CRNA School Requirements by Program — 2026 Table
ICU years, CCRN, GRE, GPA, shadowing, deadlines and essays for 25 nurse anesthesia programs, from official pages, and what separates applicants.
CRNA School Requirements by Program — 2026 Table
Nearly every CRNA program we checked sets a 3.0 GPA floor and one year of critical care. Beyond that they split: some require two ICU years, CCRN or the GRE, and some don't. The table covers 25 programs, sourced from their own pages.
We checked every row against the program's live admissions page on September 24, 2026. Where a page didn't state something, the cell says "not stated." We didn't fill gaps from memory or from third-party directories. This covers 25 of the roughly 155 accredited programs the AANA counts, and it isn't a ranking. Confirm each figure on the live page before you apply.
Our position: the floors in this table rarely decide admissions. They tell you whether you can apply. What separates applicants shows up in the admitted-student data a few programs publish, and in how you describe your ICU work once you're past the floor.
The table: 25 programs, 2026–27 cycle
Abbreviations: yr = year(s) of full-time RN critical-care experience; sci = science GPA; SoP = statement of purpose. Deadlines are as printed on each page on September 24, 2026; where a page still shows a 2026 date that has passed, the cell says "closed," and most programs reopen on the same dates the following year.
| Program (entry · deadline) | ICU floor | CCRN | GRE | GPA floor | Shadowing | Writing asked | Src |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Albany Medical College (Summer cohort · rolling; not NursingCAS) | 2 yr within past 5 | Required | Required; ≥150 V/Q, 3.5 AW | 3.2 | CRNA in OR, within 5 yr | Three 500-word statements | [1] |
| Augusta University (entry and deadline not stated) | 1 yr within past 3; preferred at application, required by matriculation | Preferred, not required | If GPA below 3.6; 300+ "competitive" | 3.0 | 8 hr before interview | NursingCAS essays; AI may not "generate entire responses" | [2] |
| Baylor College of Medicine (Jan 2027 · June 1, 2026, closed; window opens Jan 15 each year) | 1 yr (2 preferred) after NCLEX | "Strongly encouraged" | Required, within 4 yr | 3.0 | Not stated | Not listed on the BSN-DNP requirements page | [3] |
| Case Western Reserve (following year · June 1) | 1+ yr recent, with specialty certification | Required ("i.e. CCRN") | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Four questions, ≤1 page each: shift, strongest/weakest area, error in judgement, DNP project | [4] |
| Columbia (entry and deadline not stated; apply page dated 2019) | Not stated on apply page | Not stated | Not required | Not stated | Not stated | One 2-page essay + live video essay | [5] |
| Detroit Mercy (Fall 2027 · June 15, 2026, closed) | 1 yr within last 5 | Not stated | Not required | 3.0 | Expected before interview | Autobiography, ≤2 pages single-spaced | [6] |
| Duke (Aug · June 1–Aug 1) | 1 yr current, continuous full-time (2 preferred) | "Strongly encouraged" | "No longer" required | sci 3.2 | Not stated | Personal statement on career goals; AI OK for brainstorming/proofreading, not whole content | [7] |
| Edgewood University (Fall 2027 · Dec 15, 2026) | 1 yr within previous 2 | Required | Not required | 3.0 | CRNA reference from shadowing | ≤500 words | [8] |
| Emory (June 1 or Sept 1) | 1 yr (12 consecutive months), 2–3 preferred | Recommended as interview prep | Not stated | 3.0 | 16 hr strongly recommended | No essay among listed materials | [9] |
| FIU (Feb 1) | Not stated on apply page | Certificate + score report | Not stated | Not stated | Not stated | Personal statement + virtual assessment | [10] |
| Georgetown (Summer 2027 · Oct 15, 2026 final; Aug 15 priority passed) | 2 yr before matriculation | Not stated | If GPA below 3.5 | 3.0; sci 3.0 | Not stated | SoP ≤500 words + optional mission statement | [11] |
| Keiser University (Fall and Winter · open until filled) | 1 yr adult ICU, currently 36+ hr/wk, no orientation | Not required | Not required | 3.0; sci 3.0 preferred | 40 hr required, in the US | 3 pages, AMA, ≥1 cited article | [12] |
| MUSC (Summer 2028 · Sept 15, 2027) | 1 yr at application | Not stated | If GPA below 3.6 | 3.0 | Required by application | ≤1,000 words: motivation + scholarly-project problem | [13] |
