UK Masters With a 2:2, Third Class or HND: Nigeria
The UK 2:2 line for a Nigerian CGPA: 2.40/5 at Robert Gordon, 2.80/5 at Queen Mary, 2.99/5 at Warwick. Published routes for third class, HND and PGD.
UK Masters With a 2:2, Third Class or HND: Nigeria
A Nigerian 2:2 meets the published master's line at some UK universities and not at others: CGPA 2.40/5 at Robert Gordon, 2.4/5 at Edinburgh Napier, 2.80/5 at Queen Mary and a band starting at 2.99/5 at Warwick. A third class or an HND goes through a bridge or pathway programme on the pages we checked, with one HND exception.
A list of "universities that accept HND for masters" is the wrong tool. Our view: your shortlist and your route decide the outcome before the personal statement does, because each university publishes its own line on the 5-point scale and treats an HND as an undergraduate qualification. Once you are on a route that accepts you, the UK master's personal statement does the rest.
Every university page quoted below was checked on 31 October 2026. None states an entry year, and course pages can set a higher line, so recheck the course before you apply.
The 2:2 line on a 5-point CGPA, university by university
Each line is copied from the university's Nigeria page. The last column tests a constructed applicant with a CGPA of 2.7/5 against the published figure (our arithmetic).
| University | Published Nigeria line for master's | 2:1 line | A 2.7/5 applicant |
|---|---|---|---|
| Robert Gordon | "A 4-year degree with a minimum of a second class lower classification with CGPA 2.40" | Some courses: "second class upper" | Meets it |
| Edinburgh Napier | "a lower second class (2:2) or GPA 2.4/5.0 or 50% or above" | Not stated | Meets it |
| Queen Mary | "UK 2:2 degree: GPA 2.80 out of 5.00", "from selected institutions" | "GPA 3.50 out of 5.00" | Below the 2:2 line |
| Warwick | 2:2 band: CGPA 2.99–3.49/5.0 | CGPA 3.5–4.49/5.0 | Below the 2:2 band |
| Leeds Beckett | "A minimum result of Second (lower) Class" | Not stated | Depends on the class on your certificate |
| Manchester | "a minimum class of 2:1 or a minimum GPA of 3.5/5.0"; "For some courses, a good 2:2 bachelor’s degree may be acceptable." | 3.5/5.0 | Below the general line; "good 2:2" is not defined |
The spread is the point. On the same transcript, a 2.7/5 is a 2:2 at Robert Gordon and Edinburgh Napier and below the 2:2 line at Queen Mary and Warwick. Warwick's table is an equivalence table; whether a course takes a 2:2 at all is on the course page.
Our view: with a CGPA under 2.99/5, build your list from the universities whose published line you clear, and do not spend application fees on universities whose line you do not. The countercase: if the only programme that fits your plan sits above your line, ask before you pay. Robert Gordon says "Applicants with lower qualification and / or relevant work experience will be considered on a case by case basis" and gives an admissions address. Send your transcript and CV and ask for a decision in writing.
Where a 2:2 needs evidence, and how the statement shows it
Two pages say what they read besides the grade:
- Robert Gordon: the case-by-case line above names "relevant work experience".
- SOAS (MSc Global Development): "We will consider all applications with 2:2 (or international equivalent) or higher." It lists the Nigerian equivalent as "Lower Second Class Hons" and adds: "In addition to degree classification we take into account other elements of the application such as supporting statement. References are optional, but can help build a stronger application if you fall below the 2:2 requirement or have non-traditional qualifications." (SOAS)
So the statement's job is to show the evidence the page names. Give the grade one clause of context at most, then spend the paragraph on the work.
Constructed example: a 2:2 with two years of relevant work
Two constructed examples, written by us, not real applicant statements. Context (invented): Aisha Bello has a BSc in Microbiology with a CGPA of 2.7/5. She has worked for two years as a data officer in a state primary health care board and is applying for a UK MSc in Public Health at a university whose Nigeria line is a 2:2 at 2.40/5.
