McGill Statement of Purpose Length by Department
McGill graduate statement of purpose length by department, checked Oct 31, 2026: one page to 1,000 words, with each program's supervisor rule.
McGill Statement of Purpose Length by Department
McGill sets no graduate statement length. Each department sets its own. Across the seven departments we checked, the published limit runs from "roughly one page" (Economics) and 500 words (Physiology, Religious Studies) to 1,000 double-spaced words (Sociology) and two pages (Anthropology, single-spaced; Chemistry, spacing not stated). The often-quoted 750 words is McGill Law's BCL/JD limit, not a graduate one.
McGill's central graduate page says so in one line: "Visit your program page for detailed information on additional supporting documents (e.g., statement of purpose/personal statement, writing sample, application for assistantship, C.V.)." So the honest answer to "how long is a McGill statement of purpose" is a table, and the departments do not even agree on the document's name.
Every McGill page quoted below was checked on October 31, 2026. Most department pages state no cycle year; we flag the ones that do. Recheck your department before you submit.
Contents
- McGill departments: document, length, spacing and supervisor rule
- Where the "750 words" answer comes from
- Words, pages and spacing
- Thesis vs non-thesis and research proposals
- Generative AI and English or French
- Constructed example: a one-page McGill CS MSc thesis statement
McGill departments: document, length, spacing and supervisor rule
| Department | What it calls the document | Published length | Spacing | Supervisor rule |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| Computer Science | Personal statement | "It should not exceed one page." | Not stated | PhD: list at least 3; MSc thesis: not required |
| Anthropology | Personal Statement/Research Statement | "1 to 2 pages, single spaced (approx. 500-1000 words)" | Single | Not admitted without a willing supervisor |
| Sociology | Personal statement | "maximum 1,000 words, double-spaced" | Double | Contact strongly encouraged |
| Economics | Personal statement/statement of purpose | "roughly one page long" | Not stated | MA thesis: list two; PhD: assigned |
| Chemistry | Statement of Purpose / Personal Statement | "a statement of 1–2 pages" | Not stated | Not committed before arriving |
| Religious Studies | Statement of intent | "approximately 500 words" | Not stated | Name potential supervisors "If possible" |
| Physiology | Personal Essay/Statement | "500 typed words (1 page single spaced)" | Single | Acceptance contingent on a supervisor |
Seven departments, five names for the document, and three units of measure (pages, words, and words with a spacing rule). The supervisor column is summarized here; the full rules, with quotes, are in do you need a supervisor to apply in Canada.
Deadlines vary just as much. Sociology says: "The deadline to apply for Fall 2027 is January 7, 2027." Anthropology says "The application due date for the Department of Anthropology is December 1" and Religious Studies lists "Fall: January 15", both with no year. Physiology and Chemistry give January 15 for international applicants, with no year.
Where the "750 words" answer comes from
If you have been told that a McGill statement is 750 words, check which McGill page said it. The only 750-word statement rule we found on McGill's site is the Faculty of Law's, for the BCL/JD, its first law degree: "Personal statement (750 word maximum; 1200 word maximum for applicants in the optional Indigenous category)". The same page says: "Applicants must submit an essay of a maximum of 750 words, referred to as the Personal Statement." It sits in the BCL/JD admissions guide, not in any graduate department page we checked.
Our view: treat any McGill length that comes without a department link as unverified. Not one of the seven graduate departments above uses 750 words, and the central graduate page sends you to the department. A number with no department behind it is not a McGill rule.
Words, pages and spacing: three ways McGill departments count
McGill departments measure in three ways, and two of them give their own conversion:
- Single-spaced pages. Anthropology: "1 to 2 pages, single spaced (approx. 500-1000 words)".
- Typed words on a page. Physiology: "500 typed words (1 page single spaced)".
- A word cap with a spacing rule. Sociology: "maximum 1,000 words, double-spaced".
Our arithmetic: Anthropology and Physiology both put about 500 words on one single-spaced page. On that ratio, Sociology's 1,000 words is about two single-spaced pages, or about four double-spaced ones. So Sociology's limit is roughly twice Economics' "roughly one page" and Computer Science's one page, which changes how much room you have for a research plan.
