Canadian Medical School Interviews 2027: Formats
Canadian MD interview formats and dates for 2027 entry at 11 schools, from each school's page: MMI, MPI or panel, virtual or in person, and offer dates.
Canadian Medical School Interviews 2027: Formats
Eight of the 11 Canadian MD programs we checked put their interviews in February or March, and three Ontario schools send first offers in the second week of May 2027. Formats differ more than dates: Toronto records answers to a camera, Western and Ottawa interview by panel, McMaster, McGill, Dalhousie and Calgary run MMIs, and Queen's, NOSM, Saskatchewan and Memorial combine an MMI with a panel or personal interview.
"The Canadian MMI" is not one thing. A five-minute recorded answer with no interviewer, a 40-minute panel and an eight-station in-person circuit need different practice, and the calendar tells you when silence means something. If you are still writing for a later stage, the OMSAS autobiographical sketch guide covers the file the interview builds on.
Every school page quoted below was checked on November 7, 2026. Two schools still show last cycle's interview dates; those rows say so. Recheck each school's page when your invitation arrives.
The 2027-entry interview table
| School | Format, as the page describes it | Setting | Interview window | First decisions |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Toronto | vMPI: "four independent interviews assessed by four different raters", each "approximately 5 minutes" of recorded video | Virtual, asynchronous (2025-26 statement) | "between February and April" (2025-26 dates: Feb 8, Mar 7, Mar 22, 2026) | "2nd week of May" |
| McMaster | Multiple Mini Interview | Virtual ("2027 Virtual MMI Dates: To be announced") | "invited for an interview in March" | "second Tuesday in May" |
| Queen's | Early-phase MMI for all applicants, then a "virtual synchronous panel interview" | Virtual | Tentative 2026-27 dates: MD panels March 6-7, 2027; secondary MMI, if required, January 10, 2027 | First-round general-stream offers in May |
| Ottawa | Early-phase MMI for all applicants, then a semi-structured panel of about 40 minutes | Virtual | February and March 2027 | Not stated on the page |
| Western | "3-person panels" | Virtual | "late February and early March" | "early May" |
| NOSM | MMI plus panel | Online | MMI Thursday, Feb 25, 2027; panel Feb 27-28, 2027 | "second Tuesday of May" |
| McGill | MMI | Virtual | Feb 16-19, 2027 | Target April 1, 2027 |
| Calgary | MMI | In person | 2025-26 dates: March 7-8 and 14-15, 2026 | "First two weeks of May 2026" (last cycle) |
| Dalhousie | MMI, "a 10-station circut" [sic] | Virtual, "synchronous style" (2026/2027 cycle) | November 28-29, 2026 | Decision letters March 31, 2027 ("subject to change") |
| Saskatchewan | "combined MMI and panel interview/conversation circle" | Virtual | Not stated on the page | Not stated on the page |
| Memorial | MMI (80 minutes) plus a 30-minute Competency Assessment | Virtual, "via Kira Talent" | Not stated on the page | "by pool from March – May" |
Not in the table: UBC's admissions pages returned a browser-verification wall to our fetcher, Alberta's and Manitoba's interview pages were not found at the addresses we tried, and we did not check the three francophone Quebec programs. Nothing from those schools is quoted here.
Our arithmetic: the second Tuesday of May 2027 is May 11, 2027. McMaster and NOSM both name that day; Toronto names the same week.
What each format asks you to practice
The format sets the practice, so match your rehearsal to the row above.
Recorded, no interviewer (Toronto). Toronto's page gives "30 seconds to read the interview question", then "5 minutes to record", with "a maximum time of 30 minutes for the circuit". Nobody nods or follows up. Practice answering into a camera with a timer, and finish your point before the five minutes run out. Our Toronto MPI guide works through the four question types.
