Low GPA for MS in CS: What 9 Programs Publish
Low GPA for an MS in CS: what 9 programs publish, from 3.0 minimums to 8/10 for Indian grades, the one work-experience route, and where to explain.
Low GPA for MS in CS: What 9 Programs Publish
A low GPA for an MS in computer science is a hard stop only where a program prints a floor. Of 9 CS-family master's programs we checked, 3 state a minimum (3.0 at all three), 3 state a softer "recommended" or "desirable" number (3.0 to 3.3), and 3 publish only a typical or average figure (3.5 to 3.9).
It is tempting to treat "low GPA" as one problem with one fix: work experience, a high GRE, a good story. The program pages do not work that way. A floor, a recommendation and a typical admit are three different numbers, and some of them measure only your last two years. Work experience moves almost none of them. So find out which number each program reads, then put your explanation in the box that program gives you, not in the first paragraph of your statement.
Every program page quoted below was checked on October 29, 2026; recheck before you pay a fee. This page covers CS, AI, data science and cybersecurity master's programs. For routes below 3.0 that apply across all fields (conditional admission, non-degree credits, dean-approved exceptions), see grad school with a 2.5 or 2.8 GPA.
On this page:
- The GPA numbers CS programs publish
- Does work experience offset a low GPA?
- Where to explain a low GPA
- Indian 10-point and percentage grades
- Check each program before you apply
The GPA numbers CS programs publish
| Program | Published number | What kind of number | Which grades it measures |
|---|---|---|---|
| UIUC Siebel School MS in Computer Science | 3.0/4.0 | Campus minimum | "the last two years of their undergraduate study" |
| Northeastern Khoury (MS AI, CS, Cybersecurity, Data Science) | 3.0/4.0, 8.0/10.0, 80/100 | Minimum | Not stated |
| Georgia Tech OMS Cybersecurity (online) | 3.0/4.0 | Minimum | Not stated (policy track: "prior undergraduate or graduate programs") |
| UIUC Professional MCS | 3.2/4.0 (campus 3.0 rule also applies) | Recommended | Undergraduate GPA |
| Georgia Tech MS Cybersecurity, Information Security track (on campus) | 3.3/4.0 | "Desirable minimum" | Not stated |
| CMU Information Networking Institute (MSIS and others) | 3.0/4.0 | "Minimum Recommended" | Not stated |
| Columbia MS in Computer Science | 3.5 | Typical admit; "no minimum GPA requirement" | Not stated |
| Stanford MS in Computer Science | 3.7/4.0 | Typical applicant | Cumulative, unconverted for international scales |
| CMU MS in Machine Learning | 3.9/4.0 or 9.5/10.0 | Average of fall 2025 admits | "Undergraduate Overall GPA" |
What each page says, quoted where the wording matters:
- UIUC: "The University of Illinois Urbana-Champaign policy requires applicants to hold at least a 3.0/4.0 or higher GPA in the last two years of their undergraduate study to be eligible for graduate studies on this campus." (Siebel School requirements)
- UIUC MCS: "The recommended undergraduate GPA for applicants applying to the Professional Master's program is 3.2/4.0 or higher." (MCS application information)
- Northeastern: under "GPA minimums": "3.0 on a 4.0 scale", "8.0 on a 10.0 scale", "80 on a 100 scale". (Khoury master's admissions)
- Georgia Tech, on campus: "The desirable minimum GPA is 3.3/4.0, though most admitted candidates score higher." (Information Security track)
- Georgia Tech, online: "A minimum GPA of 3.0 (on a 4.0 scale)." (OMS Cybersecurity)
- CMU INI: under "Minimum Recommended Qualifications", a GPA of 3.0 on a 4-point scale. (INI how to apply)
- Columbia: "While there is no minimum GPA requirement to apply for admission consideration, the program is highly selective. Successful applicants typically have a GPA of 3.5 or higher." (CS MS application FAQ)
- Stanford: "Typically, GPAs are at least 3.7 (on a 4.0 scale) for MS applicants." (CS master's FAQ)
- CMU MSML: an average "Undergraduate Overall GPA: 3.9/4.0 or 9.5/10.0" for fall 2025 admits (MS in Machine Learning). Our CMU MS CS acceptance rate page sets this beside CMU's other GPA lines, including a 3.0 requirement printed on the MSAII apply page.