When a department gives only pages (Computer Science, Economics, Chemistry), the page is the limit, and font tricks to fit more in are a poor trade. Our recommendation: use the department's own ratio as a guide, about 500 words on a single-spaced page in a standard 11 or 12 point font, and cut rather than shrink.
Thesis vs non-thesis: Computer Science shows the split
McGill CS gives the same one-page limit to both master's tracks, with different contents.
- MSc thesis and PhD: "The personal statement should describe your research interests, experience, and achievements, and mention which professors you are interested in working with. You can optionally briefly describe proposed research directions as well as any special circumstances."
- MSc non-thesis: "The personal statement should state why you are interested in this particular program and how it aligns with your career goals. It should also describe projects you have worked on in the past and any other achievements, and inform about your teamwork and leadership skills." CS adds: "The statement also helps us assess your writing skills."
One page, two different documents. A thesis-track statement that spends half its page on teamwork, or a non-thesis statement that names three professors, answers the other track's question.
When the statement must carry a research proposal
Two departments ask for a proposal inside the statement, not beside it.
- Religious Studies wants "a statement of intent of approximately 500 words, which must include a well-articulated Ph.D. or M.A. thesis research proposal." For the PhD, "this proposal should be as specific as possible."
- Anthropology puts the project first: "describing 1) your proposed research project for your thesis or dissertation, in as much detail as possible; 2) which faculty member(s) you would like to work with, explaining your fit within the department; 3) your significant qualifications, qualities or circumstances as an applicant".
At 500 words, a Religious Studies statement with a real proposal leaves little room for biography. Spend most of the words on the question, the sources or method, and why the School fits, which is what the page asks. How Canadian master's programs set proposal length and contents more widely is covered in research proposals for a master's in Canada.
Generative AI and McGill statements
Of the seven departments, Sociology is the one that publishes a rule on generative AI in its admission instructions. It reads in full:
"The admissions committee is interested in reading your own voice, and we strongly discourage the use of Generative AI in preparing your materials. When evaluating personal statements and writing samples, we apply the code of conduct and academic honesty, we also expect our current graduate students to follow. All writing submitted under your name is presumed to be your original work. All words and ideas written by others must be attributed appropriately—fully identified as to the source and the extent of your use of their work."
The other six pages we checked state no AI rule. Where a department publishes none, the certification inside the application is what you sign, so read it there. McGill's university-level material is collected on the McGill AI policy page, and Canada grad school AI rules compares McGill with UBC, Toronto and Alberta.
English or French
McGill Physiology's page calls McGill "an English-language institution", but several departments accept work in either language. Anthropology asks for a writing sample "written in English or French", and Sociology for "ONE research paper or publication in English or French". Neither page states a language for the statement itself, and we found no McGill-wide rule on the statement's language, so check with your department if you plan to write it in French.
Across town, Concordia's MFA in Studio Arts asks for a "600-word statement of purpose (letter of intent) in English or French", which shows how differently two Montréal universities write the same instruction. For applying to French-language programs in Quebec, see the lettre de motivation for a Quebec master's.
Constructed example: a one-page McGill CS MSc thesis statement
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement. Context (invented): a computer science graduate applying from abroad to the McGill CS MSc (thesis). Professors are described by area, not named, and the numbers are the invented applicant's.
I want to make learned motion planners safe to run on small mobile robots, where the planner must decide in milliseconds and a wrong decision means a collision. In an MSc thesis, I want to test whether a cheap runtime check, run alongside a learned planner, can catch unsafe plans without slowing the robot down.
The question comes from my final-year project at [University], where I trained a planner in simulation for a warehouse robot. It reached its goal in 94% of simulated runs, but on a real robot with a noisier lidar it clipped shelves in 6 of 40 trials. I wrote a geometric check that rejected any plan passing within 10 cm of a mapped obstacle. It removed the collisions in our tests but made the robot stop too often in narrow aisles. That trade-off is what I want to study properly.