Weak version (52 words):
I am aware that my second class lower degree does not reflect my true ability. My grades were affected by many challenges, including strikes and difficult lecturers. However, I am a hardworking and determined person, and I believe that given this opportunity I will prove myself and excel in your esteemed institution.
Revised version (81 words):
For two years I have managed routine immunisation data for 112 health facilities in my state. I rebuilt the monthly reporting sheet so that missing reports show by ward, and the share of facilities reporting on time rose from about half to most within a year. That work showed me what I cannot yet do: tell whether a fall in coverage is real or an artefact of reporting. The MSc's epidemiology and biostatistics modules are where I learn to answer that.
The weak version apologises, blames others and promises effort. The revised version never mentions the grade. It gives the reader the "relevant work experience" that Robert Gordon's line names, with a number and a question the degree answers. The facility count and the reporting change are invented for this example; in your own statement, use figures you can document.
Third class: the routes that name it
On the pages we checked, no university publishes a direct master's line for a Nigerian third class. Two name a bridge:
- Edinburgh Napier, International Incorporated Masters: "Bachelor degree with Honours with a grade of third class".
- Queen Mary, Graduate Diploma (listed under Pre-Masters Programmes): "Bachelor degree awarded from selected institutions." The page gives no class for this route.
Robert Gordon adds that "Students who do not meet our direct entry requirements may be able to undertake a pre-masters programme through our International College at Robert Gordon University".
Our view: with a third class, apply for the bridge, not the master's. A personal statement cannot move a published entry line, and these pages show where the door is.
HND holders: what the Nigeria pages actually say
The pages we checked treat the HND as a route into undergraduate study or a bridge, with one exception.
| University | What the Nigeria page says about the HND | Where it leads |
|---|---|---|
| Sheffield Hallam | "Applicants with a Nigerian HND will be considered for entry onto year three of an undergraduate degree" | Undergraduate year three |
| Sheffield Hallam (postgraduate section) | "Applicants with a Higher Diploma and significant work experience in the relevant programme area to be considered for entry onto programmes at postgraduate level" | Postgraduate, with work experience |
| Leeds Beckett | HND, "2.5/4.00 GPA, (Lower Credit Pass)", under "Undergraduate courses (final year)" | Undergraduate final year |
| Robert Gordon | "Students with a HND will be considered", under Undergraduate Requirements | Undergraduate |
| Queen Mary | "Higher National Diploma (HND) – minimum 2 years – from selected institutions", with "a GPA of 2.75 out of 4.0 or a GPA of 3.2 out of 5.0" | Graduate Diploma (pre-master's) |
| Edinburgh Napier | "Higher National Diploma (HND) with a GPA of 2.5 or better"; the page does not state the scale | International Incorporated Masters |
Sheffield Hallam's postgraduate line says "Higher Diploma", not "HND". Whether your Nigerian HND counts as its Higher Diploma is a question for its admissions team.
Which HND route to take
- HND plus several years of work in the field of the master's: email Sheffield Hallam-type programmes and ask, in writing, whether your HND counts for postgraduate entry with your experience. Attach your transcript and CV.
- HND with a GPA that meets Queen Mary's or Edinburgh Napier's figure: apply for the Graduate Diploma or the Incorporated Masters.
- Neither: a top-up into undergraduate year three (Sheffield Hallam) or the final year (Leeds Beckett) gives you a UK bachelor's first.
PGD holders: ask in writing before you pay
Of the pages we checked, only Warwick's mentions applicants who have completed a Postgraduate Diploma: "For guidance on equivalencies for MBBS degrees, or advice if you have completed a Postgraduate Diploma, please contact the Africa Team." None of the other pages lists a Nigerian PGD as a route into a master's.
Send the question before you pay any fee.
