How Long After a Med School Interview to Hear Back
How long after a med school interview you hear back, from 42 MD and DO schools' own pages (checked Nov 7, 2026): the next day to one March release.
How Long After a Med School Interview to Hear Back
It depends on the school. Across 42 MD and DO schools whose own pages state a window, checked on November 7, 2026, it runs from the day after the interview (Ohio Heritage, DO) and within one week (Cooper) to around twelve weeks (Georgetown) or a single March release (Columbia, Yale).
Applicants compare their silence with someone else's acceptance on a forum. That comparison is useless, because the two schools may run on different clocks. A rolling school can answer in a week. A batch school answers everyone in March no matter when you interviewed. Our view: silence means nothing until you pass your own school's stated window, and the only fair comparison is with that window.
Every school page quoted here was fetched on November 7, 2026. Where a page states no cycle year, the window is what the page said that day.
The answer: rolling or batch
Schools fall into two kinds, and pages that describe their process name one or the other.
Rolling schools decide in committee meetings through the season and notify after each one. Seven pages name October 15 as the start: Pritzker ("Rolling Acceptances begin after October 15"), Iowa, Rutgers NJMS, UAB, Saint Louis, Cooper and Virginia. USF and Oakland Beaumont say mid-October; Kaiser Permanente says "beginning October 2026".
Batch schools hold most or all decisions for one release:
- Columbia: "We do not have rolling admissions. All of our applicants will receive their admissions decisions in early March."
- Yale: "The Admissions Committee will notify all applicants of their decision by March 15."
- Weill Cornell: "Most acceptances are announced in March, after all interviews have been completed."
- Duke: "Formal decision letters will be sent via email in mid-late February."
Some mix the two. Northwestern says "the first acceptances being sent in December, but most of our slots are not committed until March." Vanderbilt releases decisions "in two waves: late December and late February."
School-stated windows
The table restates each linked page. "After interview" windows count from your interview day unless the page says otherwise.
| School | Kind | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Ohio Heritage COM (DO) | Rolling | By end of day Wednesday, the day after interviews |
| Touro Nevada (DO) | Rolling | You are told on interview day when to expect a decision |
| Brown Alpert | Not stated | Candidates are given a time frame on interview day |
| Cooper (CMSRU) | Rolling | Generally within one week, after October 15 |
| Virginia | Rolling | Typically within the week of the interview, after October 15 |
| Touro University California (DO) | Committee about every other week | Within a few days of the committee meeting |
| Rush | Rolling | "every attempt" at two to three weeks |
| UT Health Science Center | Rolling | About two to three weeks |
| West Virginia SOM (DO) | Rolling | Generally two to three weeks |
| Campbell (DO) | Rolling | Two to four weeks after Applicant Day |
| Tufts | Monthly committee | Within the first two weeks of the month after review |
| Cincinnati | Rolling | Committee decides every two weeks |
| Case Western Reserve | Rolling (University Program) | Within a month after the committee meeting that follows your interview |
| WesternU Heatherington (DO) | Not stated | Posted to your status page 30 days after interview |
| UC San Diego | Not stated | Approximately 4 weeks |
| Colorado | Not stated | Approximately 4 to 6 weeks |
| New York Medical College | Rolling | 4 to 6 weeks; waitlist final decisions April to July |
| Sidney Kimmel | Not stated | Within 4 to 6 weeks; final decisions February to July |
| Orlando COM (DO) | Not stated | Within a few weeks |
| UC Davis | Not stated | Final decisions within 30 to 45 days |
| Loyola Stritch | Committee twice a month | Offers extended after six weeks |
| Rochester | Not stated | Approximately six to eight weeks |
| OHSU | Not stated | Most files reviewed 2 to 8 weeks after interview (2027-cycle FAQ) |
| UC Irvine | Not stated | Approximately 2 months |
| Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine (DO) | Not stated | Usually within two months |
| SUNY Downstate | Not stated | Status email 8 to 12 weeks after interview; another page says decisions begin mid-February 2027 |
| Georgetown | Not stated | Generally around twelve weeks |
| UNLV Kerkorian | Rolling | No post-interview rejections before April |
| Vanderbilt | Two waves | Late December and late February |
| Northwestern Feinberg | Mixed | First acceptances in December; most slots committed in March |
| Stanford | Not stated | Typically January to March |
| NYU Grossman Long Island | Not stated | Beginning in February |
| Duke | Batch | Mid-late February |
| Columbia Vagelos | Batch | Early March |
| Weill Cornell | Mostly batch | Most acceptances in March |
| Iowa Carver | Rolling, then final pool | From October 15; all decided by March 15 |
| Yale | Batch | All by March 15 |
| Utah | Not stated | Final notifications by March 15 |
| Hawaii JABSOM | Not stated | Most at the end of March |
| WashU | Not stated | April 15, 2027 is the last day to notify |
| Saint Louis | Rolling | From October 15; final decisions by April 30 |
| Indiana | Monthly | Acceptances on the 15th of each month; all decisions by June |
Two schools give two windows on two pages. Downstate's FAQ says "the Admissions Committee will email you an update on your status 8–12 weeks following your interview," while its application-review page says "We will begin to render admissions decision mid February 2027." Sidney Kimmel says interviewees "will be notified within 4 to 6 weeks of their interview date" and that the committee's "final decission" [sic] comes "between February and July". Our recommendation: for planning, use the later of the two dates.
DO schools: offers any time after the interview
AACOM's application-process page says colleges of osteopathic medicine "make admissions decisions on a rolling basis," and its traffic guidelines say "COMs may begin extending offers of admission at any time after the interview." The same page ties your deposit deadline to the date you are accepted, from December 14 for anyone accepted before November 15 down to a possible immediate deposit on or after May 1.
