Law School Personal Statement Review Cost 2026
What a law school personal statement review costs in 2026 - from free to five figures - and which tier your school's own rule actually allows.
Law School Personal Statement Review Cost 2026
Somebody is going to read your personal statement before an admissions committee does, and what that read costs ranges from nothing to five figures. Below is the ladder as it stands today, priced from what each option publishes, followed by the part most price comparisons skip: which rung your school's own rule permits. A law school personal statement review is one rung on it. No firm is named here — these are category bands, not recommendations.
| Option | Typical price | Turnaround | AI used to write it? | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|---|
| A free reader — pre-law advisor, friend, peer swap, free worksheets | $0 | Days to weeks | No — a person reads it | A human read and general feedback. Several schools' rules name pre-law advisors, friends, and family as permitted proofreaders. No scores, no rubric |
| A marketplace single-essay edit | About $20–$45 | Often 24 hours to a few days | Sometimes | Proofreading or a line edit of your draft; a cheaper "second reading" tier is common |
| A single-essay edit from a test-prep company | $150 | Not published | Not stated | One round of tracked changes on content, structure, and grammar, plus a written assessment |
| A consultant's essay workshop or hour of advice | About $150–$250 | A scheduled meeting | Not stated | One meeting on a single document, or an hour with a former admissions officer |
| A consultant's written evaluation of a finished statement | $895 | 4–5 days | Not stated | A full written critique of one complete statement, with revision suggestions and a follow-up look after you revise |
| Unlimited editing of one essay | About $1,450–$1,500 | A full drafting cycle | Not stated | As many rounds of substantive revision on that one essay as you need — a person working inside your draft |
| A full application package | About $3,000–$9,000 | Core documents typically 8–10 weeks | Not stated | School list, strategy, every written document, and recommendation and interview help, for a set number of applications |
| A free AI essay scorer | Free, or a free preview then a paid report with no published price | Under a minute | Yes | A numeric score, sometimes an AI-probability estimate. None we checked is built on a law-school rubric |
| GradPilot | First Full Review $5; Pro is ten Full Reviews for $50; two free Quick Reviews a day | Typically about 2–3 minutes | No | Rubric feedback on your own draft: scores for the rubric you pick, critiques tied to your exact text, revision suggestions |
Prices are public list prices observed on 2026-09-01; rechecked before each application season.
"It," in that fourth column, means the feedback — not your statement. Every option above is meant to comment on writing you did yourself. GradPilot reviews the draft you already wrote and never writes or rewrites a sentence of it.
Note how many rows say "not stated." That is not the same as "no." It means we could find no sentence on the page either way — and neither can you.
What each price actually buys
Be clear first about which document you are buying feedback on. Schools ask for between one statement and six separate written pieces this cycle; the 2026-27 law school essay prompts crosswalk lists what each requires.
$0 — a person who already knows you
The free tier is not a consolation prize. Duke and Michigan both name pre-law advisors, friends, and mentors as permitted sources of proofreading and general feedback, in writing, on their own pages — a permission a paid service cannot give you and a free reader already has. What a free reader rarely gives you is a structured read against a published standard, or a second read next week.
About $20–$45 — a marketplace edit
At the bottom of the paid ladder are freelance and marketplace edits, usually turned around within a day. You buy proofreading or a line edit, not a judgment about whether the statement does the job a law reader needs it to do. One marketplace-style service's own page says it combines its editors "with sophisticated AI." Most listings here say nothing either way — worth asking before you pay.
$150 — one round of tracked changes
A test-prep company's single-essay edit runs $150 for one round of tracked changes across content, structure, and grammar, plus a written assessment. This is the tier where "edit" starts meaning somebody's hands in your document. If your school's rule says the only person who may be engaged in the actual writing is you, that distinction stops being philosophical. How rubric review differs from editing covers where the line falls.
About $150–$250 — an hour of somebody's judgment
A workshop or an hour with a former admissions officer buys a conversation rather than a marked-up page: whether the story you picked is the right story, whether your list is realistic, whether the addendum is worth writing.
$895 — a written evaluation of a finished draft
A consultant reads one complete personal statement and returns a full written critique in four to five days, with a follow-up look after you revise. It is the closest human analogue to a rubric read — with a person's judgment attached, and a person's calendar too.
