Skip to main content

Canada Master's Application Checklist: Fall 2027

Fall 2027 Canadian master's checklist for international students: deadlines at 9 programs, when referees get their link, and the upload traps.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechOctober 31, 202613 min read
Application statement reviewSOPs, personal statements and essays
Find my review

Canada Master's Application Checklist: Fall 2027

For a Fall 2027 (September 2027) master's in Canada, the deadlines in our table run from December 1, 2026 to April 15, 2027, and at three of them reference letters are due on the application deadline itself. Plan backwards from the day your referees can first open their link.

That day is not the same everywhere. At UofT Computer Science, referees are emailed as soon as you enter their names. At Western, they are emailed after you submit, and at Queen's Psychology they can submit only after you do. At the University of Alberta, they are emailed only after you submit and pay. A checklist that starts with "write your statement" and ends with "ask referees" gets this backwards. When you reach the statement step, a free review of your letter of intent is one way to check the draft before you upload it.

Every university page quoted below was checked on October 31, 2026. Where a page states no year, the table says so. Programs change dates and rules each cycle, so reopen your program's page before you submit. Canadian programs also name the statement differently (letter of intent, statement of intent, statement of interest, statement of academic intent, statement of purpose); the Canadian master's statement of interest guide explains why there is no single Canadian SOP. Use the name and the limit your program uses.

Fall 2027 deadlines we verified

One row per program, in date order, as each official page states it. Days of the week are our check.

ProgramDeadline as statedYear on page?
UofT Computer Science, MSc and PhD"close on December 1, 2026" (Tuesday)Yes, Fall 2027
Queen's Psychology, MSc and PhD"December 1st of each year", application and all materials including referencesNo year stated
UofT Engineering, Mechanical & Industrial MASc and PhD"January 1, 2027 for payment to SGS; January 15 for document deadline"Yes, September 2027
UofT Engineering, Electrical & Computer MASc and PhDJanuary 7, 2027 (Thursday)Yes, September 2027
Concordia Studio Arts, MFA"January 13 for fall entry"; references "no later than January 13"No year stated
McMaster Neuroscience, MSc and PhD"January 14, 2027" (Thursday); "No late applications will be accepted"Yes, Fall 2027
Western Environment and Sustainability, MESDecember 1 early admission and January 20 final deadline for international applicantsNo year stated
UofT Engineering, MEng (all departments)February 8, 2027 (Monday) for Extended Full Time Co-op; April 15, 2027 (Thursday) for international applicantsYes, September 2027
University of Alberta Physics, MSc and PhDIntake period "October 1 - March 31"; committee meets "normally late December, mid-January, late February and late March"No year stated

Two rows need a second look:

  • UofT Engineering is not one deadline. The January 1 payment and January 15 documents split applies to Mechanical & Industrial Engineering. Electrical & Computer closes January 7, 2027, and Biomedical Engineering closes February 28, 2027, with a second round on May 31, 2027. Check your department's row.
  • University of Alberta Physics funds early files first. Its FAQ says later applicants "will be considered for graduate assistantships and scholarships only if funding is still available". Being inside the intake period is not the same as being on time.

UBC publishes no single date. Its graduate admissions page says deadlines "are program specific and can range from November of the previous year to April of a year for a September intake", and a program can set separate transcript and referee deadlines. Some UBC programs set an earlier deadline for international applicants than for Canadians. In UBC's own deadline list, the MSc in Experimental Medicine (May 2027 intake) shows 15 January 2027 for Canadian applicants and 15 November 2026 for international applicants. Look up the international column for your program, not the Canadian one.

The reference deadline is fixed. What varies is the day your referees can start. That day decides how much time they have.

ProgramWhen referees can startWhen letters are due
UofT Computer Science"immediately and automatically" once you enter themThe application must be complete by December 1, 2026
Queen's PsychologyThey can submit only after your application is submittedDecember 1, same as the application
Western MES"Once submitted, each referee will receive an email from Western"Not separately stated
University of Alberta, all programsOnly after you submit and payYour program's deadline
Concordia Studio ArtsA unique link that stays open for 14 days"no later than January 13"
McMaster NeuroscienceNot stated; two academic referees, who "must be faculty members""must be received by your application deadline"
UBC, all programsA unique link to each refereeA program "Referee deadline", which may match the application deadline or come later

Concordia's row is the sharpest trap. The page says "Your referees will have access to the link for 14 days." If you enter a referee who is travelling, the link can expire before they open it.

