Dental School Acceptance Dec 15: ADEA Rules 2026-27
Dental school acceptances can go out from Tuesday, Dec. 15, 2026 under ADEA rules. The 30- and 15-day windows, the March 1 report, and what silence means.
Dental School Acceptance Dec 15: ADEA Rules 2026-27
A dental school that follows the ADEA guideline may tell you that you are accepted no earlier than December 15, 2026, which is a Tuesday. An offer made between December 15 and January 31 gives you at least 30 days to answer. An offer made on or after February 1, 2027 gives you at least 15 days.
December 15 is a floor, not a deadline. The guideline only stops schools from making offers earlier. Penn, UNC and Florida all say they keep making offers on a rolling basis after that day, so a quiet December 15 is not a decision. The dates that actually bind you come later: January 31, February 1, March 1 and May 15.
Every ADEA and school page quoted below was checked on November 7, 2026. Two of the school pages still show older dates, so read the deadline in your own offer letter, not on a website. For where you stand by numbers, see dental school acceptance rates by GPA and DAT.
The ADEA rule in one table (2026-27 dates)
ADEA's Guidelines for Dental Schools When Extending Offers of Admission and Scholarships set the notification date and the response windows:
"Notify applicants, either orally or in writing, of provisional or final acceptance no earlier than Dec. 15 of the academic year prior to the academic year of matriculation. (Note: If Dec. 15 falls on Saturday or Sunday, the official date will be moved to the preceding business day.)"
"Allow an applicant who has been given a provisional or final acceptance between Dec. 15 and Jan. 31 the minimum response period of 30 days. For applicants accepted on or after Feb. 1, the minimum response period may be reduced to 15 days."
ADEA's 2026-27 important dates list "Dec. 15, 2026 | 2026–27 dental school acceptance notification date". Put together:
| Date | What happens | Source |
|---|---|---|
| Aug. 13 – Sept. 29, 2026 | First Academic Update period | ADEA dates |
| Dec. 1, 2026 – Feb. 5, 2027 | Second Academic Update period | ADEA dates |
| Tue., Dec. 15, 2026 | Earliest acceptance notification | ADEA dates and guideline |
| Dec. 15 – Jan. 31 | Offers carry at least 30 days to respond | Guideline |
| From Mon., Feb. 1, 2027 | Offers may carry as few as 15 days | Guideline |
| Fri., Feb. 5, 2027 | ADEA AADSAS closes | ADEA dates |
| Mon., March 1, 2027 | Schools report the names of applicants holding a seat | Guideline |
| After March 5, 2027 | ADEA tells each school which of its applicants hold seats elsewhere | Guideline |
| After April 15, 2027 | "Notification times may be shortened" | Guideline |
| May 15, 2027 | "The response period may be lifted after May 15, or two weeks before the beginning of the academic year, whichever comes first." | Guideline |
Weekdays are our arithmetic. The guideline calls itself "recommendations and guidelines for dental education institutions", approved by the ADEA House of Delegates and last revised "in January 2022 by the ADEA Board of Directors". Schools adopt it on their own pages: Kentucky says it "abides by the 'Traffic Rules' guidelines", and Penn issues acceptances "In accordance with ADEA notification guidelines".
If a school does not hear back from you in time, the guideline says "the dental school may choose to withdraw the candidate from the entering class." What March 1 means for applicants holding two seats is on the holding multiple dental school acceptances page.
Why some school pages still say December 1 or December 13
Three pages you may find disagree with the 2026-27 calendar.
- Columbia. Its admissions page lists "December 1: First offers of admissions are e-mailed" and says applicants "are notified through the AADSAS portal on December 1st in accordance with ADEA traffic rules." The page states no cycle year.
- Pitt. Its DMD admissions process page says "the earliest date of acceptance to American dental schools for 2024 will be December 13th." December 15, 2024 was a Sunday, so the weekend rule moved that year's date to Friday, December 13 (our arithmetic). The same page lists financial aid forms due "March 30, 2027", so the page was updated in part and this sentence was not.
- ADEA itself. The undated Timeline to Apply still says "Sometime after December 1, you will (hopefully) receive offers of admission."
December 1 is also when the second Academic Update period opens, which adds to the mix-up.
Our view: plan around December 15, 2026. ADEA's dated 2026-27 calendar and its guideline agree on it, and each conflicting page is either undated or names an older year. If a school's date changes what you do, ask that school in one line.
The countercase: once you hold an offer, its letter beats every web page. Pitt says the deposit is due "no later than the due date on your Offer of Admission", and Florida asks for its deposit "by the deadline specified in the acceptance letter".
What decision day looks like at seven schools
The guideline sets a date, not a time, and no shared release hour appears on any page we checked. Each school sends offers its own way:
| School | How you hear | How long offers run |
|---|---|---|
| Kentucky | "Candidates will receive an email at midnight and a phone call during the day" | Not stated |
| Pitt | "notified initially by phone, followed by written acceptance" | Rolling "until the class is filled" |
| Penn | "via email and the Penn Dental Medicine applicant portal" | Rolling from December 15 "until the class reaches capacity" |
| Florida | Acceptance letter | "from December through Orientation in August" |
| UNC | Acceptance packet by mail | Rolling; "All applicants should receive a status update by the end of March" |
| Columbia | AADSAS portal | "Applications will continue to be reviewed through the spring" |
| UIC | Not stated | Final decision "no later than April" |
Two schools still interview in March (Penn and UIC), so an applicant to either can still be waiting for an interview on December 15.
Nothing on December 15: what it means and what to send
Find your situation and do only what that row says.
- You interviewed before December 15 and heard nothing. The class is still being built. Send an update only if you have a new fact and the school takes updates. Kentucky lets candidates send updates and letters of intent between the interview and the tell date; UIC takes no documents after you submit AADSAS "unless requested by the Admissions staff." The dental school update letter guide covers what goes in a letter and what goes through Academic Update.