Floor, recommendation or typical admit: what each one means for you
A stated minimum can end an application before anyone reads it. UIUC makes its 3.0 a condition "to be eligible for graduate studies on this campus." Below a minimum, the question is not how to explain it but whether the program publishes a way around it (next section).
A recommended or desirable number is the program's stated expectation. Georgia Tech adds that "most admitted candidates score higher" than its 3.3. Below it, the rest of your file has to make the case.
A typical admit is a description, not a rule. A 3.2 is below Columbia's typical 3.5, but Columbia states there is "no minimum GPA requirement to apply."
The window changes the answer. UIUC counts only your last two years, so a weak start and a strong finish may clear its floor when your cumulative GPA does not. Stanford asks for the cumulative figure. Five of the nine pages do not say, so ask before you assume the friendlier window.
Does work experience offset a low GPA for MS in CS?
On these pages, work experience is mostly offered in place of coursework, not in place of grades.
- UIUC MCS: letters "will be considered if included, especially if used to justify experience in lieu of required coursework or other irregularities."
- Northeastern: for the MS in Computer Science, "Programming/coding classes or equivalent programming experience."
- Georgia Tech OMS Cybersecurity, Information Security track: applicants "with other degrees and relevant work experience in software development/architecture, cryptography, secure computer systems, and/or network security are also encouraged to apply." The same footnote warns that familiarity alone, such as configuring a network firewall, may not be enough; our cybersecurity SOP guide applies that firewall test to work examples.
Only one page we checked names work experience as a way past a GPA rule. UIUC's Graduate College minimum requirements say that a student who does not meet one or more of the admission requirements:
"may qualify for full status admission with support from the academic program and approval from the Graduate College if they have completed 10+ years of professional work experience in the field corresponding to the proposed academic major."
The same page lists three other routes for students below its requirements: "limited status admission with support from the academic program and approval from the Graduate College", a completed master's or doctorate with "a cumulative graduate GPA of 3.0", or "completion of a minimum of 12 credit hours as a non-degree or graduate certificate student" at Illinois. Each route is worded "may qualify", and two of them need the program's support. The 2.5–2.8 GPA routes guide compares mechanisms like these across fields.
Our view: two years of backend work will not move a 3.0 floor at any program on this list. It is strong evidence for the question programs do ask, which is whether you can do the coursework. So aim your work experience at the prerequisite list, and treat the GPA as a separate fact you explain once, briefly, in the right place.
The countercase: some online programs for working professionals ask for this context directly. Penn Engineering Online tells applicants to "Address potential weaknesses in your application. Are there gaps or inconsistent grades in your academic history, particularly in quantitative ability? Use the personal statement to provide context—and to give examples of how you will do better." (Penn Engineering Online, page dated October 12, 2026.) There, recent work and recent coursework can carry much of the argument.
Where to explain a low GPA in a CS application
Use the box the program gives you. Put the explanation in the first paragraph of your statement only if there is no other place for it.
| Program | Where the explanation goes | What the page says |
|---|---|---|
| Columbia MS CS | Personal Statement, recommended 250–1,000 words | One suggested topic is any special circumstances the Admission Committee should know about |
| Stanford MS CS | The "additional information" section under the statement of purpose | "briefly highlight the grading system used by your institution and your relative placement in that grading scheme" |
| Northeastern Khoury | Statement of purpose, about 1,000 words | "The statement is a good place for applicants to contextualize their educational experience." |
| UIUC Siebel | Academic Statement of Purpose (one to two pages) or the separate Personal Statement ("within 250 words") | The page does not say which one should carry a grade explanation |
| Penn Engineering Online | Personal statement, 1,000–1,500 words | "Use the personal statement to provide context—and to give examples of how you will do better." |
Two rules hold across all five:
- Keep it short and factual. Say what happened, when, and what your later record shows. Every sentence of hardship is a sentence not spent on technical evidence. For wording, see how to explain a low GPA in your SOP. When a program gives you a separate rationale box, our GPA addendum guide for grad school covers what to write in it.
