Skip to main content

2027 Master's Timeline: UK, Hong Kong, Singapore

2027 master's timeline for the UK, Hong Kong and Singapore: HKU December rounds close 1-21 Dec 2026, NTU windows 31 Jan-31 Mar. What to finish when.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechOctober 31, 202611 min read
Application statement reviewSOPs, personal statements and essays
Find my review

2027 Master's Timeline: UK, Hong Kong, Singapore

If your 2027 list mixes Hong Kong, Singapore and UK master's programmes, Hong Kong closes first. HKU's MSc Computer Science Main Round closes at noon on 1 December 2026 and HKU Business School's last round at noon on 4 December 2026. NTU's August 2027 windows close from 31 January to 31 March.

A calendar that starts from UK courses gets this portfolio in the wrong order. The Hong Kong statement is the first document you must finish, two months before the first NTU window in our table closes. This page gives the dated table, a month-by-month plan, and the one HKU account rule that changes when you can start uploading.

Every date below was checked on 31 October 2026 on the university's own page. Times are Hong Kong time (GMT+8) where the page gives a time. Rounds can close early or be cancelled, so recheck your programme's page before you plan around a date.

The dates that decide your order

ProgrammeRound or windowOpensCloses
HKU MPhil and PhD (research)Main Round, 2027/281 Sept 20261 Dec 2026, 23:59 HKT
HKU MSc Computer ScienceMain Round; Clearing RoundNot stated1 Dec 2026, noon; 30 Apr 2027, noon
HKU Master of Finance and MSc Business AnalyticsRound 2 (Early Admission and Round 1 have passed)Not stated4 Dec 2026, noon
HKU MA(TESOL)Round 120 Nov 202621 Dec 2026, noon
HKU MSc(Eng) Robotics and Intelligent SystemsRound 1 (Main); Round 2 (Clearing)Not stated4 Jan 2027, noon; 9 Apr 2027, noon
CUHK MSc Computer Science2027 application"starts in September every year"31 Jan 2027
CUHK MSc SEEM2027-28 admission, rolling1 Sept 202616 Mar 2027
CUHK Business School master'sFull-time normal round, rollingNot stated31 Mar 2027
NTU MSc Applied EconomicsAugust intake1 September31 January
NTU MSc Information Studies (WKWSCI)August intake1 October31 January
NTU School of HumanitiesAugust intake1 October1 February
NTU MSc Psychology; other WKWSCI programmesAugust intake1 Sept; 1 Oct15 February
NTU other School of Social Sciences programmes; RSISAugust intake1 September26 February
NTU College of Computing and Data Science; NTU engineering schoolsAugust intake1 October31 March

How to read the NTU rows: NTU's table is headed for "the Academic Year 2027-28" but prints the August-intake dates without a year. Read them as the 2026–27 application season, and confirm on the portal. NTU also says "Programmes under Nanyang Business School (NBS) and National Institute of Education (NIE) have a separate application process", so business and education programmes are not in this table.

Three gaps, stated plainly:

  • NUS. NUS pages blocked our automated check on 31 October 2026, so no NUS date appears here. Use the programme page, and see the NUS, NTU and SMU master's statement guide for what each asks you to write.
  • CUHK. CUHK sets dates by programme. The three CUHK rows above come from programme pages; CUHK's programme-list page returned HTTP 404 on 31 October 2026, so we have no full dated CUHK list. Business School and SEEM admissions are rolling, so places can fill before the date.
  • The UK. UK deadlines are course by course and often rolling. See UK master's application deadlines for 2027 and the Oxford and Cambridge master's deadlines for 2027 rather than a repeat here.

If you are applying for a PhD in Hong Kong, the Hong Kong PhD Fellowship Scheme has its own initial application, due at noon on 1 December 2026; see the HKPFS research proposal and personal statement guide. It does not apply to taught master's applications.

Month-by-month plan, November 2026 to March 2027

Our view: set your own deadline for the Hong Kong statement at 15 November 2026. The basis is the table plus one HKU rule. The earliest HKU taught deadline we found is 1 December, an account lasts four weeks, and referees need time after you submit their names. Two weeks of slack before 1 December is the minimum that covers all three.

The countercase: if your list has no HKU programme, or only HKU programmes with January rounds (Robotics), your first deadline is 31 January at NTU or CUHK, or a UK course date, and a December finish is enough. Nobody publishes whether an application in the last days of a round is read differently from one sent early; treat that as unknown.

November 2026

  1. Finish the Hong Kong statement, one per programme. HKU's FAQ says each programme is a separate application with its own fee, and CUHK's FAQ says the same. The HKU taught master's personal statement guide shows what seven HKU checklists ask for. For how to build one core for every system, see one personal statement for UK, Hong Kong and Singapore.
  2. Ask referees now. CUHK says "Other programmes: Two referee reports are required." HKU's Master of Finance asks for "Statements from two referees", and its checklist says "At least one of your referees must be an academic referee from the university that you have graduated or will graduate from." HKU's MSc Computer Science checklist says "Reference letter is NOT required."
  3. Order verification reports early if your degree is from Mainland China. HKU's Master of Education checklist asks for CHSI verification reports in Chinese and English, and CUHK asks for the CHSI transcript verification report "issued and shared directly by CHSI".
  4. MA(TESOL) opens on 20 November 2026.

