Skip to main content

Colleges With No Supplemental Essays 2026-27, Verified

Georgia Tech, UGA and UNC dropped their supplements this cycle. A list checked against each college's own site, the schools old lists get wrong, and where the weight goes instead.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechSeptember 24, 202610 min read
Free Essay ReviewAI detection + scoring

Colleges With No Supplemental Essays in 2026-27

Three large, selective public universities dropped their supplemental essays for the 2026-27 cycle: Georgia Tech, the University of Georgia, and UNC-Chapel Hill. They join schools like Northeastern, Middlebury, Bates, and Rutgers–New Brunswick, which say on their own admissions pages that they require no supplement.

Most "colleges without supplemental essays" lists online are one or two cycles old. Several schools they still include — Rochester, Boston College, Villanova — ask for a supplement this year. Every school below was checked on its own admissions site on September 24, 2026. No third-party list was used as a source.

One opinion up front, which the rest of this page supports: no supplement doesn't mean less writing counts. It means your Common App personal essay is the only writing that school reads from you.

Dropped this cycle: Georgia Tech, UGA, UNC

Georgia Tech. On July 29, 2026, Georgia Tech announced that its first-year application "will no longer require the Georgia Tech short-answer question." Students "will still be required to complete the Common App personal essay." The reason given by Mary Tipton Woolley, executive director of undergraduate admission, is blunt: "the supplemental essay was no longer a differentiating factor in our decision-making process." She adds that the change "is not intended to make our review process less rigorous, only less complex." Georgia Tech's essay page now lists only the Common App prompts.

University of Georgia. UGA's admissions blog says, in its post on changes for the 2027 freshman application: "we have done away with the UGA supplemental essay question." (UGA Undergraduate Admissions blog)

UNC-Chapel Hill. Under the headline "Short essays removed from Carolina's 2026-2027 application," UNC writes: "we're removing the two short answer supplemental questions." (UNC Admissions)

So if you searched "Georgia Tech supplemental essay" and landed on a guide to its old short-answer prompt, that prompt is gone. Write the Common App personal essay and put your effort there.

The verified list

Tier 1 — the school says so outright. Each quote comes from the school's own page.

SchoolWhat the school saysMain essay
Georgia Tech"will no longer require the Georgia Tech short-answer question"Required
University of Georgia"we have done away with the UGA supplemental essay question"Required
UNC-Chapel Hill"we're removing the two short answer supplemental questions"Required
Northeastern"Northeastern does not have a writing supplement and 'why Northeastern' question"Not stated
Middlebury"We do not require a supplemental essay."Required
Bates"Bates does not require a supplemental essay when applying."Not stated
Denison"No Supplemental Essay Required"Required
Oberlin (Arts & Sciences)"Oberlin does not require any additional supplemental essays"Required
Rutgers–New Brunswick"there are no supplemental essays required for the Common App"Required
RITNo supplement "unless applying to the Honors Program or the Individualized Program BS"Required
Arizona State"we do not require an essay or personal statement"Not required

Tier 2 — no supplemental essay appears on the school's requirements page. These schools don't make a flat statement, but their published checklist lists only the main application essay. Before you count on it, open the school's section in the Common App and look at its Writing tab.

  • Case Western Reserve: "All first-year students must complete an essay via the Common App or Coalition with Scoir." Pre-Professional Scholars applicants write extra essays.
  • Tulane: its checklist lists the "Application (including list of activities and personal statement)."
  • Colgate: applies through apps "which all include a personal statement." It also has Colgate-specific questions, which aren't essays.
  • Kenyon: its required documents are the Common App or Coalition App, the school report, the counselor recommendation, and a teacher evaluation.
  • Michigan State: "each applicant is required to submit one essay (minimum 250 words, maximum 650 words)," which is the main essay, with no second one listed.
  • Drexel: a writing supplement only for "Architectural Studies, Architecture, and Music Industry Applicants."

Some schools require no supplement but still offer one:

  • Grinnell says it has "no required supplement," then describes a short answer submitted after you apply: "This prompt is optional, but recommended." (Grinnell)
  • Bowdoin's supplement section "includes a variety of Bowdoin-specific questions, including two optional short essays." (Bowdoin)
  • Macalester's member section "has two optional essay prompts specific to Macalester." (Macalester)

Our take: when a selective school writes "optional, but recommended," write the essay. An optional prompt that only one school gets to read is the cheapest way to show that you know the place, which is exactly what a "why us" essay does. Skip it only if you truly have nothing specific to say, and in that case ask whether the school belongs on your list.

The main essay itself is optional (or absent) at a few schools

Some large publics make even the personal essay optional:

  • Arizona State requires no essay or personal statement at all.
  • Temple has "an optional essay where you can tell us more about yourself beyond your grades and/or test scores." (Temple)
  • Penn State says "you can complete the optional Activities section and Personal Statement within the application." (Penn State)

If you're already using the Common App, you've written the essay anyway. Send it unless it's weak.

