HKU Personal Statement for Taught Master's
HKU taught master's personal statement: no university-wide word limit, one application per programme, and what 7 HKU programme checklists ask for.
HKU Personal Statement for Taught Master's
HKU has no single taught-master's personal statement and no university-wide word limit. Each programme is a separate application with its own fee and its own checklist. Of the seven HKU programmes we checked, one gives a limit (about 500–600 words, MSocSc Psychology) and two (MEd and MA(TESOL)) do not ask for a statement anywhere we could find.
At HKU the document is called a personal statement, not an SOP. If you have read that HKU wants one statement of about 1,000 words for all your choices, that is not what HKU publishes. You write one statement per application, and you write it to the checklist PDF on that programme's page. If you are drafting now, you can run it through a free statement review once the programme paragraph is in place.
Every HKU page and PDF quoted below was checked on 31 October 2026. HKU updates programme pages for each intake, and two of the pages we opened still showed 2026-intake dates, so recheck the page for your programme before you submit.
On this page:
- HKU has no single personal statement
- What seven HKU programme checklists ask for
- The 1,000-word figure
- Applying to two or three HKU programmes
- Round dates
- Constructed example at 522 words
- Questions
HKU has no single personal statement
HKU's taught postgraduate FAQ answers the question of applying to several programmes directly:
"Yes, it is possible for you to apply to multiple programmes at HKU. You can apply under different usernames on the application system and pay the application fee for each programme that you wish to apply to. You can only enrol in one programme, even if you receive offers from other programmes."
Source: HKU Taught Postgraduate Admissions FAQ. The same FAQ sets three rules that change how you prepare:
- "You cannot make any changes in the application form after submission." Updates go by email to the programme office.
- "An application account is only valid for 4 weeks, or up until the application deadline, whichever is earlier."
- Supporting documents: "The ways to submit supporting documents may vary by programme." The FAQ points you to each programme's own "Supporting Documents" file.
So there is no shared HKU statement to reuse across choices. Each application gets its own upload, read by its own programme office. The Faculty of Education says it outright: "A full set of the supporting documents should be submitted separately for applications for more than one specialism/major of the same programme, or for other programme(s) of the Faculty or HKU" (HKU MEd supporting documents).
What seven HKU programme checklists actually ask for
We opened the "Supporting Documents" PDF and the programme page for seven programmes. This table uses only what those pages say. "Not stated" means the page gives no figure; it does not mean there is no expectation.
| Programme | Statement asked for? | Limit | Referees | Next deadline (HKT) |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| MSocSc Psychology | Yes | "about 500 – 600 words" | Two referee reports | Page still showed 2026 intake |
| Master of Finance | Yes, inside the "Others" PDF | Not stated | Two; at least one academic | Round 2: 4 December 2026, noon |
| MSc Business Analytics | Yes, inside the "Others" PDF | Not stated | Two; at least one academic | Round 2: 4 December 2026, noon |
| MSc Computer Science | Yes ("P: Personal Statement") | Not stated | "Reference letter is NOT required." | Main Round: 1 December 2026, noon |
| MSc(Eng) Robotics | Named on the programme page | Not stated | "Reference letter is NOT required." | Round 1: 4 January 2027, noon |
| Master of Education | Not in the checklist | n/a | Not required; optional | Page still showed 2026 intake |
| MA(TESOL) | Not in the checklist | n/a | Not required; optional | Round 1: 21 December 2026, noon |
What the rows mean in practice:
- Psychology is the only checklist we found with a number. Its October 2026 PDF lists "Personal Statement (about 500 – 600 words)" and "Two referee reports sent via the online application system" (checklist).
- The Business School puts the statement in one combined upload: "Others (Personal statement; GMAT/ GRE score report …) (in ONE single PDF file)". It adds: "You may be invited to record and upload admission videos as additional mandatory supporting documents." It also requires that "At least one of your referees must be an academic referee from the university that you have graduated or will graduate from" (MFin PDF; the MSc Business Analytics PDF uses the same wording).
- Computer Science lists the statement and a CV and says "Reference letter is NOT required." The statement and CV carry the whole case, so they have to agree line for line (MSc CS PDF).
- Robotics names the statement in its entrance requirements: "Evidence of motivation and potential for success in the programme, as demonstrated through a personal statement, transcripts, and CV." The Engineering upload checklist we opened does not list it as a separate item, so check the upload screen.
- MEd and MA(TESOL) list identity documents, transcripts and English test scores, and say "Reference letter is not required. You may submit one if you wish." Neither list mentions a personal statement. Don't write one unless the form asks.
