Skip to main content

IELTS Waiver for UK Masters: Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya

No UK-wide IELTS waiver exists for Nigeria, Ghana or Kenya. Birmingham accepts your degree; LSE wants IELTS 7.0. Rules at 8 universities, MOI letter.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechOctober 31, 202613 min read
Application statement reviewSOPs, personal statements and essays
Find my review

IELTS Waiver for UK Masters: Nigeria, Ghana, Kenya

There is no UK-wide IELTS waiver for Nigeria, Ghana or Kenya. None of the three is on the UK government's list of majority English-speaking countries, so each university decides. Of the eight universities we checked, six publish a route without IELTS for Nigerian graduates, five for Ghanaian and three for Kenyan.

"Nigeria is an English-speaking country, so I am exempt" is not a rule any of these pages states. Our view: the waiver you have is the one written on your university's own page, in its own words, and nothing else. This page sets those words side by side, then gives you a constructed medium-of-instruction (MOI) letter and a waiver request email built from them.

Every page quoted below was checked on 31 October 2026. English rules change between cycles, so recheck each university before you rely on a waiver.

The UK rule: there is no country waiver for you

The UK government's Student visa English page says you do not need to prove your English "if you’re from one of the following countries or territories, or you’ve completed a qualification equivalent to a UK degree in one of them". The list has 19 entries: Antigua and Barbuda, Australia, the Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, the British overseas territories, Dominica, Grenada, Guyana, Ireland, Jamaica, Malta, New Zealand, St Kitts and Nevis, St Lucia, St Vincent and the Grenadines, Trinidad and Tobago, the UK and the USA. Canadian nationals are exempt separately. Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya are not on it.

Two other lines on that page matter for you:

  • "If your degree was taught in English and was not awarded by a UK institution, you’ll need to apply for an assessment from Ecctis."
  • "If you’re studying at degree level or above, your Higher Education Provider (HEP) can assess your level of English themselves." It "must still be equivalent to a CEFR level B2."

That second line is why universities can set their own rules for Nigerian, Ghanaian and Kenyan degrees. The visa process itself is on GOV.UK; this page covers what each university accepts.

Eight universities, eight answers

Each cell is copied or summarised from the university's own page. "Not stated" means the page we checked does not give a rule for that country.

UniversityNigeriaGhanaKenya
BirminghamNationals "with a degree from Nigeria … are not required to submit an English Language test"Same rule (Ghana page)Same rule (Kenya page)
Manchester"can waive" for a degree "taught entirely in English"Not statedNot stated
Warwick"educated in Nigeria for at least one academic year completed in the past two years"Same rule (Ghana page)Must "demonstrate" proficiency (Kenya page)
Edinburgh Napier"may not be required" if the degree "was taught and examined in English"Same rule (Ghana page)No Kenya page found
Leeds BeckettWAEC or NECO English at C6, not for courses needing IELTS 7.0 or aboveWASSCE/WAEC English C6 (Ghana page)KCSE English Grade C (Kenya page)
EdinburghA degree "taught and assessed entirely in English" from 8 listed universities, including Ibadan, Lagos and UNN, with evidence it was taught in English4 listed, including KNUST and the University of Ghana10 listed, including Nairobi, Kenyatta and Strathmore
LSENo country exemption; Standard level is IELTS 7.0 with 6.5 in each partSameSame
IDSNot stated; IELTS 7.0 with no less than 6.5 in each section given as the exampleNot statedNot stated

Our count, from the table: a route without IELTS for Nigerian graduates at Birmingham, Manchester, Warwick, Edinburgh Napier, Leeds Beckett and Edinburgh (six); for Ghanaian graduates at Birmingham, Warwick, Edinburgh Napier, Leeds Beckett and Edinburgh (five); for Kenyan graduates at Birmingham, Leeds Beckett and Edinburgh (three). Edinburgh's route covers only the listed universities.

