Skip to main content

SAT/ACT Required? Top Colleges' Policies for 2026–27

33 top colleges' SAT/ACT policies for fall 2027 entry, each quoted from its own admissions page: required, optional or blind, plus a submit-or-not check.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechSeptember 24, 202613 min read
Free Essay Review for Your TeenCommon App rubric feedback
Start

Which Top Colleges Require the SAT or ACT for 2026–27? The Official Policy at 33 Colleges

For fall 2027 entry, the Ivies other than Princeton and Columbia, plus Stanford, MIT, Caltech, Johns Hopkins, Georgetown and several flagships, require the SAT or ACT. Princeton, Columbia, Duke, Northwestern, UChicago and others are test-optional. UCLA ignores scores.

Some of those policies change for the next class, so the year matters. The table below quotes each college's own admissions page, with the cycle that page names. Every page was checked on September 24, 2026. If a college you care about is not listed, its page either blocked access or did not state a policy, and we left it out rather than guess.

The Three Policies, Defined

The College Board, which makes the SAT, defines the terms on its BigFuture site (which, when we re-checked on September 24, 2026, asked for a College Board login before showing the page):

  • Test-optional: "most applicants can choose whether to submit their SAT or ACT scores." If you choose not to submit, "it won't be counted against you in the application review."
  • Test flexible: "you may be able to take a test other than the SAT or ACT, such as AP Exams, to meet the school's requirements for admission."
  • Test blind: "the college won't look at test scores for admission even if they are submitted."

"Required" means what it says. The details are in each college's wording: who is exempt, which tests count, and whether a waiver exists.

The Table: SAT/ACT Policy for Fall 2027 Entry

"Cycle named on page" is the year or class the page itself names. "Standing policy" means the page states the rule without naming a year. In the colleges below we found no page that still described an earlier cycle as the current one. The pages that name no year at all are the ones to confirm again before your child submits.

Required

CollegeOfficial wording (verbatim)Cycle named on pageSource
Harvard"Harvard requires the SAT or ACT to meet its standardized testing requirement." In "exceptional cases," AP, IB, A-Level or national exam results can meet itStanding policyHarvard
Yale"First-year and transfer applicants are required to include scores from the ACT or SAT."Standing policyYale
Stanford"ACT or SAT scores are required."Standing policy (notes scores "were optional for the Class of 2029")Stanford
MIT"We require the SAT or the ACT for both prospective first-year and transfer students."Standing policyMIT
Caltech"Caltech requires first-year applicants to submit either the SAT or the ACT for admissions to Caltech."Fall 2027 applicants namedCaltech
BrownRequired "for first-year applicants beginning with the 2024-25 admission cycle"Since 2024–25Brown
Dartmouth"Students who attend(ed) high school within the United States must submit results of either the SAT or ACT."Since the Class of 2029Dartmouth
Cornell"First-year applicants are required to submit the SAT or ACT scores when applying to Cornell."Standing policyCornell
Johns Hopkins"Johns Hopkins University requires standardized testing."Standing policyJohns Hopkins
Georgetown"All first-year applicants are required to submit at least one full SAT or ACT test as part of their application."Standing policyGeorgetown
Georgia Tech"All first-year applicants must submit results from at least one SAT and/or ACT in order to be considered for admission."Standing policyGeorgia Tech
University of Florida"All applicants must submit test scores from the SAT, ACT and/or CLT."Standing policyUF
UT Austin"Send at least one official SAT or ACT score directly from the testing agency"Standing policyUT Austin

Required, With a Waiver or Condition

CollegeOfficial wording (verbatim)Cycle named on pageSource
PennRequired. "Applicants who have not taken the SAT or ACT and experience hardship in meeting this requirement may submit a testing waiver when completing the application."Testing deadlines listed for the "2026-2027 Admissions Cycle"Penn
UNC–Chapel Hill"Students with a weighted GPA of 2.8 or above (on a 4.0 scale) are not required to submit a test score." Below 2.8, an ACT of 17+ or SAT of 930+ is required"2026-2027 academic year and beyond"UNC
Purdue"Purdue expects applicants to have SAT, ACT or CLT scores." It allows applications "in some exceptional cases" without a testStanding policyPurdue
Carnegie Mellon"The School of Computer Science requires an SAT or an ACT score." Engineering, Dietrich, Heinz Information Systems, Mellon College of Science and Tepper are "test flexible." Fine Arts "is test optional"Standing policyCMU

