Skip to main content

LSAC Fee Waiver 2026-27 - Eligibility and School Waivers

LSAC's fee-waiver tiers and rules, quoted, plus 23 law schools' own waiver routes: automatic, by request, or by invitation. Checked Sept 24, 2026.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechSeptember 24, 202612 min read
Free Personal Statement ReviewLaw school-specific feedback

LSAC Fee Waiver 2026-27 - Eligibility and School Waivers

An LSAC fee waiver covers one or two LSATs, a five-year CAS subscription, and three or six law school reports, depending on your tier. Eligibility is set against federal poverty guidelines. Application fees are a separate matter: each law school decides whether it waives its own fee, and many don't do it automatically.

Below is LSAC's program in its own words, what it's worth at 2026-27 prices, and 23 law schools' waiver routes as each published them on September 24, 2026. Fees, deadlines and early-decision contracts for thirty programs are on the 2026-27 deadlines and fees page. This page covers the waiver itself.

Who qualifies: LSAC's rules, quoted

LSAC describes the program as "designed for prospective U.S. and Canadian law students who are financially under-resourced." There are two tiers:

Tax-filing statusTier 1Tier 2
Independent"Up to 235% of the federal poverty guidelines""235 to 260% of the federal poverty guidelines"
Dependent, applicant's income"Up to 150% of the federal poverty guidelines""Up to 200% of the federal poverty guidelines"
Dependent, applicant's + parents' income"Up to 200% of the federal poverty guidelines""200 to 300% of the federal poverty guidelines"

Source: LSAC, Apply for an LSAC Fee Waiver, retrieved September 24, 2026.

The sentences that matter under the table:

  • "The income levels outlined above do not guarantee approval. The Fee Waiver criteria also include maximum asset and cash balance levels, as well as other factors LSAC may consider in its sole discretion."
  • Citizenship. For a U.S. waiver you must be, among the listed categories, a U.S. citizen or national, a permanent resident, have temporary protected status, have been granted or have applied for DACA, or be seeking asylum with a filed Form I-589. Canadian waivers cover citizens, permanent residents and protected persons.
  • "If you are deemed to be a dependent, you will be required to provide both your own and your parents' tax documentation." LSAC adds that its "determination of your dependency status may not be the same as the determination made by other organizations."
  • "Applicants who have had an LSAC finding of misconduct or irregularity are not eligible for an LSAC Fee Waiver."

What it covers, and what it's worth

TierWhat LSAC gives (verbatim)Value at 2026-27 LSAC prices
Tier 1"One-year subscription to LawHub Advantage AND 6 law school reports" · "Two LSATs (including LSAT Argumentative Writing and LSAT Score Preview)" · "Five-year Credential Assembly Service (CAS) subscription"2 × $253 LSAT + $219 CAS + 6 × $45 reports + 2 × $46 Score Preview = $1,087, plus LawHub Advantage
Tier 2"One-year subscription to LawHub Advantage AND 3 law school reports" · "One LSAT (including LSAT Argumentative Writing and LSAT Score Preview)" · "Five-year Credential Assembly Service (CAS) subscription"$253 + $219 + 3 × $45 + $46 = $653, plus LawHub Advantage

Prices come from LSAC's LSAT and CAS fee schedule for the August 2026 to June 2027 testing year: LSAT $253, CAS $219, each law school report $45, and Score Preview $46 if you sign up before testing. The arithmetic is ours, and we left LawHub Advantage out of the dollar figures. One school's apply page still gives a $215 CAS fee. LSAC's own schedule says $219.

The benefits come in stages. "Starting September 3, 2024, Fee Waiver recipients will need to complete the tasks described below to redeem their full benefit package." The LSAT becomes available "as soon as you've completed 2 unique LSAT PrepTests in LawHub using 'Exam Mode,'" and CAS "as soon as you've completed the 'How Do I Apply to Law School?' course in LawHub." LawHub Advantage and the reports arrive at Final Approval.

The clock:

  • Documents are due "no later than 45 days after submitting your application online, or your Fee Waiver application will be canceled."
  • "Decisions are usually made within two to five business days of LSAC receiving all the required supporting documentation."
  • "Your Fee Waiver will be valid for two years from the date of LSAC's 'Conditional Approval' of the waiver."
  • LSAC recommends applying "at least six months prior to the registration deadline" for your LSAT.
  • A denial can be appealed once: "appeal decisions are final." After that, you can reapply "during the next Fee Waiver season (July through June)."
  • "fees previously paid cannot be waived retroactively, and no refunds will be issued."