Our view: set every date on your list from the referee step, not the application step. Find the day each program first emails your referees, give them a working window before the letter deadline, and set your submit date from that.

The basis: at Queen's Psychology and the University of Alberta, referees cannot start until you submit (Alberta adds: and pay). Queen's Psychology's own reference guidance advises: "Aim to create a list of potential referees five to six weeks before the letter is due". For a December 1, 2026 deadline, five to six weeks before is October 20 to 27, 2026 (our arithmetic). If you are reading this after October 27, you are already late for that advice. Ask today.

The countercase: at UBC a program may set a referee deadline later than the application deadline, so the squeeze is smaller there. And at programs that require a supervisor before admission, the long step is the supervisor, not the referee. Do you need a supervisor to apply in Canada? sorts programs by that rule. Start there if your program requires one.

Unknown: no page we checked says how long referees usually take. UofT Computer Science says only: "We strongly recommend that you contact your referees in advance".

Constructed example: the same December 1 deadline, two schedules

Constructed example, written by us; the applicant is invented and every date is our arithmetic from the table above.

Context (invented): Farah, an international applicant, is applying to UofT Computer Science (MSc) and Queen's Psychology (MSc). Both close on December 1, 2026.

  • UofT Computer Science. Referees are emailed the moment she enters them. She confirms her three referees and their institutional addresses on November 2, enters them the same day, and finishes the statement later. Her referees get 29 days before December 1 (our arithmetic).
  • Queen's Psychology. Referees can submit only after she does. If she submits on November 30, her referees get one day. She decides to submit by November 17, 2026, a Tuesday, two weeks before the deadline (our recommendation), so her statement of interest has to be final by then.

Same deadline, same applicant, different schedules: at UofT the statement can come last, but at Queen's it has to be finished early.

The checklist, in the order you need it

  1. Record each program's rules. For every program write down: the statement's name and limit, whether a supervisor is required, the number and type of referees, and every deadline (application, payment, documents, transcripts, referees). Program guides in this series: UofT statement of intent by department, Queen's 4,000-character statement of interest and UAlberta statement of intent rules.
  2. Contact supervisors, if the program requires it. Emailing a supervisor for a master's in Canada covers what to send.
  3. Confirm referees and their addresses. UBC will not accept "Hotmail, Yahoo, Gmail, MSN or other free e-mail accounts for referees". UofT Computer Science says referee addresses "must be their official institutional address". McMaster Neuroscience needs two faculty members. Ask now, using the referee trigger table above.
  4. Prepare transcripts and degree documents. McMaster Neuroscience wants transcripts from all post-secondary institutions "including a copy of the back page/grading scale used" in one combined PDF, and says "grade reports will not be accepted". If you are unsure whether you need a credential evaluation, read do you need WES before applying for an MS? first.
  5. Check the English test rule on each program page. We did not verify English requirements for this page.
  6. Finish the statement to the program's own limit. Use the name and limit from step 1, not a generic length.
  7. Read the program's AI and integrity rules. The University of Alberta's graduate faculty publishes a generative-AI rule for all application materials, quoted in full in the UAlberta guide linked in step 1. If a program publishes no rule, the declaration inside the application is what you sign, so read it there.
  8. Submit and pay early where referees wait for you. At Queen's Psychology, Western and the University of Alberta, your submit date is the day your referees can start.
  9. Upload by the document deadline, then send reminders. UofT Computer Science lets you send referee reminders "through your applicant portal after submitting your application". Waterloo's portal lets you send a reminder or replace a referee who has not submitted.

If your overall grades are below a program's floor, check the window it actually reads first: see low GPA for a Canadian master's.

Upload naming and format traps

ProgramRule as statedWhat goes wrong
UofT Computer Science"if you label your "Statement of Purpose" as a "Personal Statement," the system will not mark it as received"A correct file under the wrong label counts as missing
UBC Computer Science"The filename must contain the word "Intent"" (page shows "Last Updated: 2021-10-04")A file named "SOP.pdf" breaks the naming rule
Western MESHeader and filename "YOUR FULL NAME_STATEMENT_MES"; "Length: 500 - 750 words"; "Statements not within the word count will not be reviewed."480 or 760 words means no review
Waterloo, program-specific questions"There is a word count of 500 words, but some software programs (i.e. Microsoft Word) may increase word counts"Word's count and the box's count can differ
Waterloo, refereesThe same referee "must complete a separate reference form for each application"One letter does not cover two Waterloo programs

UBC Computer Science's page was last updated in 2021, by its own date. It still loads, but confirm the filename rule in the application portal. For what each computer science document asks for, see the CS master's statement guide for UofT, UBC and MScAC.