| Northeastern (Summer 2027 · July 1, 2026, closed) | 1 yr current (2+ preferred) | Required + score report | Required (153 V / 153 Q / 4.0 AW); waived at 3.6 | 3.2; sci 3.2 | ≥20 hr, documented | 2-page, four-part goal statement | [14] |
| Oakland University (Fall 2027 · June 15 early / Dec 15, 2026) | 1 yr, currently in ICU | Required | Not stated | nursing 3.0; sci 3.0 | Not stated | Not among listed interview requirements | [15] |
| Otterbein (May · Aug 1 each year; 2026 closed) | 1 yr within last 3 | Required by deadline | Optional, encouraged if GPA below 3.5 | 3.0; sci 3.0 | Not stated | 2–4 page essay | [16] |
| Rutgers (May · Aug 15 each year; 2026 closed) | 1.5 yr at application | Required; scores at interview | Not stated | 3.2 preferred | On CV | Two 1-page pieces: a challenge; an unusual skill | [17] |
| UAMS (entry and deadline not stated) | 1 yr within 2 yr of application | Required + score | Not stated | 3.0; last-60 3.25; sci 3.25 | Not stated | ≤250 words + on-site essay | [18] |
| UC Davis (Summer 2027 · Nov 1, 2026) | 1 yr (strongly preferred by application) | Not required (FAQ) | Not required (FAQ) | 3.0 | 8 hr required | Six prompts, ~1,500 characters each, per the school's 09/17/2024 prompt sheet | [19] |
| UIC (Fall · Nov 1) | 2 yr current | Not stated | Not stated | 3.0 (cohort avg 3.6) | Shadow day, form | Five questions, no stated limit + Kira video | [20] |
| University of Minnesota (Fall · July 15; 2026 cycle closed) | Not stated on apply page | Certificate upload | Not stated | Not stated | Written synopsis | 3 prompts ≤4 pages total + 500-word DEI; no generative AI | [21] |
| UNE (Fall · Feb 1, 2027) | 18 months (2+ recommended) | Not stated | Not stated | 3.0; sci 3.0 | ≥1 day encouraged | Not on the checklist; FAQ refers to "written statements and responses" | [22] |
| UTHealth Houston (see deadlines page) | 1 yr (2 preferred); may apply before | Not stated | Required; competitive 151 V, 144 Q, 3.5 AW | 3.0 | Not stated | 500 words: practice interest, goals, doctoral reasons | [23] |
| UTMB (Fall · deadline on a separate page) | 1 yr recent (2 preferred) | Verification required | Not stated | 3.0 last-60; sci 3.0 | Not stated | ≤500 words incl. "explain any interruptions" + Kira | [24] |
| Villanova (Summer 2028 · June 1–Sept 1, 2027) | 1 yr after orientation (2 preferred), within 5 | Required, "or its equivalent (Pediatric CCRN or CFRN)" | If GPA below 3.4 | 3.0; 3.0 in each science course | Not stated | Career-goals statement | [25] |
Also checked but kept out of the table because their pages covered fewer columns: VCU requires 12 months, lists AACN critical-care certification, doesn't require the GRE, sets a March 1 deadline and says competitive candidates "generally have two or more years" [26]. Wayne State requires one year with current ICU employment, CCRN, 3.0 floors and a 1–2 page statement, with a June 1 deadline each year [27]. Iowa requires one year of staff ICU work, a goal statement and a June 1 deadline each year [28]. KU asks for a 500-word statement and required shadowing, and invites "the top 60 applicants" to interview [29].
Which requirements actually separate applicants
Floors don't separate anyone. A 3.0 GPA and one ICU year appear on nearly every page, because the COA sets one year as the admission minimum. When everyone who applies clears the bar, the bar tells the committee very little.
The published admitted-student numbers are much higher.
| Program | Applicants → interviews → seats | Admitted profile | Src |
|---|---|---|---|
| MUSC | 200+ → ~60 in person → up to 40 | GPA 3.5; 24 months of critical care (averages) | [13] |
| Otterbein | 100+ → 50–60 → up to 24 | GPA 3.4–4.0; ICU "2 to 6 years" | [16] |
| Edgewood (2026 entry) | 113 applications → 17 admitted | GPA 3.8; ICU 3.9 years | [8] |
| Villanova | ~50–60 interviews → 36 seats | Not published | [25] |
| Oakland (5-year average) | Class of 25–32 | GPA 3.69; ICU 2.86 years at application | [15] |
| UTHealth Houston | — | GPA 3.6; ICU 2.5 years; GRE 151 Q / 154 V | [23] |
| Baylor (BSN-DNP) | 28 seats | GPA 3.59; GRE 156 V / 156 Q / 3.86 AW | [3] |
This doesn't mean you need four years or a 3.8. It means the programs that publish data admit people who are well past the floor. Where you fall short on one of these, the rest of the file has to make up for it.