- Do not repeat it. One explanation per application. If it sits in Stanford's additional-information section, leave it out of the statement.
Indian 10-point and percentage grades
Two programs on this list print a 10-point equivalent, and both are 8 out of 10:
- Northeastern: "8.0 on a 10.0 scale" and "80 on a 100 scale", listed with the 3.0/4.0 minimum.
- UIUC: the Graduate College's India requirements page lists "B Average", "55%", "8/10" and "2nd Class Upper" under "Minimum GPA Requirements". The page says these are "based on what we most often see from institutions within this country". It does not say whether the 8/10 applies to the last two years, as UIUC's general rule does.
Stanford tells international applicants not to convert at all: "If your institution does not follow a GPA system, please enter the required GPA in the 'unconverted GPA' field on the application." It also tells you not to normalize your GPA against the top score in your class or batch. Columbia sends conversion questions to SEAS Graduate Student Affairs.
So do not report a converter's output. Enter what the application asks for, on your transcript's scale.
Constructed example: a 7.1/10 CGPA explained in two boxes
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement.
Context (invented): Ananya Rao, B.Tech in computer science, CGPA 7.1/10 overall (5.9/10 in semesters 1–4, 8.3/10 in semesters 5–8, equal credit loads), two years as a backend developer. She is applying to Columbia (no minimum) and Stanford (no published minimum). Northeastern's 8.0/10 minimum blocks her, so she leaves it off her list.
Weak version, opening her statement of purpose:
Although my CGPA of 7.1 may not reflect my true potential, I faced many personal and academic challenges in my early semesters, and I have always been passionate about computer science and worked hard to overcome every obstacle.
Revised version for Columbia, as a short paragraph near the end of the Personal Statement, under the "special circumstances" topic (47 words):
In my first four semesters I worked 25 hours a week to cover fees, and my grades show it: a 5.9/10 average. When a scholarship replaced that job, my average rose to 8.3/10 across semesters 5–8, including 9/10 in Operating Systems and Algorithms. My CGPA is 7.1/10.
Revised version for Stanford's "additional information" section, which asks for grading system and placement (30 words):
My university grades on a 10-point scale with no plus or minus grades. My CGPA is 7.1/10. Across semesters 5–8 it is 8.3/10, which placed me 41st of 120 students.
Why the revisions work: both keep her own scale, as Stanford asks. The Columbia paragraph names a cause and an end date and points to the two courses closest to the degree. The Stanford box answers only what Stanford asks. Both move the grades out of the statement's opening, which can now lead with her systems work. The window matters too: her last-two-years average is 8.3, but UIUC's India page does not say which window its 8/10 uses, so she would ask before counting on it.
Check each program before you apply
Run this for every CS program on your list. Each step has a pass condition.
If you are considering a PhD rather than an MS, the official CS PhD acceptance rates at Stanford and MIT are near 4%.
- Number and type. Pass: you have copied the GPA sentence and know if it is a minimum, a recommendation or a typical admit.
- Window. Pass: you know if it measures all years, the last two, or the major. If the page does not say, email the program and keep the reply.
- Scale. Pass: the page gives a figure for your grading system (Northeastern's 8.0/10, UIUC's 8/10) or says to enter grades unconverted (Stanford). If neither, ask.
- Route. If you are below a minimum, pass: the page names a route, such as UIUC's limited status or 12 Illinois credit hours. If none is named, drop the program or ask before paying.
- Slot. Pass: you have named the box for the explanation, and it appears there once.
