Skip to main content

Pakistan CGPA for a UK Master's: 2:1 Equivalent

UK 2:1 lines for Pakistani degrees: York 2.8 CGPA, Birmingham 2.8-3.0, Cambridge 3.5, Bristol 3.7. Why a 4-year BS matters before any of them.

Nirmal Thacker, Founder, GradPilot · CS, Georgia TechOctober 31, 20269 min read
Free personal statement reviewRubric-based feedback before you submit
Start

Pakistan CGPA for a UK Master's: 2:1 Equivalent

Check your degree length before your CGPA. All six UK universities below name a 4-year bachelor's as the standard route. After that, the published 2:1 line runs from CGPA 2.8/4 (York) to 3.7 (Bristol), with Cambridge at 3.5 for degrees awarded after 2015.

A 3.0 CGPA is a 2:1 at one university and below the line at another, so "what is 3.0 in UK terms?" has no single answer. Our view: Pakistani applicants should sort their list by two published facts, the degree route a university accepts and the CGPA line it prints, and only then start the UK master's personal statement.

All pages quoted below were read on 31 October 2026. They give no admission year for the grade lines, so confirm on your course page before applying. For what the statement itself must cover, see UK master's personal statement requirements.

What six UK universities publish for Pakistani degrees

Lines are quoted from each university's Pakistan entry. Imperial's and Manchester's are general postgraduate minimums, not lines labelled 2:1. The last column tests a constructed applicant with a 4-year BS awarded in 2024 and a CGPA of 3.1/4.

UniversityPublished grade line (as written)Conditions on the pageA 3.1/4, 4-year BS (2024)
York"A score of 70% (GPA 2.8 out of 4). This is considered comparable to a UK 2:1."4-year degree "from a recognised, prestigious institution"Meets it
Birmingham"a GPA of 2.8-3.0/4.0 or 65% or above for 2:1 equivalency""depending on the awarding institution"; recognised institutions per HECMeets it
Cambridge"75% overall or a GPA of 3.5/4""4-year Bachelor’s degree awarded after 2015"Below the line
Bristol"A CGPA of at least 3.7 or above will be required for programmes with a UK 2.1 entry requirement.""We can only consider qualifications from selected institutions in Pakistan."Below the line
Imperial"a final overall mark of 75% or better"4-year degree "awarded from 2016 onwards from one of the prestigious universities funded by the Higher Education Commission (HEC)"Page gives a percentage only
Manchester"typically ranges from 70-85% overall"4-year degree "from a reputable HEC-recognised university"Page gives percentages only

Cambridge prints separate rows for Lahore University of Management Sciences: "GPA 3.5/4" for a 2:1 if awarded after 2015, and "GPA 3.8/4" if awarded up to and including 2015.

Our arithmetic: on the four pages that print a 4-point CGPA, the 2:1 line spans 2.8 to 3.7, a gap of 0.9. Imperial and Manchester print percentages; we do not convert them.

14 vs 16 years: which degree routes each university accepts

This is the gate that comes before the CGPA. A 2-year BA or BSc is 14 years of education; a 4-year BS is 16. The pages treat the shorter routes very differently.

University4-year BS2-year BA + 2-year master's3-year bachelor's + 1-year master's4-year degree awarded before 2016
CambridgeYes, if "awarded after 2015"Not in the 2:1 rowNot in the 2:1 rowNot in the 2:1 row (LUMS has its own row)
ImperialYes, from 2016, HEC-funded "prestigious universities"Not statedNot stated"a Master's degree is also normally required"
BristolYesYes: "A Bachelors of 2 years +2 year Masters."Yes: "A Bachelors of 3 years + 1 year Masters degree"Only with "+1 year Masters degree"
BirminghamYes"may also be considered", "in the same subject""may also be considered", with a master's "of one or two years duration"Not stated
ManchesterYes"contact the International Office""contact the International Office"Not stated
YorkYes, "recognised, prestigious institution"Not statedNot statedNot stated

York also accepts "a two/three year Bachelors degree following an Associate Degree", a route the other five pages do not mention.

Our view: if you hold a 2-year BA plus a 2-year MA or MSc, apply first where the combination is written down: Bristol and Birmingham. Birmingham's "in the same subject" condition matters: a BA followed by an MSc in a different field does not match its wording. Treat Cambridge and Imperial as closed on this route until their admissions teams tell you otherwise in writing.

The countercase: if your 4-year BS is from 2016 or later, the route question is settled at all six, and the CGPA line decides. For you, the first table is the one that matters. The other condition still applies: Bristol considers only "selected institutions", and Birmingham points to HEC for which institutions count as recognised.