MMI circuits (McMaster, McGill, Dalhousie, Calgary). McMaster lists the issues its stations "may include": "Communication", "Critical Thinking", "Ethical Decision Making", "Awareness of Social Health Issues in Canada", "Personal Qualities", and "Current Topics". It adds: "Applicants are not assessed on their scientific knowledge." Calgary's MMI FAQ says its questions "will not ask you about yourself per se. They will ask you about what you think or what you would do in a given situation and why." It also explains why there is no station about why you want to be a doctor: "We have explicitly chosen not to do that, since your reasons for being a doctor are usually evident in the file review". Our McMaster MMI guide covers its circuit, and the Canadian health care interview questions page covers the "social health issues" stations.
Panels (Western, Ottawa). Ottawa's interviews "are semi-structured and last approximately 40 minutes", with "two members of the Admissions Committee" and "a fourth-year medical student". It names what it evaluates: "motivation, empathy/compassion, conflict resolution/teamwork, communication skills, professionalism, critical thinking/ethics as well as resiliency." A panel can ask about your file, so reread your ABS before it.
Combined (Queen's, NOSM, Saskatchewan, Memorial). Saskatchewan says the panel or conversation circle "will allow applicants to highlight their personal stories". Memorial's Competency Assessment "asks the applicant personal questions about themselves and their experiences". Prepare both a scenario method and your own stories.
Our view: prepare for the format, not for "Canadian interviews". If you hold a Toronto vMPI and a Calgary MMI, two weeks of timed camera practice and two weeks of live scenario practice beat four weeks of generic question lists. The countercase: if you have one interview, or several of the same format, the split is irrelevant; spend the time on that one format.
The early-phase MMI comes before any invitation
Two Ontario schools now test every applicant before choosing whom to interview.
- Ottawa: "All applicants are required to complete an early-phase MMI through the Acuity Insights platform to be considered for admission." Applicants are "contacted in early October, shortly after the OMSAS application deadline, with instructions to schedule their early-phase MMI." It must be done "in the language of instruction you selected".
- Queen's: "All applicants to Queen's University are required to complete an early-phase MMI, in addition to Casper, through the Acuity Insights platform to be considered for admission." Applicants are contacted "in early October".
For 2027 entry those early-October windows have already passed. If you applied to either school, the early-phase MMI is behind you; the panel interview is what remains. Queen's adds that "If required, we will run an additional virtual MMI in January for applicants selected through QARS", with notice "in December".
When silence means something
Use the school's own invitation calendar to decide whether "no email yet" is news.
| School | When its page says invitations go out | What no email means before then |
|---|---|---|
| Dalhousie | "in November" (this month, as of our check) | Its one listed interview weekend is November 28-29, 2026; check your junk folder and portal before then |
| McGill | Target January 25, 2027 | Nothing before January 25, 2027 |
| Ottawa | Status emails "during the last week of January 2027" | Nothing before that week |
| Western | "late January or early February" | Nothing before late January |
| Toronto | "on a rolling basis between January and March" (Med Blog, January 20, 2026) | Little: Toronto says the date "is not related to your ranking" |
| McMaster | Interviews "in March"; no invitation date given | Unknown; the page does not say |
Toronto states this plainly: "Interview invitations and refusal letters continue to be sent until the last interview date, as the files are reviewed." It also says it usually emails invitations "at least two weeks prior to the interview date" and may keep sending them in the week before.
Casper and other tests at these schools
Casper is a separate test from the interview. Its typed and video sections, and constructed sample answers at the real time limit, are on our Casper test examples page. On the pages we checked, Casper is listed by McMaster, Queen's, Memorial, Dalhousie and Saskatchewan. Dalhousie's pre-interview score is "50% GPA, 25% MCAT, 25% CASPer". Queen's and Ottawa's early-phase MMI runs on the same Acuity platform, but Queen's lists it "in addition to Casper".
Questions about Canadian medical school interviews
When are Canadian medical school interviews for 2027 entry?
Mostly February and March 2027. Of the 11 schools above, eight give February, March or a range that starts in February. McGill's are February 16 to 19, 2027, and NOSM's MMI is February 25, 2027. Dalhousie is the exception: November 28 and 29, 2026. Saskatchewan and Memorial give no interview dates on the pages we read.
