Med School Update Letter Length, Format, Subject
Medical school update letter length and format from school rules: UC Riverside one page, Emory 1,000 words as text, Drexel one letter. Subject and route.
Med School Update Letter Length, Format, Subject
Use the school's own limit: one page at UC Riverside, 1,000 words across every update at Emory, one update letter per cycle at Drexel. Where the school sets nothing, write 150 to 300 words (our range, not a school rule) and upload it to the school's portal.
Template advice says one page, 11-point font, one-inch margins, addressed to the dean. None of the 25 MD and DO admissions pages we cite in this guide sets a font, a margin or a salutation. They set something more useful: the slot the letter goes into, the file type it accepts and how many times you get to use it. Our view: format is set by the upload slot, so find the slot first and write to fit it. Whether a school takes update letters at all is a separate question, answered school by school in our 2026-27 table of medical schools that accept update letters.
Every school page quoted below was checked on November 7, 2026. Most of these FAQ answers carry no cycle year; where a page names one, the text says so. What to write inside the letter is covered by our update letter examples by situation and the medical school essays hub.
The rules you are writing inside
| School | Where the update goes | File type | Limit |
|---|---|---|---|
| UC Riverside | Secondary portal, "Other Documents" | One update per cycle, one page; one more after an interview | |
| Drexel | Applicant site, "Status" tab, "Document Upload/Status" | PDF under 8MB | One update letter, one CV, one transcript; no replacements |
| Emory | Supplemental Application, "Application Update" tab | Text box only | 1,000 words for all updates combined |
| Georgetown | Secondary Application portal | Text only | Only applicants selected to interview |
| Wayne State | Applicant portal, "Other Documents" | Not stated | Up to five updates |
| Columbia | Secondary Application, "Status" tab, as an Applicant Update | Not stated | |
| Yale | Secondary Application, "Document Upload" tab | Any time, "before or after an interview" | |
| MUSC | Online update request form | PDF or Word, plus a text box | Only before your interview date |
Read across a row before you write. An Emory applicant shares 1,000 words across every update, so a 600-word first entry leaves 400 for the rest of the cycle (our arithmetic). A Georgetown applicant who has not been invited has no slot at all.
How long should a medical school update letter be?
The published limits come first. UC Riverside's FAQ says: "Letters should be no longer than one page in length." Emory's says the "Update My Application" textbox "has a 1000-word limit," and "the 1000-word limit will apply regardless of how many updates you submit." Those are the only two word or page limits on the pages in our table.
Our view: where no limit is stated, 150 to 300 words. The basis is what the letter has to do. One new fact needs a sentence that says what changed since you applied, two or three sentences that say what you did, and one closing line. That fits in two short paragraphs. GradPilot's update-letter rubric reads for exactly those two things: what changed, and what the new information adds.
The countercase: a date correction needs three sentences, not 150 words. An accepted first-author paper, where you have to state the journal, the status and your part in the work, can run to 350 words and still fit on one page. Write to the fact, then check the result against the slot.
Do not pad a letter to look substantial. At Emory every padded word is taken from your next update.
Where it goes: the school's portal, not AMCAS
Every school in the table above names its own portal or form for updates. AMCAS is where several of them send you for a different job: Stanford, Yale, Duke and Dartmouth all tell applicants to change contact details in AMCAS, not in a letter.
The one exception we found is UNLV, whose FAQ says "Specific updates do need to be reported through AMCAS" and asks applicants with "significant additions to their experiences" to email the school.
Some schools rule email out in plain words:
- UC Riverside: "Update letters/letter of interest/letter of intent will not be accepted via email."
- Hofstra: "Applicants should not email updates directly to the Office of Admission." Updates go in the Admission Portal, which opens after the secondary.
- Georgetown: "Mailed or emailed correspondence – including transcripts and thank-you notes – will not be uploaded to your application."
- George Washington: alternates should use "your student portal (not e-mail)," and should not duplicate a portal upload by email.
Others name email. Sidney Kimmel (Jefferson) says "All communications concerning your application, including the interview, should be emailed to: SKMC.Admissions@jefferson.edu." So the route is a rule to look up, not a choice.
Subject line and salutation
Jefferson is the only school in our set that sets a subject line: it asks applicants to put "Attention: Committee on Admissions" in the email subject. Where a school sets one, use it word for word.
Where it does not, put three things in the subject or the file name: the document type, your full name as it appears in AMCAS, and your AAMC ID. Columbia asks applicants who email the office about a program change to "include your AMCAS ID," and Wayne State's portal username is the 8-digit AAMC ID, so the number is how staff find your file.
Address the committee, not a person. George Washington's alternate-status page says: "Do not write directly to individuals within the office of admissions, other offices, or other units at GW, nor carbon copy them on your correspondence to us." Columbia says it is "unable to provide you with specific contact information of your interviewer if they did not share that information with you." Utah asks "that applicants do not contact interviewers directly." "Dear Members of the Admissions Committee" works at every school on this page.
