "a personal statement of up to 1,000 words" | "not be more than 20 pages long", bibliographies and appendices excluded | On the GSAS form "and in the Statement of Purpose" |
| Berkeley (no cycle stated) | "1000 words maximum", double-spaced | Personal History Statement, same limit | "limited to ten pages"; extra pages "deleted" | "List them in order of interest" |
| Harvard (deadline December 1, 2026) | No fixed limit; "Most statements of purpose are around three to five pages" | Personal Statement required | No limit; "most writing samples are around 20 to 25 pages" | Name "potential advisors" |
| Yale (deadline December 1, no year stated) | Not stated on the pages checked | Book review, "maximum 1,000 words" | "not more than twenty-five pages" | Not stated on the pages checked |
| Princeton (fall 2027 entry) | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | "25-30 pages, including bibliography" | Select up to two on the application |
| UChicago (no cycle stated) | "Typically, a statement is 2 to 4 pages" (division-wide) | None listed for History on the division page | Not checked (department page returned 404) | Explain why UChicago "and its faculty are well-matched" |
| Georgia (no cycle stated) | "2-page, single-spaced maximum" | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page | Explain approaches and methods, not a name list |
The Princeton row was retrieved through a text reader because Princeton's server returned HTTP 403 to a direct request. Yale's GSAS page adds that "GRE is not accepted", and Berkeley says it "does not accept submitted scores".
Read down the columns and three things stand out (our count from the table):
- Four of the seven ask for a second document, so the statement does not have to carry everything. Columbia, Berkeley and Harvard ask for a separate personal statement; Yale asks for a book review.
- Writing-sample ceilings run from 10 pages (Berkeley) to 30 pages including bibliography (Princeton). One sample cannot be submitted unchanged everywhere.
- The faculty rule ranges from a ranked list (Berkeley) to two names at most (Princeton). That changes how many names belong in the statement.
How specific should the proposed project be?
Specific enough to be checked against an archive. UChicago tells History applicants the candidate statement should communicate "the specific questions and themes that will shape your dissertation research". Georgia's page says: "Convince us that you have a viable research project that you can complete while in our program." It also quotes Alabama's history department: "PhD applicants should describe the project they wish to undertake for their dissertation."
Viable, in a history department, means three things the reader can test:
- The question has a place, a period and a puzzle. Atlantic slavery is a field. Why did one port's customs clerks stop recording the origin of cargoes after 1840? is a question.
- The sources exist and you can reach them: a named record series, collection or type of document.
- The languages match the sources. Columbia says applicants are "strongly encouraged to develop a capacity to read scholarly work in the language or languages required for their proposed field of study before enrolling". Harvard says reading ability in the needed languages "is helpful".
Our view: put the question in the first paragraph and the sources in the second. If both are on the first page, a reader can test the project before reading anything else, and Berkeley's FAQ says each file is first read by "at least two history faculty members (usually in the stated field of interest)". Those first readers usually work in your field, so they can judge the archive you name.
The countercase: if you have not yet done primary-source research, do not invent a dissertation you cannot defend. Write the question you would start from and the kind of evidence it needs, and say what your sample shows instead. Berkeley states that the sample's purpose "is not to determine whether the candidate can 'do' research per se, but to demonstrate one's capacity for historical thinking." The research proposal or life story debate covers what professors in other fields say about how firm a project must be.
Naming faculty: first readers, a ranked list or two names
This is where history departments differ most, and where one generic paragraph fails.
- Berkeley: "List them in order of interest. The faculty you list will be the first reviewers of your file and will be your best advocates for admission." Your first name is effectively your first reader.
- Columbia: "All applicants should be sure to list the faculty they hope to work with in the relevant place on the GSAS application and in the Statement of Purpose." Names on the form alone are not enough.
- Princeton: the application lets you select up to two faculty members. A statement that praises five people points past the form.
- Georgia: "Rather than simply listing faculty names with whom you want to work, explain why their approaches, methods, topics fit with your own academic goals."
Our recommendation: name two or three people, in the order you would list them on the form, and give each one sentence about their method or sources, not their fame. The general case for how many names to use is in how many professors to name in your SOP.
The writing sample decides more than the statement
Columbia's admissions page is direct: "Your writing sample is often the decisive factor in our decision. While many types of samples are effective, the best tend to show your ability to construct historical arguments from primary sources: an excerpt from a research paper, for example, will be more useful than a complete essay based entirely on secondary scholarship." Yale's department page says: "Normally, the writing sample should be based on research in primary source materials." Berkeley wants "historical thinking".
So the statement should do one thing for the sample: tell the reader what it is and what it argues, in one or two sentences. Choosing and cutting the sample itself is covered in the grad school writing sample guide, and page limits across humanities and social science fields are compared in writing sample length by field.
Constructed example: a history statement, annotated
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement. Context (invented): a US senior in Atlantic history whose thesis used one Caribbean port's customs ledgers, applying to departments on the table above. Faculty names are placeholders. The four paragraphs below are 329 words, which fits Berkeley's and Columbia's 1,000-word caps with room for a short paragraph on preparation and goals.
For my senior thesis I read eleven years of customs ledgers from one British Caribbean port and found that after 1840 the clerks stopped recording where cargoes came from. The change was not announced in any instruction I could find. I want to write a dissertation on why record-keeping in small colonial ports changed when it did, and on what that change hid: which trades, which merchants and which forms of labor became harder to see once the paperwork stopped asking.