Are Canadian medical school interviews virtual for 2027?
Ten of the 11 pages describe virtual or online interviews. Six say so for the 2026-2027 cycle or 2027 entry by name: McMaster, Queen's, Ottawa, NOSM, McGill and Dalhousie. Toronto's virtual statement is for 2025-2026, and Calgary's page describes in-person interviews with 2025-2026 dates. Ottawa says "Interviews for the 2027 admission cycle will be conducted virtually".
Does an early interview invite mean a higher ranking?
At Toronto, no. Its page says interview dates "are assigned at random as file reviews are completed and do not reflect any ranking". Other schools do not say either way.
What do Queen's and Ottawa panels ask?
Ottawa lists the characteristics it scores, quoted above. Queen's says the panel follows file review and asks interviewees to sign a "Confidentiality Non-Disclosure Statement". Neither page publishes questions.
Review the writing you send next
Get a free Quick Review of your ABS entry descriptions if your next document is an OMSAS reapplication. GradPilot's OMSAS ABS rubric checks that each entry makes your part identifiable, keeps its claims verifiable and fits its field, and the OMSAS ABS examples show the point-form style.
More Canadian medicine guides on the medical school essays hub:
- Canadian medical school waitlist and offers: May offer dates, how waitlists move, and the reapply plan.
- Letters after a UK or Canadian medicine interview: what these schools say about contact after the interview.
- OMSAS deadline work-back plan: the ABS timeline for next cycle.
Sources
Retrieved November 7, 2026.
- University of Toronto MD Program, Interviewing (2025-2026 cycle): vMPI format, timings, 2026 dates, invitation timing, random date assignment.
- University of Toronto MD Program, Interviews & Offers FAQ (no year stated): February to April interviews, 2nd week of May offers.
- University of Toronto MD Program, Interview Days and the MPI (posted January 20, 2026): rolling invitations January to March.
- McMaster University UGME, After You Apply (2027 entry): MMI issues, March interviews, 2027 dates to be announced, second Tuesday in May.
- McMaster University UGME, Admissions (current): Casper listed among requirements.
- Queen's University School of Medicine, Methods of Selection (2026-2027 cycle): early-phase MMI, panel interview, January secondary MMI.
- Queen's University School of Medicine, Eligibility and Application Process (current cycle): early-phase MMI "in addition to Casper".
- Queen's University School of Medicine, Offers and Deferrals (no year stated): first-round offer months.
- University of Ottawa Faculty of Medicine, Application process (2027 admission cycle): early-phase MMI, panel format and length, virtual February and March interviews, January 2027 status emails.
- Western University Schulich Medicine, Admission requirements and Important dates (no year stated): panels, invitation and interview timing, early May offers.
- NOSM University, Selection Process & Offers of Admission (page labels the 2026 UME interviews; dates in February 2027): MMI and panel dates, second Tuesday of May.
- McGill University, Key dates (Fall 2027 entry) and MDCM program: invitation, interview and offer dates; MMI.
- University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine, MMI Information, MMI FAQs and Application timeline (2025-2026 cycle): in-person MMI, dates, decision timing.
- Dalhousie Medicine, Interview and Application deadlines (2026/2027 cycle): 10-station MMI, virtual synchronous, November invitations, November 28-29, 2026 interview weekend, March 31, 2027 decision letters, pre-interview score.
- University of Saskatchewan College of Medicine, How to apply (current): combined virtual MMI and panel, Casper.
- Memorial University Faculty of Medicine, Interviews, Selection and Casper (2026-2027 cycle): MMI and Competency Assessment, offer pools, Casper requirement.
- Not retrieved: OUAC OMSAS dates page (HTTP 403), UBC MD admissions (browser-verification wall), Alberta and Manitoba interview pages (not found). Nothing from them is quoted.
Chosen your next application?
Get feedback on your own SOP, personal statement or application essays. Choose your program and review option.