- Work evidence. Pass: each job or project in your statement answers a named prerequisite or course, not the GPA.
Questions about a low GPA for MS in CS
What is the minimum GPA for an MS in CS in the USA?
There is no national number. On the 9 pages above, every stated minimum is 3.0 (UIUC on the last two years, Northeastern, Georgia Tech's online cybersecurity degree). Columbia states it has no minimum.
Is a 7/10 CGPA enough for an MS in CS in the USA?
It is below the 8/10 that Northeastern prints as a minimum and that UIUC's India page lists. Columbia states no minimum, and Stanford's FAQ gives only a typical figure, so no published floor blocks it there.
Can work experience replace a low GPA for MS in CS?
Rarely, on these pages. It can stand in for coursework or a CS degree at UIUC MCS, Northeastern and Georgia Tech's online program. Only UIUC's Graduate College names it as a way past a GPA rule, and that route needs "10+ years of professional work experience in the field" plus program support. If your work started after a gap, see how to explain a gap year in your SOP for an MS.
If you are reapplying after a cycle of rejections, add new evidence before rewriting.
If your low CGPA includes re-exams, read how to mention backlogs in your SOP for an MS.
A spring start can look easier to get into; first read how spring intake affects CPT for F-1 students.
Get a free review of your MS in CS statement of purpose
Get a free Quick Review of your MS in CS statement of purpose against GradPilot's MS SOP rubric for computer science, AI and data. It reads for clear technical preparation, the work you have done, and readiness claims that match your evidence, which is where a low-GPA statement has to be strongest. Applying to an online or professional program from work? The professional pathways SOP rubric reads how your experience connects to your goals. For any other master's statement, use the general MS SOP rubric or start at our graduate SOP review page.
More guides for CS and graduate applicants:
- Grad school with a 2.5 or 2.8 GPA: exception routes across all fields
- Can a master's GPA offset a low BA GPA?: when a completed master's counts as an alternative
- Graduate additional information: what fits: what belongs in that box
- How to write an SOP for an MS in CS: the rest of the statement
- CMU MS CS acceptance rate: CMU's own selectivity data for 17 master's programs
- Graduate school essays hub: all master's and PhD guides
Sources
Retrieved October 29, 2026.
- Siebel School of Computing and Data Science, University of Illinois, Applications Process & Requirements (no cycle stated): 3.0 last-two-years policy; Academic Statement of Purpose and 250-word Personal Statement.
- Siebel School, Professional MCS application information (no cycle stated): recommended 3.2 GPA; letters to justify experience.
- University of Illinois Graduate College, Graduate Admissions Minimum Requirements (no cycle stated): 3.0 last-two-years minimum and the four routes for applicants who do not meet it.
- University of Illinois Graduate College, Minimum Requirements by Country: India (no cycle stated): "B Average", "55%", "8/10", "2nd Class Upper".
- Northeastern University Khoury College, Master's admissions (no cycle stated): GPA minimums; statement of purpose guidance; programming-experience equivalents.
- Georgia Tech School of Cybersecurity and Privacy, MS Cybersecurity, Information Security track (no cycle stated): 3.3 desirable minimum.
- Georgia Tech Professional Education, Online MS in Cybersecurity (no cycle stated): 3.0 minimums by track; work-experience footnote.
- Carnegie Mellon Information Networking Institute, How to Apply (Fall 2027 entry): minimum recommended 3.0 GPA.
- Columbia Engineering Computer Science, MS application FAQ (no cycle stated): no minimum GPA; typical 3.5; personal statement length and topics.
- Stanford Computer Science, Master's admissions FAQ (no cycle stated): typical 3.7; unconverted GPA; "additional information" section.
- Carnegie Mellon Machine Learning Department, Master of Science in Machine Learning (fall 2025 admits): average admitted GPA.
- Penn Engineering Online, Writing a Strong Personal Statement (dated October 12, 2026): addressing weaknesses in the personal statement.
Get feedback on your statement of purpose
Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against an admissions rubric before you submit.