About $1,450–$1,500 — somebody works inside your draft
This tier buys as many rounds as you need on one document, across a full drafting cycle. Read your school's rule twice before buying here: "as many rounds of substantive revision as you need" and "the only person who may be engaged in the actual writing is you" are not automatically compatible, and the certification you sign governs.
About $3,000–$9,000 — the whole application
Full-cycle packages cover school list, strategy, every written document, and recommendation and interview help, with core documents typically finished in eight to ten weeks. Applicants are blunt about the other end of that range: one wrote that they "can really only spend like $20 on this" (thread 1vefj5g, 2026-08-03).
$5 — a rubric read of the draft you already wrote
Two free Quick Reviews are available each day. Your first Full Review costs $5, is typically ready in about 2–3 minutes, and returns scores against the rubric you pick, critiques tied to specific passages, and prioritized revision suggestions; Pro includes ten Full Reviews for $50. The law rubric shelf shows what each document is read for — personal statement, perspective statement, addenda, and why-school essay are separate rubrics because they fail in different ways. How the review runs covers the mechanics. Scores are revision signals, not admission predictions.
Which verb your school's rule regulates
Price is the second question. The first is what your school permits — and the schools that wrote anything down wrote about verbs: who may write, who may edit, who may give feedback. A rule against AI-generated text says nothing about a person reading your draft. A rule against outside writing says nothing about a rubric score. Every sentence below was re-fetched from the school's own page on 2026-09-01.
| School | The school's own sentence | What it regulates |
|---|---|---|
| Georgetown | "While you can (and should) receive and incorporate feedback on drafts, the only person who may be engaged in the actual writing is you. Friends, family members, advisors, etc. – whether real or artificial – are not applying to Georgetown Law – you are." | Feedback expressly contemplated; the writing must be yours. Human and AI helpers are treated alike |
| Duke | "It does not preclude asking family members, friends, pre-law advisors, and others for proofreading assistance or general feedback." — alongside "you wrote all drafts and the final product without the assistance of generative artificial intelligence." | Human proofreading and feedback permitted; generative AI in drafting prohibited |
| Michigan | "Applicants are nonetheless welcome to use electronic tools (like Grammarly or spellcheck), or may, similarly, ask pre-law advisors, mentors, friends, or others for basic proofreading assistance and general feedback and critiques." — alongside "In general, applicants ought not use generative artificial intelligence tools as part of their drafting process." | Human feedback permitted; generative AI in drafting ruled out, with one stated exception among the supplemental essays |
| UVA | "The statement should be written in your own voice without the help of artificial intelligence tools and should not exceed two pages double-spaced in 12 pt font." | AI tools, on the statement. Neither the application page nor the FAQ says anything about human feedback, either way |
| UCLA | "The use of any artificial intelligence tools to assist in the completion of this application is prohibited." | AI tools, across the whole application |
| Richmond | Permits "Using AI tools to develop and select a theme for your personal statement" and "Editing your original writing with AI tools to assist with length or clarity, while preserving your ideas, structure, and substantial content"; prohibits "Using generative AI to draft your personal statement, addenda, short answers, or other written components of the application in lieu of your own original work" and "Using AI to substantially re-write your work" | Named AI uses, permitted and prohibited, with disclosure required |
Richmond rewards reading closely. It says it does "not prohibit the use of AI in all aspects of the preparation of your application," and its permitted list now includes using AI tools to develop and select a theme for the personal statement. It also requires anyone who uses AI tools to disclose "the tools used and the way you used them." Permission and disclosure travel together there.
Columbia is the row every buyer here should read twice. It publishes no J.D. AI rule on its public pages; the rule lives inside the application preview PDF, and the only one posted today is still the Fall 2026 edition. That document states that "Assistance in completing any components of your Columbia application, including but not limited to using the services of an agent, third party vendor, educational consultant, or artificial intelligence (AI) tool or service is strictly prohibited." Note what that does: it treats a paid human consultant and an AI tool identically. Read the certification inside the application you sign — that sentence, not any page we quote, binds you.
Of the seventeen J.D. programs we re-checked on 2026-09-01, six publish a rule on a public page, one publishes it only inside a downloadable application preview, and ten publish none we could find. Absence is not permission. A school with no published rule has not authorized anything, and the certification inside the LSAC application may be stricter than any public page. LSAC's own Candidate Agreement restricts generative AI during the test — it is not an essay rule and should never be cited as one. The law school AI policy lookup carries each school's current sentence, and how law schools write their AI rules explains why two rules that look alike can regulate different things.