Constructed example: three subject lines and a letter header
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant's letter. The applicant, the ID and the school are invented.
Subject: Application update - Malak Lindqvist - AAMC ID 12345678
Subject: Update letter (post-interview) - Malak Lindqvist - AAMC ID 12345678
Subject: Attention: Committee on Admissions - Update - Malak Lindqvist - AAMC ID 12345678
The third line is for a school that, like Jefferson, requires a phrase in the subject. A PDF upload has no subject line, so the same facts go at the top of the page:
Malak Lindqvist AAMC ID 12345678 Interviewed January 14, 2027 Application update, February 2, 2027
Dear Members of the Admissions Committee,
The interview date tells the reader which stage the file is at. The update date matters at a school like Emory, which suggests "dating your entries" when you add more than one.
PDF or pasted text
Five of the eight schools in the first table take a PDF. Drexel adds a size limit: "The file should be a PDF and under 8MB in size." Mayo Clinic Alix says significant updates "should be uploaded directly to the admissions portal as a PDF document." Cincinnati says updates "must be uploaded as a .pdf file through your MedOneStop status page."
Two schools want text only. Emory: "Please note that only text updates will be accepted. The application does not have functionality for uploaded attachments of any kind." Georgetown: "Post-submission updates will be limited to text updates submitted via the online Secondary Application portal."
Draft in plain text first. A plain-text draft pastes cleanly into Emory's or Georgetown's box, and the same text exported to PDF works everywhere else. Drop bold, tables and bullets that a text box will strip.
How many update letters, and when
| Gate | Schools and their words |
|---|---|
| A fixed count | Drexel: "a total of three updates," one of them an update letter. UC Riverside: "one application update per cycle," plus one after an interview. Wayne State: "up to five updates." Stanford: a "one-time update" for interviewed candidates |
| Only after an interview invitation | Stanford: "Application updates are NOT accepted unless an applicant is invited to participate in our interview process." Kaiser Permanente: "The school will accept application updates only from candidates who are invited to be interviewed." Georgetown: only applicants "selected to interview" |
| Only before the interview | MUSC: "The Admissions Committee will only accept updates submitted before your interview date." |
| Season | SUNY Downstate: "During the fall semester, you should only submit additional information if you are asked to do so by the Admissions Committee." In spring, interviewed applicants "are encouraged" to upload fall grades and updates |
| Not at all | Colorado: "Application updates are NOT accepted." Penn State, USC Keck and Utah take none after submission |
| Open | Cincinnati "accepts unlimited updates," but its own Application Updates answer says updates "should only be submitted for truly exceptional circumstances." GW: "Quality is preferred over quantity" |
Our view: send one letter per real fact, when the fact exists, and never on a calendar. A letter is "too early" only where a school's stage gate says so: at Stanford, anything before the invitation; at Downstate, anything in the fall that the committee did not ask for; at MUSC, anything after your interview date.
The countercase: where the count is capped, as at Drexel or UC Riverside, wait when a stronger fact is weeks away; a slot spent on a submitted paper is gone when the acceptance arrives.
Extra recommendation letters after the interview
A new recommendation is not an update letter, and schools route it in one of three ways: through the AMCAS Letter Service, straight from the writer, or not at all.
| School | After-interview recommendation letters |
|---|---|
| Columbia | Writers email psadmissions@cumc.columbia.edu; letters "must be written and signed on official letterhead and must include your AMCAS ID" |
| Hofstra | "Additional letters not included in AMCAS should be emailed to medicine.admissions@hofstra.edu" |
| George Washington | The writer emails medadmit@gwu.edu (in the body or as a PDF), or you send "a quick note" if the letter came through AMCAS |
| Dartmouth | Not considered in initial review or committee deliberation; considered "during waitlist deliberations" |
| UCLA, NYU, Loma Linda | Only through AMCAS. NYU: "Do not send any letters directly to NYU Grossman School of Medicine." |
| Penn State | Not accepted after submission, "including additional letters of recommendation" |
| Count caps | UC Riverside: "no more than five letters total." Loma Linda: "a maximum total of six." USC: "Do not send more than 3 individual letters." |
The sources: Dartmouth's FAQ, UCLA's after-applying page, NYU's requirements page, Hofstra's FAQ and Loma Linda's application page. Before you ask for one more letter, check where your count stands with our guide to how many letters of recommendation medical schools take.
Pre-send checklist
- Stage. The school accepts updates from someone at your stage (applied, invited, interviewed, waitlisted). If not, stop.
- Slot. You know the exact tab or form: "Other Documents," "Document Upload," "Application Update."
- Limit. The letter fits the stated page, word or count limit, with room left if the limit is shared.