CCRN is the most common extra requirement. Twelve programs in our table require the CCRN or proof of it, and several want the score report. UAMS says certification and score submission "serve as indicators of advanced critical care knowledge." If your programs require it, you can't sit the exam until you have enough hours. The AACN's two-year option needs 1,750 direct-care hours with acutely or critically ill adults, 875 of them in the most recent year.
The GRE requirement varies by program. Northeastern, Baylor, UTHealth, Albany and UAB require it. Georgetown, MUSC, Villanova and Augusta require it only below a GPA cutoff. Columbia, VCU, Detroit Mercy, Keiser, Edgewood, Duke and UC Davis don't require it. A weak GRE is only a problem at programs that ask for one, so apply accordingly.
Interviews are where most cuts happen. UAMS invites "2-3 times the number of applicants" for its seats. Keiser says interviews "can include questions on chemistry, anatomy, physiology, pharmacology, dosing calculations." MUSC's interview is in person and runs 2–3 hours. Your written answers are often what earns the invitation.
The writing requirements vary more than anything else. Emory lists no essay, UAMS asks for 250 words, and Otterbein asks for up to four pages. Keiser requires a cited article, and Case Western asks you to describe "a time that you made an error in judgement." One recycled personal statement can't fit all of these. The prompt wording is covered in CRNA essay prompts by program, and how to handle each format is in the three-type statement guide.
What the essay has to do, given these numbers
Once you clear the floor, the essay's job is to make your ICU experience legible. Committees read against the COA definition: managing invasive hemodynamic monitors, assist devices, ventilators and vasoactive infusions. UIC's fifth question asks for that directly, and UC Davis asks for "the number of ventilated patients." If your years are at the low end of the admitted range, your writing should show specific acuity, what you decided and why, rather than general enthusiasm. If your GPA is the weak point, show recent coursework and scholarly readiness. MUSC and Case Western both ask for a doctoral project problem. If your record has a gap, answer it plainly, as UTMB asks you to. Specific help for each case is in CRNA applications after leaving ICU, old GPA, new coursework and reapplying with a reused statement.
Your decision procedure this week
- Filter by ICU floor, recency and unit type (ER, NICU and PACU rules differ; see how to become a CRNA). Remove programs you can't meet by their stated date, whether that's the application, the interview or matriculation.
- Filter by CCRN and GRE. Put each program's requirement next to your realistic exam dates.
- Sort the remaining programs by deadline. Most 2026 summer deadlines have passed. As of September 24, 2026 the open or upcoming dates in this table are Georgetown (Oct 15), UC Davis and UIC (Nov 1), Oakland and Edgewood (Dec 15), FIU and UNE (Feb 1, 2027) and VCU (Mar 1); MUSC and Villanova already list 2027 deadlines for Summer 2028 entry, and the rest reopen on the same dates next year.
- Paste each program's exact prompts and limits into one document. Mark which ones need citations, counted characters or behavioral answers.
- Draft your answer to the COA-vocabulary question first. You can reuse that evidence across most of the other prompts.
If you're weighing nurse anesthesia against other advanced-practice routes, compare NP school requirements by program and the DNP vs NP decision.
Checking a draft against the rubric
When you have a draft for a specific program, run it through GradPilot's free review against the CRNA personal statement rubric, with that program's prompt pasted above your answer. You get qualitative feedback on whether the writing answers the question with specific evidence. It doesn't predict admission or judge whether you're eligible, and GradPilot doesn't write or edit essays. Other nursing rubrics are on the nursing shelf. Check each program's outside-help rules in nursing school AI policies.
FAQ
What is the minimum ICU experience for CRNA school?
The COA minimum is one year of full-time critical care or its part-time equivalent. Some programs set more: UIC and Albany require two years, Georgetown two years before matriculation, Rutgers 1.5 and UNE 18 months.
Do all CRNA programs require the CCRN?
No. Twelve programs in this table require it or ask for proof of it. Keiser and Augusta say it's not required, and Baylor and Duke strongly encourage it. Check each program's page.
Which CRNA programs don't require the GRE?
Of the programs checked here, Columbia, VCU, Detroit Mercy, Keiser, Edgewood, Duke and UC Davis say it's not required. Georgetown, MUSC, Villanova and Augusta require it only below a GPA threshold.
Do all CRNA programs use NursingCAS?
No. Albany Medical College says it doesn't accept NursingCAS applications. Iowa uses a Graduate College application. Detroit Mercy prefers NursingCAS but still offers its in-house system.
What GPA do admitted CRNA students have?
Among programs that publish figures: Edgewood 3.8 (2026 entry), Oakland 3.69 (five-year average), UTHealth 3.6, UIC cohort 3.6, Baylor BSN-DNP 3.59, MUSC 3.5, and Otterbein 3.4–4.0.
Sources
All checked 2026-09-24 on the program's official page.