- Your interview is in January, February or March. There is nothing to send. Penn holds interviews "weekly from September through March", and UIC interviews run "September 2026 through March 2027". Prepare for the day instead.
- You have no interview yet. Penn sends invitations "through February on a rolling basis". Kentucky's interview schedule "typically runs from the end of August until early December", so at Kentucky the season is close to over.
- You got a hold, alternate or waitlist notice. The ADEA guideline does not define "hold", so read your school's own wording. Columbia asks waitlisted applicants to "respond within seven (7) days" to stay under consideration. Florida says it will "NOT disclose a candidate's position on the alternate list." The dental waitlist letter of continued interest page covers that letter.
- One school is clearly your first choice. A dental school letter of intent goes to that one school, never two.
A status question is not a letter. If you only want to confirm nothing went to spam, check where the school tells you to look. Columbia names the AADSAS portal and its admissions email. Kentucky warns that its emails "sometimes find their way to Junk and Trash folders".
Your response window, worked through four offer dates
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant's timeline. Day counts are calendar days from the offer date (our arithmetic). Your offer letter sets the exact due date.
| Offer arrives | Minimum window | Earliest the answer can be due |
|---|---|---|
| Tue., Dec. 15, 2026 | 30 days | Thu., Jan. 14, 2027 |
| Fri., Jan. 29, 2027 | 30 days | Sun., Feb. 28, 2027 |
| Wed., Feb. 10, 2027 | 15 days | Thu., Feb. 25, 2027 |
| Tue., June 1, 2027 | Set by the school | Florida: "After May 15 the number of days is decided by the dental school." |
Two things the table shows. First, a late-January offer can run right up to the March 1 report, so a seat you are still weighing then counts. Second, a deposit sits inside each window. Penn asks for "$1,000" within the 30-day or 15-day window, then "An additional deposit of $1,000 is due on March 1". Deposit rules at five schools are compared on the holding multiple dental school acceptances page.
Texas schools follow TMDSAS rules
Texas public dental schools admit through TMDSAS, which sets its own rules on offers and on holding more than one seat. If you applied through both services, the out-of-state AADSAS schools follow the ADEA windows above. The Texas side is covered in TMDSAS dental offers, waitlists and the December 15 timeline.
Questions about the December 15 dental acceptance date
What time do dental schools send acceptances on December 15?
The guideline sets a date, not a time. Kentucky is the only school we checked that names one: an email "at midnight" and a phone call during the day. The other six schools in the table give no hour.
Is no acceptance on December 15 a rejection?
No. Penn, Pitt, Florida and UNC all describe rolling offers after the first day, Penn notifies unsuccessful applicants "beginning October until completion of the admissions cycle", and UIC sends final decisions "no later than April".
How long do I have to respond to a dental school acceptance?
At least 30 days for an offer made December 15 through January 31, and at least 15 days for an offer made on or after February 1. After May 15 the school can set a shorter window. Columbia's page says "you will have 30 days to respond to our offer" without splitting by date.
Can a dental school accept me before December 15?
Not under the guideline, which says "no earlier than Dec. 15". When December 15 falls on a weekend the date moves to the Friday before, which is why Pitt's page shows December 13 for 2024. Texas schools follow TMDSAS rules.
Review the writing you send next
If you send news after December 15, get a free Quick Review of your update letter against GradPilot's medical school update letter rubric, the closest rubric for a dental update; it checks that the letter names what changed and what the change adds. If one dental school is your first choice, the letter of intent rubric reads for a specific reason to attend and a commitment stated at its true strength.
More dental guides for this stage:
- Holding multiple dental school acceptances: the March 1 report and deposits at five schools.
- Decline a dental school acceptance: four constructed emails and the AADSAS withdrawal rule.
- Dental school letter of intent: which schools say they read one, and a constructed sample.
- The medical school essays hub and the AADSAS personal statement review page if you are already planning a reapplication. To appeal a dental school scholarship inside your response window, name the gap and the competing offer.
Not applied yet? See which dental schools are still open in December.
Sources
Retrieved November 7, 2026, except where noted.
- ADEA, Guidelines for Dental Schools When Extending Offers of Admission and Scholarships (revised January 2022): earliest notification date, response periods, March 1 and March 5 reports, April 15 and May 15 rules, withdrawal for non-response.
- ADEA GoDental, Applying to Dental School: ADEA AADSAS (2026-27 important dates): December 15, 2026 notification date, Academic Update periods, February 5, 2027 close.
- ADEA GoDental, Timeline to Apply (undated): the "after December 1" wording.
- Columbia University College of Dental Medicine, Apply (no year stated): December 1 wording, 30-day response, seven-day waitlist reply.
- University of Pittsburgh School of Dental Medicine, DMD Admissions Process: the 2024 December 13 sentence, phone notification, offer-letter due date, March 30, 2027 aid deadline.
- University of Kentucky College of Dentistry, DMD Admissions (no year stated): Traffic Rules, midnight email, updates and letters of intent before the tell date, interview season.
- University of Florida College of Dentistry, Offers (no year stated): rolling offers, response days, offers through August, alternate-list position.
- Penn Dental Medicine, DMD Admissions (2026-27 cycle): rolling offers from December 15, interview and invitation months, deposit schedule.
- UNC Adams School of Dentistry, DDS Admissions (2026-27 cycle): rolling offers from December, status update by end of March.
- UIC College of Dentistry, How to Apply to the DMD Program (2026-27 cycle): no documents after submission, interviews through March 2027, decisions by April.
Chosen your next application?
Get feedback on your own SOP, personal statement or application essays. Choose your program and review option.