December 2026

  1. Submit HKU MSc Computer Science and research-programme applications by 1 December, and HKU Business School programmes by noon on 4 December.
  2. Submit MA(TESOL) by noon on 21 December. Its page warns: "if all places are filled in Round 1, there may not be a 2nd round of applications."
  3. Start the Singapore and UK versions from the same core.

January 2027

  1. HKU Robotics Round 1 closes at noon on 4 January.
  2. NTU MSc Applied Economics and MSc Information Studies close on 31 January, and so does CUHK's MSc Computer Science.

February and March 2027

  1. NTU School of Humanities closes on 1 February, MSc Psychology and other WKWSCI programmes on 15 February, and other School of Social Sciences programmes on 26 February.
  2. CUHK MSc SEEM closes on 16 March and CUHK Business School's full-time normal round on 31 March; both are rolling, so apply well before. NTU computing and engineering programmes close on 31 March.
  3. HKU clearing rounds (MSc Computer Science 30 April, Robotics 9 April) are a fallback, not a plan.

For NTU, apply to all your August-intake choices under one application number. NTU's guide says "Applicants has to use the same application number if applying for more than one programme in the same intake", and "Application fee will be charged for each Coursework application."

Rolling rounds and the 4-week account rule

HKU's taught postgraduate FAQ sets the rule that should decide when you start:

Interview invitations follow the rounds; the Hong Kong master's interview format page covers video interviews and deposits.

"An application account is only valid for 4 weeks, or up until the application deadline, whichever is earlier."

It adds: "Please note that you can only upload your supporting documents before the application deadline or within four weeks of your account creation." And: "You cannot make any changes in the application form after submission."

So create the HKU account after the statement is final, not when you first decide to apply. An account opened in October for a 4 December round expires before the round closes.

For research programmes, HKU's Graduate School says "applicants are strongly encouraged to apply in the Main Round", that clearing rounds are considered "only if there are vacancies after the Main Round", and that "Some faculties/schools/departments/interdisciplinary research areas may not wait until the application deadline of each round to start the consideration of applications." That last sentence is on the research-programme page. The taught-programme pages we checked do not say whether they review before the deadline, so for taught programmes it is unknown.

One-year master's in the three systems: what changes in the statement

HKU's MSc Computer Science lists a "Normative Study Period: 1 year" for full-time study, and MA(TESOL) runs "normally one year including the summer semester". In a one-year programme the reader has no time to wait for your plan to form. The career paragraph should name the job you want and the first step you will take during the year, such as a named project, a stream choice or a practicum. A plan that only becomes clear "after graduation" reads like a two-year plan in a one-year programme. The same core paragraph works in all three systems; only the programme details change.

Questions about 2027 deadlines

When is the NUS deadline for 2027 intake?

We could not check it. NUS pages blocked our automated check on 31 October 2026. NUS sets dates by programme, so use the programme's own admissions page and note the time zone.

Do I need my degree before I apply to HKU?

No. HKU's FAQ says "You do not need to have graduated from your bachelor's degree programme at the time of application. However, you must obtain a bachelor's degree on or before August 31 of your admission year." NTU asks final-year applicants for "an official document from their university indicating their expected graduation date."

Can I add my statement after I submit the HKU form?

Not through the form. HKU says you "cannot make any changes in the application form after submission" and that updates go by email to the programme office. Upload the final statement before you submit.

Is the HKPFS deadline relevant to a master's?

No. The HKPFS is for PhD study. Its initial application closes at noon on 1 December 2026, and university applications for it close at 11:59pm the same day. PhD applicants should also plan the HKPFS referee timeline, which runs from the date you submit.

Once you have applied, see when decisions arrive, by country.

Get a free review of your personal statement

Get a free Quick Review of your personal statement against GradPilot's general MS statement of purpose rubric, the closest rubric for Hong Kong and Singapore master's statements. It reads for fit to the programme, evidence that you are prepared, and how clearly your past work leads to the job you want. For UK courses, use the UK master's personal statement rubric, or start from the personal statement review page. More destination guides are in the graduate school essays hub.

Sources

Retrieved 31 October 2026, except where noted.

Chosen your next application?

Get feedback on your own SOP, personal statement or application essays. Choose your program and review option.

Find my review

Rubrics for This Topic

All Graduate (MS/MA) rubrics

Related Articles

Get feedback on your application statement

GradPilot reviews your own writing against application-specific rubrics. Find the review that fits your next application.

Find my application review
No credit card required