Questions about applying to a Canadian master's for Fall 2027

When are Fall 2027 master's deadlines in Canada?

At the programs in our table, between December 1, 2026 (UofT Computer Science) and April 15, 2027 (UofT Engineering MEng, international applicants). UBC says its deadlines range "from November of the previous year to April". There is no national date.

Are reference letters due on the same day as the application?

At Queen's Psychology, yes: the page says the reference deadline "is the same as the application deadline". At McMaster Neuroscience, references "must be received by your application deadline". UBC programs can set a separate referee deadline, which may be later.

Can I submit before my statement is final?

At some programs. UofT Computer Science says you can upload statements "before or after officially submitting your application", but "all mandatory supporting documentation must be uploaded by the deadline". Concordia Studio Arts says "documents can also be uploaded after an application has been submitted." Submitting early at these programs gets the referee step moving.

Can my referee use a Gmail address?

Not at UBC or UofT Computer Science. Both pages require an institutional address and name Gmail as unacceptable. If your referee has no institutional address, UofT Computer Science asks you to contact its graduate applications office. Education applicants: check the MEd statement of intent limits in Canada before you draft.

If your offer is for a college graduate certificate, the PG diploma SOP for Canada explains why that SOP is the study permit letter.

Program by program, the count, email rule and request timing are in our guide to reference letters for Canadian grad school.

Before you draft, read the AI rules at Canadian grad schools: Alberta bans AI-assisted writing tools and UBC wants any AI text cited.

Get a free review of your letter of intent

Get a free Quick Review of your letter of intent against GradPilot's general master's statement of purpose rubric, the closest rubric we have for a Canadian letter of intent. It reads for your academic interests, preparation, goals and reasons for choosing this program. Engineering applicants can use the engineering master's SOP rubric, and computer science and data applicants the CS, AI and data master's SOP rubric. Paste your program's question and its limit with the draft.

Going on to the study permit after an offer? The PhD study permit letter sample shows how the funding and offer letters have to agree. More Canadian and international guides are in graduate school essay guides.

Sources

Retrieved October 31, 2026, except where noted.

  • University of Toronto, Department of Computer Science, How to Apply (Fall 2027): December 1, 2026 deadline; referee emails sent "immediately and automatically"; institutional referee addresses; upload label rule; uploads before or after submitting; portal reminders.
  • University of Toronto, Faculty of Applied Science & Engineering, How to Apply (September 2027 start): MASc, PhD and MEng deadlines by department.
  • Queen's University, Department of Psychology, graduate program page (no year stated): December 1 deadline for applications and references; referees submit after the application is submitted; "five to six weeks" referee advice.
  • Concordia University, Studio Arts, How to apply (no year stated): January 13 deadline; 14-day referee link; later uploads.
  • McMaster University, Neuroscience Graduate Program, Application (Fall 2027): January 14, 2027 deadline; faculty referees; transcript format.
  • Western University, Master of Environment and Sustainability, Admissions (no year stated): international deadlines; referee email after submission; statement header, filename and word range.
  • University of Alberta, Physics, How to Apply FAQ (no year stated): intake period; committee rounds; funding for later files.
  • University of Alberta, Faculty of Graduate & Postdoctoral Studies, Apply: referee emails only after you submit and pay; generative-AI rule.
  • University of British Columbia, Graduate School, Application & Admission: program-specific deadlines; transcript and referee deadlines; deadline list including MSc Experimental Medicine.
  • UBC Graduate School, Letters of Reference: no free email accounts for referees.
  • UBC Computer Science, Statement of Intent (last updated 2021-10-04): filename rule.
  • University of Waterloo, Application documents and materials: 500-word question boxes; separate referee form per program; referee reminders.

Chosen your next application?

Get feedback on your own SOP, personal statement or application essays. Choose your program and review option.

Find my review

Rubrics for This Topic

All Graduate (MS/MA) rubrics

Related Articles

Get feedback on your application statement

GradPilot reviews your own writing against application-specific rubrics. Find the review that fits your next application.

Find my application review
No credit card required