Edinburgh's country pages say all applicants must demonstrate English "regardless of their nationality or country of residence". Its approved universities list is one way to do that. The Nigerian entries are Ahmadu Bello, Covenant, Obafemi Awolowo, Abuja, Ibadan, Ilorin, Lagos and the University of Nigeria. None carries the asterisk Edinburgh uses for universities that "teach and assess only in English", so you must supply the evidence yourself: "it is your responsibility to provide evidence that your degree has been taught and assessed in English." For non-UKVI-list nationals, the degree "must be no more than five years old at the start of the month in which your programme of study begins."

LSE's rule is the strictest we found. It exempts nationals and residents of the UKVI-list countries "whose first language is English", and graduates who "successfully completed an undergraduate degree (of at least three years duration) … in one of those countries". A Nigerian, Ghanaian or Kenyan degree is neither.

Four conditions hidden behind the word "waiver"

The same word, "waiver", hides different conditions:

  • Warwick counts time, not your degree. "At least one academic year completed in the past two years" means a graduate who finished three years ago may not qualify, however long they studied in Nigeria.
  • Manchester asks for evidence. It "can waive" the requirement "for students who can demonstrate that their degree from Nigeria was taught entirely in English". That is a letter from your university, not your passport.
  • Manchester's WAEC route has a date limit. It "can usually accept a high score in English in WAEC exams (if taken within the last seven years)", at "B3 or B2 depending on the requirement of the course". Check the year you sat WAEC.
  • Leeds Beckett's Nigerian route stops at IELTS 7.0. "For courses requiring IELTS 7.0 or above, WAEC/NECO will not be accepted and a standard English language (such as IELTS) will be required."
  • Sheffield Hallam's WAEC line is in the undergraduate section of its Nigeria page. Its postgraduate section does not repeat it, so ask before you rely on it for a master's.
  • Birmingham's WAEC grade C rule is for foundation and undergraduate study. For a master's, its rule is the degree.

Our view: if your list includes LSE, IDS or any course asking for 7.0, book IELTS now and stop looking for a waiver. Do the same for Edinburgh unless your university is on its list and your degree is under five years old. The countercase: if your list is Birmingham, Manchester and Edinburgh Napier, and your degree was taught and examined in English, you may need no test at all. Get the MOI letter first and confirm each waiver in writing.

The medium-of-instruction letter: what it must say

Manchester's and Edinburgh Napier's rules turn on two phrases: "taught entirely in English" and "taught and examined in English". Edinburgh asks for evidence that the degree was "taught and assessed in English". Ask your registrar for a letter that covers all three, on letterhead, signed and stamped.

Constructed example, written by us, not a real university letter. (96 words, placeholders included)

[University letterhead]

Office of the Registrar, [Nigerian university], [address]. [Date]

To whom it may concern

This is to certify that [full name as on passport], matriculation number [number], was a student of this University from [month, year] to [month, year] and was awarded the degree of Bachelor of Science in [subject], [class], on [date].

The programme was taught entirely in English, and all of its examinations and assessments were conducted in English.

For verification, contact [name], Deputy Registrar (Academic), at [official university email].

[Signature] [Name], [Title] [Official stamp]

Three details decide whether the letter works. The name matches your passport. The email is an official university address, not a personal webmail. The sentence about examinations is there, because Edinburgh Napier's rule names them. The US version of this letter, with US programmes' wording, is in medium of instruction letters for US grad school.

Asking for a waiver: a short email, not a plea

Send it to the admissions team for your course before you pay any application fee. Quote their rule; do not argue from your country.

Constructed example, written by us, not a real email. (97 words, subject line included)

Subject: English language waiver, MSc [programme name], September 2027

Dear Admissions Team,

I am applying for the MSc [programme name]. Your Nigeria page says the English requirement can be waived for students who can show that their degree from Nigeria was taught entirely in English. My BSc in [subject] from [university] was taught and examined in English, and I attach a letter from the Registrar confirming this. Could you confirm whether this meets the requirement for my programme, or tell me which test score you need?