Test-Optional

CollegeOfficial wording (verbatim)Cycle named on pageSource
Princeton"Our test optional policy continues to be in place for first-year applicants applying for fall 2026 and fall 2027 entry."Fall 2027Princeton
Columbia"In 2026-2027, Columbia is test-optional for applicants to Columbia College and Columbia Engineering."2026–27Columbia
Duke"Duke University is test-optional for both first-year and transfer applicants in the 2026-2027 admissions cycle."2026–27Duke
Vanderbilt"For students applying for entry to Vanderbilt for fall 2027 and 2028, ACT or SAT scores are optional."Fall 2027 and 2028Vanderbilt
Notre Dame"Notre Dame is test-optional through the 2026/2027 application cycle."2026–27Notre Dame
Emory"Emory University is test optional for first-year students who would start in fall 2027."Fall 2027Emory
Northwestern"Northwestern is test-optional and does not require ACT or SAT scores from first-year or transfer candidates applying for full-time undergraduate study."Standing policyNorthwestern
UChicago"Submitting an SAT or ACT is optional and not required for admission."Standing policyUChicago
Rice"Students applying to Rice University are recommended but not required to submit SAT or ACT for admission consideration."Standing policyRice
WashU"WashU is test optional."Standing policy (page addresses the class entering fall 2027)WashU
USC"Although the application process is test-optional…" Official scores only: "We do not accept self-reported scores."Standing policyUSC
Boston College"Boston College offers a test-optional admission policy."Standing policyBC
Tufts"Tufts University is test-optional for all undergraduate applicants."Standing policyTufts
Amherst"Standardized testing (either SAT or ACT) is an optional part of our admission application for both first-year applicants and transfer applicants"Standing policyAmherst
Swarthmore"Submitting standardized testing scores is optional and you will not be penalized in your admissions review if you do not submit scores"Standing policySwarthmore

Test-Blind

CollegeOfficial wording (verbatim)Cycle named on pageSource
UCLA"UCLA will not consider SAT or ACT scores for admission or scholarship purposes." Submitted scores "may be used" for eligibility or course placementStanding policyUCLA

Four colleges we tried are not in the table. The University of Michigan's pages that loaded did not state a policy. UVA, NYU and Williams blocked automated access or returned errors. Check those on their own sites.

Policies That Change After This Year

If your child has a younger sibling, or if you are reading this for a junior, note that four test-optional colleges have already announced they will require tests again:

CollegeAnnounced change (verbatim)First affected entry
Columbia"Columbia College and Columbia Engineering will reinstate a standardized testing requirement, effective August 2027 for the 2027-2028 admission cycle."Fall 2028
Princeton"We will once again require testing for students applying for fall 2028 entry (2027-28 application cycle)."Fall 2028
Notre Dame"Notre Dame will reinstate a standardized testing requirement for undergraduate applicants, beginning with the 2027-2028 admissions cycle."Fall 2028
Vanderbilt"For students applying for undergraduate admission to the class entering in the fall of 2029 and beyond, Vanderbilt will require standardized testing scores."Fall 2029

Among the colleges on this page, every announced change runs toward requiring tests. The College Board's own page warns that "colleges that were test optional last year may be going back to requiring tests."

