Research Proposal for a Master's in Canada
When a Canadian master's application asks for a research proposal: one page at Calgary Psychology, how it differs from the statement of intent, a sample.
Research Proposal for a Master's in Canada
A research proposal for a Canadian master's application is short: one page at Calgary Psychology and Calgary's School and Applied Child Psychology MSc, up to 1,000 words in UAlberta Sociology's research statement, and most of a page to a page and a half at Dalhousie History. It is a feasibility check written before you have a supervisor or data, not a thesis plan, and the four departments below that address the point say you will not be bound by it.
Guides to the thesis proposal describe a different document: the one a student writes after admission, with a supervisor, ethics review and chapters. The admission proposal is smaller and has one test: could this project be finished in a master's degree, here, by you? If your program asks for a statement of intent and no proposal, see the Canadian master's statement of interest guide instead; for the general difference between these documents, see research statement vs SOP vs research proposal.
Every university page quoted below was checked on October 31, 2026. Most do not state a cycle year, so recheck your program page before you submit.
Contents: which programs ask · admission vs thesis proposal · what the committee checks · one-page structure · constructed example · PhD proposals · questions
Which Canadian programs ask for one, and which fold it into the statement
| Program | What it asks for | Length on the page | Binding? |
|---|---|---|---|
| Dalhousie Computer Science (MCS, PhD, CBBI) | Research proposal; course-based MACS and MDI ask for a statement of intent instead | Not stated | "not bound" (CBBI requirements) |
| Calgary Psychology MSc (thesis) | Research proposal plus a statement of intent (max. 500 words) | One page, plus one page for references only | Not stated |
| Calgary Werklund, MSc School and Applied Child Psychology | Research proposal plus a statement of intent (approx. 500 words) | One page | Not "required to carry out" |
| UAlberta Sociology (MA thesis, PhD) | Research statement, separate from the statement of intent | Maximum 1,000 words, double-spaced | "does not bind you" |
| McGill Religious Studies | A proposal inside the statement of intent | Approximately 500 words in total | Not stated |
| Dalhousie History (MA) | A proposal that takes "the majority of the space" in the statement of interest | About a page to a page and a half | "You will not be locked in" |
| SFU International Studies (MA) | A statement of research interest, separate from the letter of intent | One page | Not stated |
Read the table in two halves. Four programs ask for a separate document (Dalhousie CS, Calgary Psychology, Werklund's School and Applied Child Psychology MSc, UAlberta Sociology); SFU International Studies asks for a separate one-page statement of research interest that works the same way. Two fold the proposal into the statement (McGill Religious Studies and Dalhousie History). In the second group the proposal has to share space with your background and your reasons for choosing the department, so it gets even shorter.
The instructions in each program's words:
A one-page Research Proposal (an additional page may be used for references only). Include a summary of the project you would like to conduct, it’s relevance to the research area of your proposed supervisor(s) and how you plan on carrying out this research when you begin graduate school.
Applicants must upload a statement of intent of approximately 500 words, which must include a well-articulated Ph.D. or M.A. thesis research proposal.
A one-page statement of research interest including the topic(s) and geographical region(s) as well as the intended track (thesis or essays).
The first is Calgary Psychology, the second McGill Religious Studies and the third SFU International Studies.
The admission proposal is not the thesis proposal
Calgary Psychology's own program page shows the difference. It asks applicants for "A one-page Research Proposal", and separately, under program requirements, says: "Students must formally present a thesis proposal within 14 months after admission to the program." Those are two documents, written more than a year apart, for two different readers.
If a guide you are reading mentions a committee meeting, ethics approval, a chapter outline or a full literature review, it describes the thesis proposal. Dalhousie History says the admission version is "a brief writeup to explain the question you’d like to tackle, however, not a research paper, so please do not include a long literature review."
What the committee checks: scope, fit, method, feasibility
Dalhousie Computer Science, in the requirements for its CBBI program, states what a proposal is for in four plain clauses:
We hope to gain insight into the research potential of the candidate through the research proposal. Notably, we are seeking to find out what kind of research interests the student; how they structure their thoughts; what curiosity, independence, or background they bring to bear; and whether there is a reasonable expectation of finding a fit with a supervisor within the faculty. The student is not bound to follow on the research proposal as their thesis.