- Albany Medical College — https://www.amc.edu/admissions/nurse-anesthesiology-admissions/
- Augusta University — https://www.augusta.edu/gradschool/dnp-anesthesia-adm-reqs.php
- Baylor College of Medicine — https://www.bcm.edu/education/school-of-health-professions/dnp-program-nurse-anesthesia/admissions and /admissions/bsn-dnp-admissions
- Case Western Reserve — https://case.edu/nursing/admissions/how-apply/dnp; https://case.edu/nursing/programs/dnp/dnp-nurse-anesthesia
- Columbia School of Nursing — https://www.nursing.columbia.edu/academics/academic-programs/doctor-nursing-practice/nurse-anesthesia/admissions/apply-dnp-nurse-anesthesia-program
- University of Detroit Mercy — https://healthprofessions.udmercy.edu/academics/na/applicants/
- Duke School of Nursing — https://nursing.duke.edu/academic-programs/dnp-program-nursing/dnp-admissions and https://nursing.duke.edu/academic-programs/dnp-program-nursing/nurse-anesthesia-admission
- Edgewood University — https://www.edgewood.edu/academics/programs/dnp-nurse-anesthesia/
- Emory — https://www.nursing.emory.edu/degrees-programs/nursing/certified-registered-nurse-anesthesia
- FIU — https://cnhs.fiu.edu/academics/nursing/nurse-anesthesia/programs/dnp-na/how-to-apply/index.html
- Georgetown — https://nurseanesthesia.georgetown.edu/apply-to-the-dnap/
- Keiser University — https://www.keiseruniversity.edu/programs/nursing/doctorates-anesthesia-entry-into-practice/
- MUSC — https://chp.musc.edu/programs/doctor-nurse-anesthesia-practice-post-baccalaureate
- Northeastern Bouvé — https://bouve.northeastern.edu/programs/doctor-of-nursing-practice-anesthesia-dnp-na/
- Oakland University — https://www.oakland.edu/nursing/graduate-programs/DNP-NA/
- Otterbein University — https://www.otterbein.edu/programs/nurse-anesthesia-bsn-to-dnp/
- Rutgers — https://nursing.rutgers.edu/academics-admissions/graduate/dnp/anesthesia/admissions/
- UAMS — https://nursing.uams.edu/programs/dnp/nurse-anesthesia/nurse-anesthesia-program-admissions-requirements/
- UC Davis — https://health.ucdavis.edu/nursing/admissions/programs/DNP-NA.html; FAQ — https://health.ucdavis.edu/nursing/admissions/FAQ-DNP-NA.html; prompt PDF (09/17/2024) — https://health.ucdavis.edu/nursing/admissions/pdf/Betty-Irene-Moore-School-of-Nursing-DNP-NA-Essay-Prompts-for-NCAS-9-17-2024.pdf
- UIC — https://nursing.uic.edu/programs/doctor-nursing-practice/dnp-focus-areas/nurse-anesthesia/ and /apply-now/
- University of Minnesota — https://nursing.umn.edu/academics/doctor-nursing-practice/how-apply
- University of New England — https://www.une.edu/wchp/nursing/dnp-nurse-anesthesia-program/admissions
- UTHealth Houston — https://nursing.uth.edu/programs/dnp/nurse-anesthesia/admission-requirements
- UTMB — https://nursing.utmb.edu/Academics/Programs/Doctoral/DNP/BSN-NurseAnesthesia
- Villanova — https://www.villanova.edu/university/nursing/academic-programs/doctoral/doctor-nursing-practice/nurse-anesthesia-track/admission.html
- VCU — https://nrsa.chp.vcu.edu/admissions/application/
- Wayne State — https://applebaum.wayne.edu/nurse-anesthesia/admission-requirements
- University of Iowa — https://nursing.uiowa.edu/anesthesia/admission-requirements
- KU Medical Center — https://www.kumc.edu/school-of-health-professions/academics/departments/nurse-anesthesia-education/academics/how-to-apply.html
- UAB (GRE) — https://www.uab.edu/nursing/home/files/application-instructions-checklist/nurse-anesthesia.pdf
- COA Standards (practice doctorate, effective Jan. 1, 2026) — https://www.coacrna.org/wp-content/uploads/2025/08/Standards-for-Accreditation-of-Nurse-Anesthesia-Programs-Practice-Doctorate-May-2025-Effective-Date-January-2026-1.pdf; AANA — https://www.aana.com/membership/become-a-crna/; AACN CCRN (Adult) — https://www.aacn.org/certification/get-certified/ccrn-adult
Review Your Nursing Essays
Prompt-specific feedback for NP, DNP, ABSN, and CRNA statements — against the questions your program actually asks.