That is why six of the eight DO rows above give a month or less: the next day, a few days, a few weeks, 30 days. Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine, at about two months, is the longest; Touro Nevada tells you on interview day. If you have not heard from a DO school after its stated window, the decision may be a hold or alternate status rather than a delay. The DO school update letter table has each school's status names, and the AACOMAS traffic guidelines guide covers deposits.
Is no news good news?
Before your school's window ends, no news is just no news. After it ends, check the portal first. Several pages say so outright:
- Duke: "No status updates will be provided after submission- check the online portal for updates."
- Stanford: "Please do not call us for updates on the status of your application."
- Loma Linda: "Do not contact our office for application status checks."
- UCLA: "As long as you haven't received a decision, you are still in consideration as an applicant."
- UAB: "Applicants who have not received notice of a final decision are still under consideration."
So silence past the window is not a rejection at UCLA or UAB. It may be a hold. The medical school hold status page explains what each school's in-between status means.
The countercase: at a school whose page invites questions, one email past the window is reasonable. Rochester says "please email mdadmish@urmc.rochester.edu with questions." Kaiser Permanente gives MDAdmissions@KP.org for admissions questions.
Constructed status email
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant's email.
Context (invented): Pooja Shah interviewed at Westbrook School of Medicine on October 2. Westbrook's page, like Rochester's, says decisions come about six to eight weeks after the interview and invites questions by email. On December 4, nine weeks later, the portal still shows "under review."
Subject: Status question, Pooja Shah, AMCAS ID 12345678, interviewed October 2
Dear Admissions Office,
I interviewed on October 2 and my portal still shows "under review." Could you tell me whether my file is still with the committee, or whether I should expect an update on a later date?
Thank you, Pooja Shah
It asks one procedural question, gives the interview date and ID so the office can find the file, and contains no update or enthusiasm. A new fact goes in a separate, permitted update.
What to do while you wait
Only what your school takes. The table of update-letter rules at 50 MD schools shows which schools accept updates after the interview and which refuse them.
- If the school takes updates and you have a new fact, send one. The medical school update letter examples show seven situations.
- If the school refuses updates (UCLA, Colorado, Utah, USC Keck and others), send nothing.
- Mark April 30. Stanford, Penn State, OHSU, Ohio State, Cincinnati, Temple, USC Keck and UT Health Science Center all name April 30 as the date when their hold, alternate or waitlist process changes. Rochester's interview page lists "April 15, 2027: Holding 3 Acceptances (AAMC Traffic Rule)" and "April 30, 2027: Holding 1 Acceptance, Deadline to select "Plan to Enroll" through AMCAS". The Plan to Enroll vs Commit to Enroll guide covers those choices.
- Send a thank-you note only once, through the route your school names. The interview thank-you email guide has short examples.
Questions about hearing back after a medical school interview
How long after a medical school interview do you hear back?
From the next day to about twelve weeks, on the pages we read. Batch schools such as Columbia and Yale answer everyone in February or March instead.
Do medical schools send acceptances on October 15?
Some say so. Pritzker, Iowa, Rutgers NJMS, UAB, Saint Louis, Cooper and Virginia name October 15 as the start of offers on their own pages. Batch schools wait until February or March.
Is it bad if I have not heard back after eight weeks?
Not by itself. At Georgetown the stated window is about twelve weeks, and at Downstate eight to twelve. At a rolling school with a two-week window, check the portal and then ask once by email, if the page invites questions.
How long after a DO interview do you hear back?
At the DO schools that state a window, Ohio Heritage emails the day after, WVSOM in two to three weeks, Campbell in two to four, WesternU at 30 days, and Touro College of Osteopathic Medicine in New York usually within two months.
Should I send an update letter if I have not heard back?
Only if your school takes updates after the interview and you have something new. The waiting itself is not an update.
Review the writing you send next
If your school takes updates and something has changed since your interview, get a free Quick Review of your update letter against GradPilot's update-letter rubric before you send it. If you are writing to one school you would attend if admitted, the letter of intent and interest rubric reads that letter instead.
More post-interview guides:
- Intent vs interest vs update letters: which letter fits your stage.
- Medical school waitlist update letter examples: what to write in the spring.
- Medical school essays hub: every GradPilot guide for MD and DO applicants. If the wait is worse because you think it went poorly, read what to do after a medical school interview that went badly before you send anything.
Sources
Retrieved November 7, 2026, HTTP 200. Each school row links the page its window comes from.
- Columbia, MD admissions FAQs; Yale, How to Apply; Weill Cornell, admissions FAQs; Duke, admissions: batch release dates.
- Pritzker, admissions process; Kaiser Permanente, FAQs; Iowa, Rutgers NJMS (selection), UAB (application process), Saint Louis, Cooper, Virginia, USF (process), Oakland Beaumont (FAQ): rolling start dates.
- SUNY Downstate, FAQ and application review: two timelines.
- Rochester, Apply and Your Interview: window, email for questions, 2027 April dates as listed by the school.
- Duke, admissions FAQ; Stanford, FAQ; Loma Linda, MD admission requirements; UCLA, after applying: status-contact rules.
- AACOM, The Application Process (2026-2027 cycle): DO schools decide on a rolling basis.
- AACOM, AACOMAS Traffic Guidelines (no cycle year stated): DO offers and deposit windows.
- Not retrieved: AAMC's application and acceptance protocols page returned HTTP 403, so no date on this page is attributed to AAMC directly.
Chosen your next application?
Get feedback on your own SOP, personal statement or application essays. Choose your program and review option.