Still requires a supplement in 2026-27: don't trust older lists

These schools appear on lists of colleges "without supplemental essays," or next to schools that dropped theirs, but each requires school-specific writing this cycle:

SchoolWhat it requires (from its own site)
Rochester"Supplemental Essay Prompt for 2026-27 Application Cycle. This must be completed as part of the application process."
Boston College"The Boston College Writing Supplement must be submitted along with your application."
Villanova"Villanova requires applicants to submit both their application essay ... and Villanova writing supplement."
Lehigh"Lehigh Questions and Writing Supplement"
UW–MadisonA required essay: "Tell us why you would like to attend the University of Wisconsin–Madison."
Virginia TechThe Ut Prosim Profile: "required for all degree-seeking applicants," with a 120-word limit per question
University of Florida"Complete the UF Supplement. This includes a few additional short-answer questions"
Texas A&MIts own required essay ("Tell us your story," 750 words max) plus short answers

Most of these include a "why this school" question. The why-us essay guide covers the mistakes that sink them.

Where the weight goes when the essay disappears

Georgia Tech's announcement says what it reads instead: "academic preparation, students' engagement in their school communities, and their potential fit for Georgia Tech." It also lists the required parts: "a high school transcript, standardized test scores, and a summary of activities in which the applicant is involved."

In plain terms, three things carry more weight:

  1. Your personal essay. It's now the only piece of writing that school reads from you. A generic 650 words used to be offset by a sharp school-specific answer. Now nothing offsets it.
  2. Your activities list. "Engagement in their school communities" is read mostly from the activities section. Its 150-character descriptions become your short answers.
  3. Testing, where required. Georgia Tech lists standardized test scores among its required parts. Check each school's current testing policy on its own site. Several of these schools are test-optional and several aren't.

Four checks before you count a school as "no supplement"

  1. Program and honors essays. Many schools with no supplement still ask for one from certain applicants: RIT Honors, Arizona State's Barrett Honors College, Case Western's Pre-Professional Scholars, Drexel architecture and music industry, and Stony Brook's honors and scholars programs (Stony Brook).
  2. Questions after you submit. Grinnell's short answer and Bowdoin's optional video arrive through an applicant portal after you submit.
  3. Member questions. Not writing an essay doesn't mean skipping the school's section. Bowdoin calls its supplement section required even though both essays in it are optional.
  4. This year's page. Look for a 2026-27 or "fall 2027" label. Several pages above carry no cycle label, and schools change their requirements over the summer. That's how Georgia Tech, UGA, and UNC all ended up on this list.

Should you add schools just because they have no supplement?

Only if you'd go. A school with no supplement costs you a fee and a few clicks, so it's tempting to add five. But these schools admit on the same things everyone else weighs. The one piece of writing each of them reads is your main essay, so five extra no-supplement schools are five more readers of one essay. That's fine if the essay is strong. If it isn't, fixing it helps every application on your list, not just those five.

Make the one essay count

At these schools your personal essay does all the work. When you have a full draft, run it through GradPilot's free college essay review against the Common App narrative-craft rubric. The feedback is qualitative: it tells you whether the essay has one clear throughline and whether its specifics actually carry the story. It doesn't predict admission, and it doesn't write or edit anything for you. If your essay is built around an idea rather than a story, use the intellectual-vitality rubric instead. For this year's prompts, see Common App essay prompts 2026-2027.

For the schools on your list that do have supplements, see supplemental essays 2026-2027: what each type asks.

FAQ

Does Georgia Tech have a supplemental essay for 2026-27?

No. Georgia Tech removed its short-answer question starting with the 2026-27 cycle. You still write the Common App personal essay, and the school requires test scores and an activities summary.

Did UNC and UGA drop their supplemental essays too?

Yes. UNC removed its two short-answer questions for the 2026-2027 application, and UGA says it has "done away with" its supplemental essay question for the 2027 freshman application.

Which selective colleges have no supplemental essay?

Among the schools checked here: Georgia Tech, UGA, UNC-Chapel Hill, Northeastern, Middlebury, Bates, Denison, Oberlin (Arts & Sciences), Rutgers–New Brunswick, and RIT all say so on their own sites. Case Western, Tulane, Colgate, Kenyon, and Michigan State list no supplemental essay on their requirements pages.

Is an application easier without a supplemental essay?

It takes less writing, but admission isn't easier. Georgia Tech says the change is "not intended to make our review process less rigorous." Your main essay, activities, and academics carry more of the decision.

Sources

All checked September 24, 2026.

Quick AI Check

See AI-detection signals and rubric feedback before you submit.

Rubrics for This Topic

All Common App rubrics

Related Articles

Your Essay Deserves a Second Look

Professional AI detection and comprehensive scoring before you submit

No credit card required
Colleges With No Supplemental Essays 2026-27, Verified - GradPilot