Constructed example, written by us, not a real email. (63 words)
Subject: HND and PGD equivalence for MSc [programme name]
Dear Admissions Team, I hold an HND in Computer Science (upper credit) and a Postgraduate Diploma in Computer Science from [Nigerian university], with three years of work as a systems analyst. Do these qualifications together meet the bachelor's requirement for the MSc [programme name] for September 2027 entry? My transcripts are attached. Thank you.
If the answer is yes, give the PGD one sentence in the statement: what it added that the HND did not.
What not to write about the grade
- No apology paragraph. "Does not reflect my true ability" tells the reader nothing they can weigh.
- No blame. Lecturers, the grading system and the country are not evidence.
- No strike essay. A strike that lengthened your degree gets one dated clause. How LSE handles disruption in a separate document is in UK master's personal statements from Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya, and the full method is in degree took longer than four years.
- One clause of context, only if it is true and checkable, for example a final year well above your overall CGPA.
Questions about 2:2, third class and HND routes from Nigeria
Can I do a master's in the UK with a second class lower?
Yes, where your CGPA meets the published line. Robert Gordon (2.40/5), Edinburgh Napier (2.4/5), Queen Mary (2.80/5) and Leeds Beckett (second class lower) publish one. Manchester says a good 2:2 "may be acceptable" for some courses.
Can I go straight from an HND to a UK master's?
Not on most pages we checked. Five of the six HND rows lead to undergraduate entry or a bridge. Sheffield Hallam considers "a Higher Diploma and significant work experience" for postgraduate entry; ask whether your HND counts.
Do HND holders need IELTS?
Leeds Beckett lists WAEC or NECO English at C6 for its HND row, but "For courses requiring IELTS 7.0 or above, WAEC/NECO will not be accepted". The rules by university are in IELTS waivers for UK master's.
My CGPA is 3.0/5. Am I a 2:2 everywhere?
No. At Warwick, 3.0 falls inside the 2:2 band (2.99–3.49). At Manchester, it is below the general 3.5/5.0 line. Read the line on each page.
Where is the 2:1 comparison?
Six universities' 2:1 lines for Nigerian degrees are in Nigerian second class upper and the UK 2:1. Aberdeen's energy transition MSc accepts a 2:2; the energy transition MSc personal statement guide shows what its statement needs.
Get a free review of your personal statement
Get a free Quick Review of your personal statement against GradPilot's UK master's personal statement rubric. It reads whether your statement uses prior study and work as evidence that you are ready, and whether it connects your plan to the named programme. That is the case a 2:2 applicant has to make.
More guides for Nigerian applicants:
- Nigerian second class upper and the UK 2:1: the 2:1 lines.
- UK master's personal statements from Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya: length, NYSC and a constructed statement.
- A 2:2 degree personal statement: the 2:2 statement for any country.
- SOP for a US master's from Nigeria or Ghana: the US side.
- All graduate school essay guides.
Sources
Retrieved 31 October 2026. No page states an entry year.
- Robert Gordon University, Nigeria: postgraduate line (CGPA 2.40), second class upper courses, case-by-case rule, pre-masters, HND (undergraduate).
- Edinburgh Napier University, Nigeria entry requirements: 2:2 or GPA 2.4/5.0; International Incorporated Masters (HND GPA 2.5, third class).
- Queen Mary University of London, Nigeria entry requirements: 2:2 and 2:1 GPA lines; selected institutions; Graduate Diploma entry incl. HND.
- University of Warwick, Nigeria: 2:2 and 2:1 bands; Postgraduate Diploma contact rule.
- Leeds Beckett University, Nigeria entry requirements: postgraduate second (lower) class; HND final-year row; WAEC/NECO rule.
- Sheffield Hallam University, Entry requirements for Nigeria: HND year three; Higher Diploma with work experience for postgraduate entry.
- University of Manchester, Nigeria: 2:1 or 3.5/5.0; good 2:2 for some courses.
- SOAS University of London, MSc Global Development: 2:2 considered; Nigerian equivalent; supporting statement and references.
Get feedback on your personal statement
Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against the programme's rubric before you submit.