The 1,000-word figure, and what to do without a limit
We found no 1,000-word rule on any HKU taught-programme page we opened, and we could not trace the figure to an HKU source. HKU's own pages give one explicit taught limit, and it is about half that.
Our view: when an HKU programme prints no limit, write one page, about 500–700 words, and stop. The basis is HKU's own evidence. The only limit we found on these seven checklists is 500–600 words. And where a programme drops the reference letter (CS, Robotics), the reader has your CV beside the statement, so anything the CV already proves is wasted words.
The countercase: if the programme office or the upload screen gives a different figure, that figure wins. A career changer with a long work history may need nearer 700 words to connect two fields. Nobody publishes how HKU readers weigh length, so treat that as unknown.
Applying to two or three HKU programmes
Because each application is separate, you can tailor each statement fully. Run this procedure:
- Write one core of about 300 words: your degree, the one piece of work or study that best shows you can do this master's, and the job you want after it.
- Rewrite the programme paragraph for each application. Name the stream you will choose (MSc CS invites applicants to indicate a preferred stream, General, Cyber Security, Financial Computing or Multimedia Computing, during the application), two courses, and why this programme suits the job you named.
- Search the file for every other programme's name before you upload. A statement that mentions MSc Business Analytics in an MFin application tells the reader it was reused.
- Upload a full document set per application, as the Faculty of Education requires.
If one statement really must serve two programmes, as some US universities allow, see one SOP for two master's program choices. That page covers a different rule. If you are applying to HKU, CUHK and UK programmes in one season, one personal statement for UK, Hong Kong and Singapore covers building the core at the shortest limit.
Round dates that change how you write
HKU Business School's 2027-intake rounds for MFin and MSc Business Analytics were "July 24, 2026", "September 28, 2026" and "December 04, 2026", each at 12:00 noon (GMT +8). The first two have passed. MSc CS closes its Main Round at noon on 1 December 2026, and MA(TESOL) Round 1 at noon on 21 December 2026. The TESOL page warns: "if all places are filled in Round 1, there may not be a 2nd round of applications."
The account rule matters more than the date. An account lasts four weeks, and documents can only be uploaded before the deadline or within four weeks of account creation. Finish the statement before you create the account, not after. For the full UK, Hong Kong and Singapore calendar, see the 2027 master's timeline for UK, Hong Kong and Singapore.
Constructed example: an MSocSc Psychology statement at 522 words
Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement. Context (invented): Li Wen holds a BA in Business English from a Mainland university and has worked for 18 months in HR at a logistics company. She is applying to HKU's MSocSc Psychology, which asks for about 500–600 words and prefers more than one year of work experience. Her first draft was 900 words and opened with a childhood memory. The version below is 522 words.
I want to train in psychology because my HR work has shown me what I cannot yet measure. For eighteen months I have run onboarding and exit interviews for 140 warehouse and office staff at a mid-sized logistics company in Hangzhou. I can record why people leave. I cannot yet test whether what they tell me is true, or design a survey that would hold up if a manager challenged it. HKU's MSocSc in Psychology is designed to give university graduates a solid foundation in psychology theories and research methods, and that is the gap I need to close.
My degree is in Business English, not psychology. I have prepared in two ways. First, I completed two online introductory courses in psychology and statistics in 2025 and kept my problem sets. Second, I used what I learned at work. In March 2026 I noticed that first-month resignations in our Ningbo warehouse were twice those in Hangzhou. I wrote a 12-item questionnaire, collected 61 responses with my manager's approval, and found that new staff in Ningbo were rarely told their shift pattern before their first week. We changed the offer letter. I do not know whether that change caused the drop in resignations that followed, and that is exactly the question I want the training to let me answer properly.
Three of the programme's stated aims match what I lack. Training in research methods would teach me to design a study with a comparison group instead of a before-and-after count. A foundation in psychology theories would give me explanations for what I now only observe. And the aim of preparing students to apply for graduate membership of the Hong Kong Psychological Society, and for programmes such as the MSocSc in Educational Psychology, fits the direction I am considering, though I will decide that only after this degree.
My work has also given me skills that matter in a research course. I interview people every week in Mandarin and English and write records that my manager reads closely. I have learned to separate what an employee says from what I conclude. I have also learned to handle confidential information: exit interview notes are stored under our company's privacy rules, and I anonymised the questionnaire data before sharing it.
After the degree I plan to work in employee assessment and wellbeing research in Hong Kong or the Greater Bay Area, in an HR analytics team or a research consultancy. In five years I want to lead studies that test whether a workplace policy changes behaviour, not only whether staff say they like it.