Read your school's current authorship, AI, and assistance rules before using any review. Do not use one where AI review or outside assistance is prohibited. Submit only your own writing. GradPilot reviews writing you already wrote and never drafts replacement prose.
If you have an LSAC fee waiver
There is no separate fee-waiver price here and no discount to ask us for. What exists is the published offer: two free Quick Reviews each day, and a first Full Review at $5. Inventing a program to soften that would not help you.
What does exist, free, is more than most applicants use. LSAC's 2025 Prelaw Questionnaire report found that 20% of test takers had no one to rely on for application advice, with the share differing by race, first-generation status, and Pell status. That gap is not a pricing gap.
| Free resource | What it gives you | What it does not |
|---|---|---|
| Your undergraduate pre-law advisor — LSAC tells applicants: "If you have access to a prelaw advisor or to career counseling at your undergraduate institution, find time to speak with an advisor as early in your law school journey as possible." | A person, free, whom several schools' rules name as a permitted reader | Availability in September |
| Yale Law School's Access to Law School free resources — "we want to make the application process resources we share with Fellows available to all." | A personal-statement slideshow, a brainstorming worksheet, the admissions office's tip sheet, character-and-fitness guidance, annotated résumés | Individual essay review — resources, not a reader |
| AccessLex MAX Pre-Law — "a free online suite of resources… interactive lessons, webinars, worksheets, checklists, videos, and one-on-one financial strategy coaching" | Lessons on admissions and financial aid, plus free coaching | Essay feedback — the coaching is financial |
| LSAC's free resources for aspiring law students | A LawHub course on applying, the Plus and Guided Journey programs, an applicant guide | A read of your draft |
Peer swaps are the free option applicants build themselves — "Is anybody interested in trading redacted versions of their PS for 'peer' review," as one put it (thread 1vzfv0m, 2026-08-27). It costs nothing and it is permitted at the schools quoted above. It also comes with a stranger's taste and no standard behind it. The same forum carries the other version of the ask: an applicant "revising my personal statement… wondering if a more recent law student could give it a gander" (thread 1w080y2, 2026-08-27).
"One of her feedback packages uses AI"
That objection comes from an applicant weighing a low-cost review: they wrote that they were "a bit hesitant with her service knowing one of her PS feedback packages uses AI to give the feedback" (thread 1vzekxg, 2026-08-27). The same thread asks whether anyone discounts for LSAC fee-waiver recipients. Both deserve a straight answer rather than a pitch.
Several services at the human tiers do not say whether a model is involved in producing your feedback. Where a page does say so, you at least know what you are buying. The thing worth objecting to is not that a model is in the loop. It is not knowing.
So, plainly: GradPilot's feedback is AI-produced, on words you wrote. It scores your draft against a published rubric for the document you picked, points at specific passages, and hands the revision back to you. It is not a writer, not a ghostwriter, not a humanizer, and no setting makes it one. The separate question — whether your finished draft reads as machine-written to a reader or a detector — is what a law school personal statement AI checker is for, and any such result is a signal, not proof.
Where the real worry is "sounds generic" rather than "sounds like a machine," the fix is specificity: twelve signals that a law statement has gone generic covers the patterns readers see most.
Spending $5, $150, or $1,500 — by situation
No tier here is better than another; they solve different problems, and the wrong one is usually the one bought at the wrong moment.
- No complete draft yet. Buy nothing. Feedback on an outline mostly produces feedback about the outline.
- A complete draft you cannot judge. The $0–$5 question: a free reader who knows you, a structured read against a published standard, or both. Diagnosis before treatment.
- You know what is weak and want the prose tighter. That is a line edit — the $20–$150 tiers — worth paying a human for once the substance is settled.
- You are revising across weeks and want to know whether each version improved. Repeated reads against the same criteria answer that; one edit does not.
- Your question is not about the page. Which schools, what order, whether to write the addendum — buy the hour, not the edit.
- A school on your list prohibits AI tools on the application. The AI rungs are out for that application, whatever they cost. The rule is not a technicality to route around.
- Money is the constraint. Start at $0, use the free resources above, and add the cheapest structured read only when a human reader is unavailable or out of things to say.