I wrote the evaluation code and the safety check myself; a teammate built the simulator. I took courses in probability, linear algebra, algorithms and machine learning, and taught myself ROS for the project. For a year I was a teaching assistant for our introductory programming course, which taught me to explain technical work plainly.
At McGill I would like to work with faculty in robotics and machine learning. Professor [A]'s work on verifying neural network controllers is the closest match to my question, and Professor [B]'s group studies robot navigation in crowded spaces, where my check would face its hardest test. I have read Professor [A]'s [year] paper on runtime monitors and want to compare its approach with the check I built. I have not yet contacted either professor.
One special circumstance: my transcript shows a weak second-year term, when I worked part-time to support my family. My grades in the final two years, in the courses closest to this work, are a better guide to what I can do.
After the MSc, I plan to work on safety testing for autonomous systems, in industry or in a PhD.
The statement is 333 words (our count), which fits on one page by McGill's own ratio of about 500 words per single-spaced page. It follows CS's list in order:
- Research interests: the first paragraph states the question in two sentences.
- Experience and achievements: the second and third paragraphs give one project, with the writer's own role separated from the team's.
- Professors: the fourth paragraph names two by their work and says plainly that no contact has happened. For the MSc thesis track, CS says a supervisor "is not required for the application", so the honest line costs nothing.
- Special circumstances: one paragraph, two sentences, no apology. CS lists these as optional.
- What it leaves out: a childhood story, praise of McGill's ranking, and a list of every course taken.
Questions about McGill statements of purpose
Is there one McGill-wide word limit?
No. The central graduate page sends you to "your program page" for the statement, and the seven departments above all differ.
Is the McGill personal statement the same as the statement of purpose?
At McGill, mostly yes; the names change by department, as the table shows. Economics calls it "personal statement/statement of purpose" in one phrase. Write to the department's instructions, whatever the label.
Do McGill reference letters have rules too?
Yes. McGill's central page says letters "must be dated and not be more than 12 months old", and Physiology adds that letters "must be on official university letterhead and signed."
Single or double spaced?
Only where the department says: Anthropology and Physiology say single, Sociology says double. Where nothing is stated, our recommendation is single-spaced within the page limit. To see how a one-page PhD statement can be cut from a longer draft, use the PhD statement of intent sample.
Get a free review of your statement of purpose
Get a free Quick Review of your statement of purpose against GradPilot's general MS statement of purpose rubric. It reads whether your statement explains your academic interests, preparation, goals and reasons for applying to that program, and whether your experiences support your plans. For a thesis or PhD statement where naming faculty is part of the brief, use the adviser-fit rubric.
More Canadian university guides:
- UofT statement of intent limits by department: ECE, CS, MIE and MScAC side by side.
- Canadian statement of intent naming and length guide: UBC, Waterloo and others.
- Graduate school essays hub: every master's and PhD guide by destination.
Sources
Retrieved October 31, 2026, except where noted.
- McGill Graduate and Postdoctoral Studies, Supporting documents (no year stated): statement rules sit on program pages; reference-letter conditions.
- McGill Computer Science, Graduate FAQ (no year stated): one-page limit; thesis and non-thesis contents; supervisor rules.
- McGill Anthropology, Graduate admissions (no year stated): length, contents, writing-sample language, supervisor rule, December 1 deadline.
- McGill Sociology, Graduate admissions (Fall 2027): length, contents, generative AI rule, research paper language, January 7, 2027 deadline.
- McGill Economics, Incoming graduate FAQs (no year stated): length and supervisor rule.
- McGill Chemistry, Graduate admission (no year stated): length, supervisor rule, deadlines.
- McGill Religious Studies, Apply (no year stated): length, proposal requirement, deadline.
- McGill Physiology, Application and admission (no year stated): length, spacing, supervisor rule, letterhead rule, deadlines.
- McGill Faculty of Law, BCL/JD supporting documents (no year stated): 750-word personal statement.
- Concordia Studio Arts, MFA application (no year stated): 600-word statement in English or French.
Get feedback on your statement of purpose
Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against an admissions rubric before you submit.