Submit or Not: A Decision Procedure for Test-Optional Colleges

At a required college there is nothing to decide: send a score. At a test-optional college, your child chooses, and the choice can differ college by college. Run this in order:

  1. Confirm the policy on the college's page this month. Use the table above as a starting point, not the final word. BigFuture advises checking "back in the fall before you apply," because some colleges change policy over the summer.
  2. Find the college's published score range, and read it carefully. Colleges publish a middle-50% range for enrolled students who submitted scores. That range describes only the students who chose to submit. Stanford's page shows this clearly: for the Class of 2029, when scores "were optional," the middle 50% of SAT submitters "scored between 1520 and 1570."
  3. Compare your child's score to that range. The College Board, which makes the SAT, advises: "If your score is comparable or higher, you should send it." Below the range, ask whether the score adds anything the transcript does not.
  4. Look for a stated rule about how scores are used. UChicago publishes one: "Any SAT or ACT score submitted will only be used in review if it will positively affect an applicant's chance of admission." Most colleges publish no such rule. Where none exists, do not assume one.
  5. Check how scores must be sent. Many colleges accept self-reported scores. USC does not.
  6. Mind the test calendar for early rounds. Princeton, for example, says applicants who submit "should take the SAT or the ACT by the October test date for single-choice early action and the December date for regular decision."
  7. Decide per college, then write it down. One line per college: required / optional-sending / optional-not-sending / blind. This prevents a missed score report in November.

Your role as a parent is logistics: registration, fees, score reports and deadlines. Whether to submit is a judgment your child should make with their counselor, using the college's own numbers.

What Test Policy Does Not Change

A test score, submitted or not, is one piece of a file. At a test-optional college, not sending a score shifts more weight onto everything else: the transcript, the recommendations and the writing. Admission to highly selective colleges is uncertain with a top score or without one. No test decision guarantees an outcome.

That is why the writing matters most in the fall. The test dates are mostly behind your child by then, and the essays are not. The 2026–27 Common App essay prompts are the starting point. The guide to what each supplemental essay type asks covers the college-specific writing, and what 185 colleges told NACAC about the essay puts its weight in context. When your child has a draft, they (not you) can run it through GradPilot's free college essay review against the Common App narrative-craft rubric, and you can read the feedback together. The review gives qualitative notes on the draft. It does not predict admission, and it does not write or edit the essay.

If you are also planning the early round, see restrictive early action rules at Harvard, Yale, Princeton and Stanford and the 2026–27 early decision and early action notification dates. For the size of the list itself, see how many colleges your child should apply to.

FAQ

Which Ivy League schools require the SAT or ACT for fall 2027?

Harvard, Yale, Brown, Dartmouth, Cornell and Penn require scores. Penn offers a hardship waiver, and Harvard accepts other exams "in exceptional cases." Princeton and Columbia are test-optional for fall 2027 entry, and both have announced that testing will be required again for fall 2028 entry.

Is Stanford test-optional for 2026–27?

No. Stanford's testing page says "ACT or SAT scores are required." Its page notes that scores "were optional for the Class of 2029," which is why older articles say otherwise.

Does test-optional really mean no disadvantage?

It means what each college says. Swarthmore says applicants "will not be penalized" for not submitting. UChicago says submitted scores are used only if they help. Many colleges state only that scores are optional. The College Board's general definition is that not submitting "won't be counted against you."

What is the difference between test-optional and test-blind?

Test-optional colleges consider scores your child chooses to send. A test-blind college will not look at scores for admission even if they are sent. UCLA "will not consider SAT or ACT scores for admission or scholarship purposes."

Should my child still take the SAT or ACT if every college on the list is optional?

The College Board, which makes the SAT, says yes and gives its reasons on BigFuture. Its advice is not neutral, so decide on practical grounds. A score keeps required colleges open if the list changes, and several optional colleges will require scores for the next class. If your child tests, they can still choose not to send the score.

Sources

All pages retrieved September 24, 2026.

Let Your Teen Check Their Own Draft

Your student runs their essay against the matching Common App rubric for free. Read the feedback together; the writing stays theirs.

Start Free Review

Rubrics for This Topic

All Common App rubrics

Related Articles

A Second Read Without Rewriting Their Essay

Your teen gets rubric-based feedback on their own draft, so your role can stay support, not authorship

Get Free Review
No credit card required
SAT/ACT Required? Top Colleges' Policies for 2026–27 - GradPilot