The expensive mistake is rarely the wrong tier. It is buying any tier before the draft is worth reading. More on each document is on the law school essays hub.
Sources checked on 2026-09-01
- Price bands: nine public list prices across marketplace edits, test-prep single edits, consultant workshops and hourly rates, written evaluations, single-essay unlimited editing, full-cycle packages, and free AI scorers. Each was re-fetched on 2026-09-01 from the provider's own pricing page, with figures re-read from the page source rather than a summary. Providers are unnamed here by editorial policy. Two sources — one marketplace listing and one forum thread — return 403 to automated retrieval and are recorded as RETRIEVAL-BLOCKED, not re-verified.
- GradPilot pricing and turnaround, from the published offer: two free Quick Reviews each day; first Full Review $5; Pro includes ten Full Reviews for $50; typically ready in about 2–3 minutes. Checked 2026-09-01.
- Georgetown Law, J.D. admissions FAQ (feedback versus the actual writing; the "real or artificial" sentence). Retrieved 2026-09-01, HTTP 200; the older FAQ URL now redirects to the transfer FAQ: https://www.law.georgetown.edu/admissions-aid/jd-admissions/frequently-asked-questions/
- Duke Law School, J.D. application (writing samples must be your own work; the proofreading and general-feedback carve-out). Retrieved 2026-09-01, HTTP 200: https://law.duke.edu/apply/degreeprograms/jd
- University of Michigan Law School, 2026-27 J.D. application instructions (the generative-AI drafting rule, its one supplemental-essay exception, and the proofreading sentence). Retrieved 2026-09-01 via headless browser, HTTP 200; the site 403s ordinary automated requests: https://michigan.law.umich.edu/admissions/apply-jd-program
- University of Virginia School of Law, J.D. application information and admissions FAQ (own voice, without AI tools; no human-feedback sentence on either page). Retrieved 2026-09-01 via headless browser with JavaScript disabled, HTTP 200: https://www.law.virginia.edu/admissions/admissions/jd-application-information
- UCLA School of Law, first-year J.D. applicants (AI tools prohibited across the application). Retrieved 2026-09-01, HTTP 200: https://law.ucla.edu/admissions/jd-admissions/first-year-jd-applicants
- University of Richmond School of Law, apply page, "Use of Artificial Intelligence" (the permitted and not-permitted lists; the disclosure requirement). Retrieved 2026-09-01, HTTP 200 with full content; without the site's consent cookie the request returns a content-free wall: https://law.richmond.edu/admissions/apply/index.html
- Columbia Law School, Fall 2026 J.D. application preview PDF (the assistance prohibition and the certification). Re-read 2026-09-01, HTTP 200. Columbia's public J.D. pages carry no AI rule, and the Fall 2027 preview was not posted at this check (404): https://www.law.columbia.edu/sites/default/files/2025-09/jd-preview-application-fall-2026.pdf
- LSAC, steps to apply to J.D. programs (prelaw advisor guidance) and free resources for aspiring law students. Both checked 2026-09-01: https://www.lsac.org/applying-law-school/jd-application-process/steps-apply-jd-programs#prelaw and https://www.lsac.org/discover-law/how-prepare-law-school/free-resources-aspiring-law-students
- Yale Law School, Access to Law School — free resources for applicants. Checked 2026-09-01: https://law.yale.edu/centers-workshops/law-and-racial-justice-center/access-law-school/free-resources-applicants
- AccessLex, MAX Pre-Law. Checked 2026-09-01 via desktop-browser retrieval; the page returns 403 to some automated agents: https://www.accesslex.org/max-pre-law
- LSAC, 2025 Prelaw Questionnaire report (20% of test takers had no one to rely on for application advice). Availability confirmed 2026-09-01; figure as published: https://www.lsac.org/sites/default/files/research/2025-PLQ-Report.pdf
- LSAC, Candidate Agreement 2026-27 (governs the LSAT and LSAT Argumentative Writing, not school essays): https://www.lsac.org/about/lsac-policies/lsac-candidate-agreement/2026-2027
- Applicant quotations are single sentences from public r/lawschooladmissions threads, cited by thread id and date from our 2026-08-27 quote bank; usernames omitted, threads not linked. Reddit returns 403 to automated retrieval and they were not re-fetched on 2026-09-01.
Review Your Law School Personal Statement
Get feedback on your own draft — personal statement, perspective statement, or addendum.