The part people get wrong: school application fees

LSAC's FAQ is explicit: "Some law schools waive their application fee for applicants who have received a Fee Waiver under LSAC's Fee Waiver program." For those schools, "If your Fee Waiver application has received 'Final Approval,' your law school application fee will be waived automatically."

Two corrections to what applicants often assume:

  1. Conditional Approval isn't enough. Until Final Approval, LSAC gives you three options: wait, pay the fee and ask the school for a refund (which is "within the law school's sole discretion"), or mail a paper application. The simplest is to finish your documents before you submit anywhere.
  2. "Automatic" is only true at some schools. In the table below, several schools want you to forward the LSAC approval or fill out their own form even if you hold an LSAC waiver. One school publishes no waiver route at all.

23 schools: automatic, by request, or by invitation

Automatic means the school says an LSAC waiver waives its fee without further action. Request means you ask the school through a form or email. Invitation means the school finds you through LSAC's Candidate Referral Service (CRS) or its own search. LSAC describes CRS as a way "to be discovered by law schools," and "Registration is free."

School (source)FeeIf you hold an LSAC waiverThe school's own waiverInvitation (CRS/merit)Limits the school states
Yale$85AutomaticRequest: need-based online form, "parental information is not requested"Not publishedRequest "before submitting"; no refunds "under any circumstances"
Stanford$85Request: send LSAC documentation with the SLS formRequest: SLS form plus a financial aid award noticeNot publishedDon't pay by card if you're requesting a waiver
Harvard$90Automatic: "HLS will waive its application fee for LSAC fee waiver recipients"Request: HLS need-based formNot publishedForm open September 1 to February 1
Chicago$90Automatic: "you do not need to fill out the form"Request: TFA, military, Peace Corps, AmeriCorps, Truman/Rhodes/Marshall, UChicago undergrads, financial needNot publishedSeptember 1 to March 1; "processed on Thursday mornings"
Columbia$85Automatic once LSAC approvesOnly current Columbia undergraduates, by emailNot published"Columbia itself does not process requests for fee waivers" otherwise
Penn$85Automatic: "No fee waiver coupon code is needed"Automatic for AmeriCorps, Peace Corps, TFA, U.S. military; need-based formNot publishedForm due by February 15
NYU$85AutomaticRequest by email: TFA and Peace Corps alumni, Truman Scholars, NYU students and alumni, U.S. militaryNot publishedInclude L number and verification
Michigan$75Request: LSAC holders qualify under "serious financial hardship" through the formRequest: military, City Year/AmeriCorps/TFA, financial hardshipCRS: "the waiver will appear automatically"Needs active CRS, LSAT, GPA
Duke$85Request by email with documentationRequest: need-based formCRS "periodic searches""offered one-time-only"; by 3:00 p.m. ET February 15, 2027
Berkeley$75AutomaticRequest: online form, "by the published deadline in January"CRSWaives the $75 fee only, not LSAC fees
Northwestern$75Not stated separatelyRequest: J.D. fee-waiver form, waiver "emailed... within one week"Not publishedForm closes March 1, 2027
Cornell$0Not needed"waiving our traditional $80 application fee for all applicants this year"Not needed"no need to request a code"
Georgetown$90Not statedRequest: merit (with a valid LSAT or GRE), need, or service (TFA, Peace Corps, JVC, military, Truman, Partners for Justice; no waivers "for Americorps service")Not publishedBefore submitting; not if you used one "in the previous admissions cycle"
UCLA$75Request: "forward us the approval email"Waivers for attending recruiting eventsCRS meritBefore applying; no refunds
Texas$70No waiver route on the apply pageNot publishedNot published—
Vanderbilt$85AutomaticRequest: need (letter plus documents), service, merit by emailCRS"All fee waivers... will expire on December 31, 2026"
WashU$0Not needed"$0 application fee for all"Not needed—
USC$80Request by emailRequest: hardship, Pathways/ASCEND, TFA, Peace Corps, military, USCNot publishedNo requests after February 1, 2027
Notre Dame$75Request: granted "to any applicant who has received a need-based fee waiver from LSAC"Request: need; service (military, ACE, AmeriCorps, JVC, Peace Corps, TFA)CRS merit"All fee waivers expire on March 1"
Emory$85Request: email a copyNeed-based "only if LSAC grants the applicant a fee waiver"Not published—
BU$85Request: form, upload LSAC confirmationRequest: need-based form (students and non-students)Not publishedSeptember 1, 2026 to April 1, 2027; reply "within 5 business days"
Florida$0Not needed"there is no fee to apply to UF Law"Not needed—
Minnesota$75Request: email a copyHardship only through an LSAC waiverMerit: "we will reach out to you individually""We do not waive the CAS report fee"