The thesis gave me the method. I built a table of 2,300 ledger entries, matched 140 merchant names against a published shipping register, and wrote a 38-page argument that the gap followed a change in who staffed the customs house rather than a change in trade. That argument rests on one port. The dissertation would test it across three ports with different staffing histories, using customs ledgers, the correspondence of port officials and merchant letter books.
I read French well enough to work through correspondence with a dictionary, and I am taking second-year Spanish this year because two of the three ports traded heavily with Spanish-speaking neighbors. I would continue Spanish in my first year and take the department's reading examination by the end of the second.
Professor A's work on the paperwork of empire is the reason I first framed the ledgers as a source about administration rather than about trade, and her argument that clerks made policy through omission is the claim I want to test at port level. Professor B's quantitative work on shipping networks would discipline the table I have started, which is still too small to support claims about a whole region. Professor C's seminar on archives and silence is the course I would most want to take in my first year. My writing sample is the third chapter of the thesis, where the staffing argument is made; it shows the method on one port before I ask to try it on three.
What each paragraph does, against the table:
- Paragraph 1 puts place, period, question and stakes in the first 80 words. That meets UChicago's "specific questions and themes" and Georgia's "viable research project".
- Paragraph 2 names the sources and shows the method on a finished piece of work. A reader can check the ledger table against the sample.
- Paragraph 3 turns languages into a plan with dates, which is what Columbia's language sentence asks for.
- Paragraph 4 ranks three people by method, in the order they would go on Berkeley's form. For Princeton, keep A and B and cut C. For Georgia, the method-fit sentences are already the point.
What to cut for each limit
- Georgia, two single-spaced pages: the four paragraphs fill less than one single-spaced page (our estimate). Keep them and add a short opening on what "sparked" your interest, which Georgia's page asks for.
- Berkeley and Columbia, 1,000 words: keep all four paragraphs and add up to about 600 words on preparation and goals (our arithmetic: 329 + 600 = 929, under 1,000). Your family story belongs in the separate personal statement both departments require.
- Harvard, three to five pages typical: add a paragraph on why Harvard specifically, which its page names first ("why you want to study at Harvard"), and develop the three-port comparison.
Check your history statement before you submit
- Place, period and question appear in the first paragraph.
- The sources are named as record types or collections, not as archival research.
- Each language you need has a current level and a plan with a date.
- Faculty names match the form: ranked for Berkeley, on the form and in the statement for Columbia, two at most for Princeton.
- Each named person gets one sentence about method or sources.
- One or two sentences tell the reader what the writing sample argues.
- The draft is under each department's limit, counted the department's way (words, or single-spaced pages).
- Biography is moved to the personal statement where the department asks for one.
Questions about history PhD statements
How long is a history PhD statement of purpose?
It depends on the department. Columbia and Berkeley set 1,000 words, Georgia two single-spaced pages, and Harvard says most run three to five pages. UChicago's division says statements are typically 2 to 4 pages.
Should a history SOP include a dissertation proposal?
Georgia and UChicago ask for a project or the questions that will shape the dissertation. None of the pages checked asks for a formal proposal with chapters. A question, sources and languages are enough.
How many professors should I name?
Princeton's application allows up to two. Berkeley asks for a ranked list and Columbia asks for names on the form and in the statement. Two, ranked and named in the statement, fits all three; add a third where the form allows it.
Does the writing sample matter more than the statement?
At Columbia, the department says the sample is "often the decisive factor". Other departments do not rank the parts. If you are unsure how much historiography to name, see how to talk about theory in a statement of purpose.
For the paragraph that names faculty and archives, see these constructed fit paragraph examples.
Get a free review of your history PhD statement of purpose
Get a free Quick Review of your history PhD statement of purpose against GradPilot's general PhD statement of purpose rubric. It reads for a concrete research direction, a research record that shows you can run your own project, specific questions placed in current scholarship, and faculty whose current work connects to yours. For the voice of the draft, the scholar voice rubric checks whether you argue your own reading of the field, and the adviser-fit rubric reads the faculty paragraph on its own. The PhD essays hub collects the other doctoral guides.
More humanities PhD statement guides:
- Religious studies PhD statement of purpose: field declarations and language plans, for applicants whose history project is about religion.
- Art history PhD statement of purpose: the same archive-and-language logic applied to objects.
- Statement of purpose examples by field: includes a second constructed history example built around a different kind of source.
Sources
Retrieved October 30, 2026, except where noted.
- Columbia University, Department of History, Admissions (deadline December 3, 2026): statement and personal statement limits, writing sample limit and role, naming faculty, languages.
- UC Berkeley, Department of History, Admissions FAQs (no cycle stated): essay limits, ten-page sample, purpose of the sample, ranked faculty list, first review by two faculty, GRE not accepted.
- Harvard Griffin GSAS, History (deadline December 1, 2026): statement content and typical length, writing sample length, Personal Statement required.
- Yale University, Department of History, Admissions (no year stated): book review, writing sample limit and primary-source norm; Yale GSAS, History: GRE not accepted.
- Princeton University Graduate School, History (fall 2027 entry): writing sample and faculty selection. Retrieved through a text reader after HTTP 403 to a direct request.
- University of Chicago, Division of the Social Sciences, Candidate Statement (no cycle stated): History statement content and typical length.
- University of Georgia, Department of History, Personal Statement (no cycle stated): two-page limit, viable project, fit beyond names, quoted University of Alabama guidance.
Get feedback on your statement of purpose
Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against an admissions rubric before you submit.