I am applying to HKU rather than a general HR master's because I want psychology training, not management training. I already know how a company runs onboarding. What I do not know is how to measure what onboarding does to a person. I would bring eighteen months of real workplace questions to seminars, and I would leave with the methods to answer them.
My two referees are my HR director, who supervised the questionnaire, and my final-year thesis supervisor in Business English, who can speak to my written English and my reliability.
What the cut removed, and why:
- The childhood memory (170 words). It proved nothing the programme lists in its requirements.
- A paragraph praising Hong Kong (110 words). It would fit any Hong Kong university. If your programme asks for a "why Hong Kong" answer, our CUHK guide to the why-Hong-Kong paragraph gives a swap test for it.
- A list of HR software (98 words). That belongs on the CV, which is uploaded beside the statement.
Those constructed cuts add up to 378 words, and 900 − 378 = 522 (our arithmetic).
What stayed is evidence for what the programme says it wants: work experience, readiness for research methods, and a named reason for psychology over HR. The 61-response questionnaire and the honest "I do not know whether that change caused" line are what an interviewer can ask about.
Questions about the HKU personal statement
Should I write the HKU personal statement in Chinese or English?
English. HKU's Psychology checklist says that "Transcripts, diplomas, certificates, and other submitted documents that are not in English should be accompanied by a certified English translation produced by the issuing authority concerned." A statement is your own writing, so write it in English. If your English needs work, our guide to a simple English SOP for non-native writers shows how to keep sentences short and exact.
Can I update my statement after I submit?
You cannot edit the form. HKU's FAQ says: "To update or add additional information, please email relevant programme office directly." Ask before sending a replacement, and quote your application number.
Do I need a reference letter for an HKU master's?
It depends on the programme. MFin, MSc Business Analytics and Psychology need two referees. MSc CS, Robotics, MEd and MA(TESOL) say a reference letter is not required. Check the PDF for your programme.
What does HKU say about agents and completing the application yourself?
Two of the checklists state it. The MSc CS PDF says: "To submit an application, it is essential that you complete the process independently." It adds: "Please note that the HKU does NOT authorize any third-party agencies to handle recruitment or admissions on its behalf." The Faculty of Engineering PDF says: "To file an application, you must complete the application yourself. You are responsible for the accuracy and authenticity of the information and materials submitted throughout the application and admission process." Read the declaration in your own application before you submit. If an agent has already drafted your documents, see agent wrote my statement of purpose for what to do next.
I studied in Mainland China. What else do I need besides the statement?
Several checklists ask for CHSI verification reports in Chinese and English. See degree vs graduation certificate for China grad applications for what each certificate is. If you are also applying to the US, SOP for MS in USA from China covers what to change for that system.
Get a free review of your personal statement
Get a free Quick Review of your personal statement against GradPilot's general MS statement of purpose rubric, the closest rubric for an HKU taught-master's statement. It reads for programme fit, evidence of preparedness, tailoring to this programme, and how clearly you link past work to the career you want. Paste the programme's own limit with the draft, or say that none is stated. For more master's statement guides, see the graduate school essays hub or the master's SOP review page.
Sources
Retrieved 31 October 2026, except where noted.
- The University of Hong Kong, Taught Postgraduate Admissions FAQ (no year stated): separate applications and fees per programme, enrol in one, no changes after submission, 4-week account, supporting documents vary by programme.
- HKU Faculty of Social Sciences, MSocSc Psychology programme page (page showed September 2026 intake): course aims, work experience preference, interview if shortlisted.
- HKU Faculty of Social Sciences, MSocSc Psychology supporting documents checklist (dated October 2026): "about 500 – 600 words", two referee reports, translation rule.
- HKU Business School, Master of Finance programme page and MFin supporting documents (2027 intake): round dates, two referees, statement in the "Others" PDF, admission videos, academic referee rule.
- HKU Business School, MSc Business Analytics programme page and supporting documents (2027 intake): same rounds and document rules.
- HKU School of Computing and Data Science, MSc Computer Science programme page and supporting documents (September 2027 intake): Main Round date, streams, personal statement and CV, no reference letter.
- HKU Faculty of Engineering, MSc(Eng) Robotics and Intelligent Systems programme page and supporting documents (2027 September intake): round dates, "Evidence of motivation" requirement, no reference letter.
- HKU Faculty of Education, MEd programme page (page showed September 2026 intake) and MEd supporting documents: no statement listed, full set per application, reference letter optional.
- HKU Faculty of Education, MA(TESOL) programme page and MA(TESOL) supporting documents (September 2027 intake): Round 1 date and warning, no statement listed, reference letter optional.
Get feedback on your statement of purpose
Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against an admissions rubric before you submit.