- File type. PDF where asked, under any size cap; plain text where the slot is a box.
- Subject and header. A required subject phrase is copied exactly; your AMCAS name and AAMC ID are on the page.
- Addressee. The committee, not a staff member or your interviewer.
- One fact per paragraph. Each paragraph carries one new fact and what you did in it.
- No promise you would not keep. No "top choice" or intent sentence unless it is true and the school takes intent letters.
Questions about update letter format
Can I send my update letter through AMCAS?
No, at every school in the tables above: they take it in their own portal or inbox. UNLV is the exception we found; its FAQ says specific updates "need to be reported through AMCAS." AMCAS is where you change contact details.
Should I address the dean or my interviewer?
Address the admissions committee. GW tells applicants not to write to individuals or copy them, Utah asks applicants not to contact interviewers, and Columbia will not give out an interviewer's contact details.
Is it bad to send an update letter too early?
Only where the school's stage gate says so. Stanford and Kaiser Permanente take nothing before an interview invitation, Downstate takes nothing in the fall unless asked, and MUSC takes nothing after your interview date.
Can I send a second update letter?
At Drexel, no: one update letter, and it cannot be replaced. At UC Riverside, one more after an interview. At Wayne State, up to five. At Emory, yes, inside the same 1,000 words.
Get a free review of your update letter
Get a free Quick Review of your update letter against GradPilot's medical school update-letter rubric. It reads whether the letter says what changed since your application and explains the new information in concrete terms. If the letter also states interest or intent, run that part past the letter of intent and interest rubric.
More medical school letter guides:
- Medical schools that accept update letters, 2026-27: which schools take updates, letters of intent and thank-you notes.
- Medical school update letter examples: constructed letters for a publication, a new role, a grade and a correction.
- Medical school letter of intent sample: four constructed letters and the schools that refuse them.
- Update letters before an interview: what counts as new before an invitation arrives.
Sources
Retrieved November 7, 2026, except where noted. Most pages state no cycle year for these answers.
- UC Riverside School of Medicine, Admissions FAQ (no cycle stated for this answer): one update per cycle, one page, PDF in "Other Documents," no email, one more after an interview; five-letter cap.
- Drexel University College of Medicine, Application process (2027 cycle): three updates, one update letter, PDF under 8MB, no replacements.
- Emory School of Medicine, MD admissions FAQ: text-only updates, 1,000-word shared limit, dating entries.
- Georgetown University School of Medicine, MD FAQ: text updates via portal, interviewees only; mailed or emailed correspondence not uploaded.
- Wayne State University School of Medicine, Applicant portal: up to five updates; AAMC ID as username.
- Columbia Vagelos College of Physicians and Surgeons, Admissions FAQs: PDF Applicant Update; AMCAS ID; interviewer contact; extra letters by email on letterhead.
- Yale School of Medicine, How to apply: .pdf upload before or after an interview; contact changes in AMCAS.
- MUSC College of Medicine, Application update request: updates only before the interview date; PDF or Word.
- UNLV Kerkorian School of Medicine, Admissions FAQ: updates reported through AMCAS; significant additions by email.
- Hofstra/Northwell Zucker School of Medicine, MD FAQs: portal updates, no email; extra letters by email.
- George Washington SMHS, Alternate status (spring 2027 webinar named): portal not email; no writing to individuals; "Quality is preferred over quantity"; extra letters.
- Sidney Kimmel Medical College, Admissions FAQ: email route and required subject phrase.
- University of Utah School of Medicine, MD admissions FAQs: no updates after the secondary; no contact with interviewers.
- Mayo Clinic Alix School of Medicine, How to apply: PDF updates via portal.
- University of Cincinnati College of Medicine, Applicant FAQs: .pdf via MedOneStop; "unlimited updates" and the "truly exceptional circumstances" rule.
- Stanford Medicine, MD admissions FAQ: updates only after an interview invitation; one-time update.
- Kaiser Permanente Bernard J. Tyson School of Medicine, FAQs (2026-2027 cycle): updates only from interview invitees.
- SUNY Downstate College of Medicine, Admissions FAQ: fall only if asked; spring updates from interviewees.
- University of Colorado School of Medicine, MD admissions FAQ: updates not accepted.
- Penn State College of Medicine, Application process (2026-2027 cycle): no updates or extra letters after submission.
- Keck School of Medicine of USC, MD admissions FAQ: no updates after the supplemental; three-letter cap.
- Geisel School of Medicine at Dartmouth, Applying FAQ: extra letters only at waitlist deliberations.
- UCLA Geffen School of Medicine, After applying: only official AMCAS letters.
- NYU Grossman School of Medicine, Admissions requirements: letters via AMCAS Letter Service only.
- Loma Linda University School of Medicine, Admission requirements and process: new letters through AMCAS, six-letter maximum.
Review your medical-school update
Check what changed and whether the new information is understandable.