Dalhousie History adds the scope test:
The committee will be gauging whether your proposed project is one that can be completed within the expected 12–18 month timeline of the program. It’s important not to propose a PhD-level multi-year project, or one requiring resources far beyond those available at Dalhousie.
It also gives a good and a bad example. The good one: "I would like to study writings of English women around the time of the English Civil War." The bad one: "I kind of enjoy reading about the Aztecs, so doing something on them would be cool." The difference is a period, a place, a source type and a reason.
Werklund's School and Applied Child Psychology MSc says plainly why it asks: the proposal "does not necessarily need to align with your proposed supervisor’s research program, nor are you guaranteed nor required to carry out this proposed work should you be accepted into the program – the proposal is simply an opportunity for you to demonstrate your ability to write academically."
Our view: the admission proposal is a scope test, so spend the page on the question, the method and the timeline, and cut the literature to two or three citations. The basis: Dalhousie History rejects multi-year projects and long literature reviews, Calgary caps the proposal at one page, and four programs say you will not be held to it. The countercase: PhD applicants, and programs like McGill Religious Studies that ask the PhD proposal to "be as specific as possible", need more literature and more detail. See PhD proposals in Canada below.
A one-page structure
| Part | What it answers | Budget on one page |
|---|---|---|
| Working title | What the project is, in one line | 1 line |
| Question | The one question, in one sentence a reader could quote | 1–2 sentences |
| Why it matters | What you found or read that raised it | 3–4 sentences |
| Approach | The steps, in order | 3–5 sentences |
| Data and materials | What you need and how you would get it, including ethics | 2–3 sentences |
| Fit | Which faculty member's work it connects to, and why | 2 sentences |
| Scope | Why it fits the degree's length, and what happens if the result is small | 2 sentences |
The budgets are ours, built to fit the Calgary one-page limit. Calgary allows one more page for references only; Dalhousie History allows "a short Works Cited list at the end".
Constructed example: one-page proposal for a thesis MSc
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement. Context (invented): an applicant with a computer science bachelor's from Bangladesh, applying to a thesis MCS at a Canadian university that asks for a research proposal and publishes no length. Square brackets mark details the applicant must supply. We wrote it to one page.
Working title: Finding label errors in a crowd-labelled Bangla sentiment dataset
Question. Can a simple confidence-based method find most of the mislabelled examples in a crowd-labelled Bangla sentiment dataset, and does removing them change which model type performs best?
Why it matters. In my undergraduate thesis at [university] I trained sentiment classifiers on a public Bangla product-review dataset. When I checked 300 examples by hand, I disagreed with the label on 41 of them. I do not know yet whether that rate holds across the dataset. If it does, comparisons between models trained on these labels may be ranking the noise rather than the models.
Approach. I would work in three steps. First, build a hand-checked test set of about 1,000 examples with two annotators and measure how often they agree. Second, apply a confidence-based method that flags the examples where a trained model disagrees most strongly with the given label, and measure how many flagged examples the annotators confirm as errors. Third, retrain three model types on the original and the cleaned data and compare their rankings on the hand-checked test set.
Data and materials. The dataset is public under [licence]. Annotation needs two Bangla speakers for about 40 hours each, which I would budget for and confirm with my supervisor. I would ask the research ethics office whether paid annotators count as research participants. The models are small enough to train on a single GPU.
Fit. Professor [surname]'s work on data quality for text classification matches the second step most closely, and I have written to ask whether they are taking MCS students for September 2027. Professor [second surname]'s research on low-resource languages fits the third step.
Scope. The first two steps fit my first year alongside coursework; the third step and the thesis fit the second. If the hand check finds fewer errors than my sample suggested, the project still answers the question, with a smaller effect.
The proposal is 320 words (our count). Against Dalhousie CS's four checks:
- "what kind of research interests the student": one question, in the second line, with a measurable answer.
- "how they structure their thoughts": three steps, each with something it measures, in an order where each step needs the one before.
- "what curiosity, independence, or background they bring to bear": the 41-in-300 hand check is the applicant's own work, and the example states its limit in the next sentence.
- "whether there is a reasonable expectation of finding a fit with a supervisor": two faculty members, each tied to one step.