Thank you, [Name], [application number if you have one]

What to leave out: "English is our official language", "I have spoken English all my life", and any claim the university's page does not make.

When to sit IELTS anyway

  • Your course asks for 7.0. LSE's Standard level is IELTS 7.0 with 6.5 in each part; IDS gives 7.0 with no less than 6.5 in each section; Leeds Beckett's WAEC route does not cover 7.0 courses.
  • Your test must still be in date. LSE says "English tests must be less than two years old on 1 October 2027."
  • You want an unconditional offer sooner. LSE says that without a test "your application can still be considered without it, but any offer will be conditional on the required score." What to do with a conditional offer and a short score is in UK conditional offer with an IELTS shortfall.

No waiver and a score below the minimum? See whether to explain a low IELTS score in your SOP.

Check your English route in five steps

  1. List your universities and copy the exact English sentence from each one's country page.
  2. Mark each as "degree waiver", "time-based waiver" (Warwick), "school-exam route" (WAEC, NECO, KCSE), or "test required".
  3. For a degree waiver, get the MOI letter. For a time-based waiver, check the dates. For a school-exam route, check the year you sat it and the course's IELTS level.
  4. Email each university where your case is not plainly covered. Use the email above.
  5. If any university on your list is "test required" or its course needs 7.0, book IELTS before your first deadline.

UK IELTS waiver questions from Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya

Can Nigerians study for a UK master's without IELTS?

At some universities. Birmingham does not require a test from Nigerian nationals with a Nigerian degree; Manchester and Edinburgh Napier can accept a degree taught in English; Warwick accepts recent study in Nigeria; Edinburgh accepts degrees from eight listed Nigerian universities. LSE does not exempt by country.

Does the university's waiver cover my visa?

For degree-level study, GOV.UK says your university "can assess your level of English themselves", and it must be at least CEFR B2. The visa steps themselves are on GOV.UK.

Is WAEC English accepted instead of IELTS for a master's?

At Leeds Beckett, yes at C6, except for courses needing IELTS 7.0 or above. At Manchester, "usually" at B3 or B2 if taken within the last seven years. Birmingham's WAEC rule is for undergraduate study only.

Does Ethiopia differ?

Warwick's Ethiopia page uses the same time rule for postgraduates: "educated in Ethiopia for at least one academic year completed in the past two years". For Ethiopian degrees and US programmes, see SOP for masters from Kenya, Uganda or Ethiopia.

Is Duolingo accepted?

Only where the university's page says so. LSE says that if you are unable to take one of its preferred tests, an alternative such as Duolingo may be possible together with its Language Centre Assessment, requested through an extenuating circumstances form.

I am applying to a US college, not a UK master's.

That is a different set of rules. See English test waivers for Nigeria, Ghana and Kenya for US undergraduate admissions, or TOEFL waivers for English-medium degrees for US graduate schools. Once the English evidence is settled, the energy transition MSc personal statement guide shows one engineering statement end to end.

Get a free review of your personal statement

Get a free Quick Review of your personal statement against GradPilot's UK master's personal statement rubric. It reads whether your statement makes a clear academic case for the degree and ties your experience to the named programme. Your waiver email needs no review, but the statement in the same application is the longest piece of your English the reader sees. Every public rubric is in the rubric catalogue.

More guides for West and East African applicants:

Sources

Retrieved 31 October 2026. University pages state no entry year unless noted.

Chosen your next application?

Get feedback on your own SOP, personal statement or application essays. Choose your program and review option.

Find my review

Rubrics for This Topic

All Graduate (MS/MA) rubrics

Related Articles

Get feedback on your application statement

GradPilot reviews your own writing against application-specific rubrics. Find the review that fits your next application.

Find my application review
No credit card required