Where a school publishes a fee but no LSAC-waiver rule on the pages we read, the cell says "Not stated." Virginia's site refused automated requests on September 24, 2026 and isn't included.

What the table shows

  • Eight of the 23 waive automatically for LSAC holders: Yale, Harvard, Chicago, Columbia, Penn, NYU, Berkeley and Vanderbilt. Most of the others still want a form or an email from you.
  • Three charge nothing at all this cycle: Cornell, WashU and Florida.
  • Invitations reward keeping CRS on. Michigan, Duke, Berkeley, UCLA, Vanderbilt and Notre Dame publish CRS-based waivers, and Minnesota says it contacts merit recipients directly. These cost you nothing to be eligible for, but you have to be registered with an LSAT score on file.
  • Waiver deadlines can come before application deadlines. Vanderbilt's waivers expire December 31, 2026. USC stops taking requests February 1, 2027. Duke's close February 15, and Harvard's form closes February 1.

Run this this week

  1. Check your tier against LSAC's table using the right tax-filing status. If you're near a line, read the asset language before you apply.
  2. Apply to LSAC before you register for the LSAT, and upload every document within 45 days. Then do the two Exam Mode PrepTests and the LawHub course, which is what releases the LSAT and CAS benefits.
  3. Turn on CRS with your intended enrollment year, so the invitation-based waivers can find you.
  4. Go down your school list using the table above: mark each school automatic, request or invitation, and put every waiver deadline on your calendar ahead of the application deadline.
  5. Don't pay any application fee until the waiver question is settled. Yale, Chicago and BU all say fees already paid won't be refunded.

With the money sorted, what's left to do is the writing. The essay prompt crosswalk lists what each school asks for, and T14 application requirements lists every other component. GradPilot's law school personal statement review reads your draft against the law personal statement rubric, and the free daily review costs nothing either. It gives qualitative feedback on the draft. It doesn't predict admission. For how LSAC computes the GPA that schools see alongside your statement, see LSAC GPA calculation rules. For the numbers at the schools most people ask about, see T14 law schools: medians and admit rates.

FAQ

Who qualifies for an LSAC fee waiver?

U.S. and Canadian applicants within LSAC's income bands. Independent applicants qualify for Tier 1 at up to 235% of the federal poverty guidelines and Tier 2 at 235 to 260%. For dependent applicants, the bands depend on the applicant's own income and on combined household income. Asset and cash limits also apply.

Does an LSAC fee waiver cover law school application fees?

Only at schools that choose to honor it. LSAC says "Some law schools waive their application fee." In our table, Yale, Harvard, Chicago, Columbia, Penn, NYU, Berkeley and Vanderbilt do this automatically. Most of the rest want a form or an email.

How long does an LSAC fee waiver last?

Two years from LSAC's Conditional Approval. The LawHub Advantage subscription lasts one year from Final Approval.

How long does LSAC take to decide?

"Decisions are usually made within two to five business days" after all your documents are in. Documents are due within 45 days of your online application.

Can I get a refund if I paid before my waiver came through?

LSAC won't waive fees retroactively. A school application fee you already paid is refunded only at the school's discretion, and several schools say they don't refund.

Sources

All retrieved September 24, 2026.

Review Your Law School Personal Statement

Get feedback on your own draft — personal statement, perspective statement, or addendum.

Rubrics for This Topic

All Law rubrics

Related Articles

Your Law School Statement Deserves a Second Look

Rubric-based feedback on your own writing before you submit

No credit card required
LSAC Fee Waiver 2026-27 - Eligibility and School Waivers - GradPilot