It also passes Dalhousie History's scope test: two years, three steps, and a stated result if the effect is small. What it leaves out: a literature review, a promise of a publication, and any claim about the field that the applicant has not checked.
PhD proposals in Canada: longer, still not binding
Doctoral proposals in Canada are longer, and some arrive by a different route. Queen's History says its online form "generally does not provide sufficient space for doctoral applicants" and asks for a research statement by email, "typically 3-5 double spaced pages". SFU English asks PhD applicants for a letter of intent of "1-2 pages single-spaced" that includes "their proposed doctoral research topic, questions, approach, and intervention". UAlberta Sociology asks PhD applicants to show "how your proposed research builds upon your Master's work OR offer a rationale for your new research focus."
For a full doctoral statement built around a proposed project, see the PhD statement of intent in Canada: annotated sample. For the longer UK model, compare the 1,500-word UK PhD research proposal example and the UK MRes and MSc by Research proposal guide.
Questions about master's research proposals in Canada
Do I need a supervisor before I write the proposal?
Not at every program. Calgary Psychology says a supervisor "is required, but is not required prior to the start of the program", and asks you to list one to three. Dalhousie's Sociology and Social Anthropology department suggests the order: "We encourage students to shape up something of a prospective research focus and project before reaching out to possible supervisors." Write the proposal first, then use it when you contact faculty; see do you need a supervisor to apply in Canada and the short research proposal to email a supervisor.
Will I have to do the project I propose?
Not at the programs that say so: Dalhousie CS for its CBBI master's ("not bound to follow on the research proposal as their thesis"), UAlberta Sociology ("does not bind you"), Dalhousie History ("You will not be locked in") and Calgary Werklund's School and Applied Child Psychology MSc ("nor are you guaranteed nor required to carry out this proposed work").
Should the proposal include references?
A few. Calgary Psychology allows "an additional page" for "references only". Dalhousie History asks for in-text citations and allows a short Works Cited list.
My program asks only for a statement of intent. Should I add a proposal?
No. Put one paragraph of research direction inside the statement, as McGill Religious Studies and Dalhousie History require, and keep to the program's length. For how Calgary's one-page psychology proposal splits work with the 500-word statement, see the psychology master's statement of intent in Canada.
Get a free review of your research proposal
Get a free Quick Review of your research proposal against GradPilot's PhD research proposal rubric. It is built for UK, Irish and Australian doctoral proposals and is the closest fit for a Canadian admission proposal. It reads for a question a reader could quote, methods that can answer it, and scope you could finish in the time the degree gives you. If your program folds the proposal into the statement of intent, as McGill Religious Studies does, use the research proposal and statement of purpose rubric.
More guides for Canadian applications: the UAlberta statement of intent rules and the graduate school essays hub. You can also start from the PhD SOP review page and choose the research proposal rubric there.
Sources
Retrieved October 31, 2026, except where noted.
- Dalhousie University, Faculty of Computer Science, How to Apply (no cycle stated): which programs require a proposal, what it is for, not binding.
- University of Calgary, Psychology MSc (thesis) (no cycle year stated; November 15 deadline for September 1 admission): one-page proposal, 500-word statement, thesis proposal within 14 months, supervisor rules.
- University of Calgary, Werklund School of Education, Admission requirements: master's programs (no cycle year stated): one-page proposal for the MSc in School and Applied Child Psychology, not binding.
- University of Alberta, Department of Sociology, MA Thesis and PhD Program Applicants (no cycle stated): research statement length, not binding, PhD rule.
- McGill University, School of Religious Studies, Apply (no cycle stated): 500-word statement with a proposal.
- Dalhousie University, Department of History, Statement of Interest (no cycle stated): proposal share, scope test, examples, citations.
- Simon Fraser University, School for International Studies, Application process (deadline January 12, 2027): one-page statement of research interest.
- Dalhousie University, Sociology and Social Anthropology, Applying (2027/28 admission): shape a project before contacting supervisors.
- Queen's University, Department of History, How to Apply (first-round date January 19, 2027): doctoral research statement.
- Simon Fraser University, Department of English, Applicants (deadline January 31, 2027): PhD letter of intent content.
Get feedback on your research proposal
Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against the programme's rubric before you submit.