Under Cambridge's 3.5: what the statement can show

The statement cannot turn 3.1 into 3.5. A selector checking Cambridge's row reads your transcript, not your paragraph. What the statement can show is evidence the CGPA averages away: a stronger final year, high marks in the modules this course builds on, and a research or capstone project.

If you clear the line, say nothing about your CGPA. If you are below it, two sentences of evidence are the limit. Longer explanations for low grades are covered in writing a UK master's statement with a 2:2.

Constructed example: a 3.1 CGPA BS Computer Science graduate

Constructed example, written by us, not a real applicant statement. Context (invented): Hamza Qureshi, 4-year BS Computer Science awarded 2024, CGPA 3.1/4, applying for an MSc in artificial intelligence.

Weak version (52 words):

I completed my 16 years of education with a CGPA of 3.1, which is equivalent to a UK 2:1 according to HEC standards. Although my CGPA is not very high, I have always been passionate about artificial intelligence and I believe I have the dedication required to succeed at your prestigious university.

Revised version (90 words):

My final-year project, supervised in the department's vision lab, trained a model to read handwritten Urdu numerals on utility bills and reached 94% accuracy on our test set. I earned A grades in Machine Learning and Linear Algebra, the two modules I used most in that project. My earlier semesters were weaker, and my overall CGPA of 3.1 reflects them. The project showed me where my training stops: I can tune a model, but I cannot yet explain why it fails. The programme's modules in probabilistic modelling address that gap.

The weak version cites HEC for an equivalence that each university sets for itself (York and Birmingham read 3.1 as a 2:1; Cambridge and Bristol do not), and relies on "passion". The revised version gives a project with a result, two marks, and one sentence that owns the CGPA. The 94% figure is part of the invented scenario.

Sort your list in six steps

  1. Write down your degree route (4-year BS, 2+2, 3+1), the award year, and your CGPA exactly as the transcript prints it.
  2. Cross out any university whose route table does not accept your degree route, or email it before you go further.
  3. For the rest, read the Pakistan row on each university's own page and note the 2:1 line.
  4. Open each course page and note the class it asks for. A course that asks for a First or High 2:1 needs more than the 2:1 line.
  5. Where the page gives only percentages (Imperial, Manchester), ask admissions which figure it reads from a CGPA transcript. Do not convert.
  6. Apply mostly where you clear the line. Use the statement for evidence, not for the CGPA.

Questions about Pakistani degrees and the UK 2:1

Is a 3.0 CGPA a 2:1 in the UK?

At Birmingham, 3.0 is inside its 2.8–3.0 line, depending on your university. At York, 2.8 is the published 2:1 line. At Cambridge (3.5) and Bristol (3.7) it is below the line.

Is a 2-year BA plus a 2-year master's accepted for a UK master's?

At Bristol, yes, as written. At Birmingham, it "may also be considered" if both are "in the same subject". Manchester asks you to contact its International Office. Cambridge's and Imperial's pages do not list it.

Does HEC recognition matter?

Yes, on three of the six pages. Manchester asks for an "HEC-recognised university", Imperial for "prestigious universities funded by the Higher Education Commission (HEC)", and Birmingham refers you to the HEC for which institutions are recognised.

Do they use my overall CGPA or my final year?

The pages state overall figures. Imperial writes "final overall mark" and Manchester "overall". None says it uses only your final year.

I also have a master's from Pakistan. Does that change anything?

Cambridge lists a Pakistani master's taken after a 4-year BS or a 2-year master's at UK master's level, with Merit at "80% or GPA 3.75/4". If you are applying to a PhD after an MPhil, the statement problem is different; see PhD SOP for Pakistani MPhil students. For Chinese degrees, the UK 2:1 lines for Chinese degrees depend on which university list you are on.

Get a free review of your personal statement

Get a free Quick Review of your personal statement against GradPilot's UK master's personal statement rubric. It looks at the academic case for this degree, how you use your BS coursework and projects as evidence, and whether you show you are ready for the named programme. Applying to LSE? Use the LSE statement of academic purpose rubric.

More UK degree-equivalence guides:

Sources

Retrieved 31 October 2026. No page states an admission year for its grade lines.

  • University of York, Pakistan: 70% (GPA 2.8/4) comparable to a 2:1; Associate Degree route.
  • University of Birmingham, Pakistan: 2.8–3.0/4.0 or 65% for 2:1; 3+1 and 2+2 routes; HEC reference.
  • University of Cambridge, International qualifications: Pakistan 4-year after 2015 at 3.5/4; LUMS rows; master's row.
  • University of Bristol, Pakistan: accepted routes; CGPA 3.7 for 2:1 programmes; selected institutions.
  • Imperial College London, Accepted qualifications (postgraduate taught): 4-year from 2016, HEC-funded, 75%; pre-2016 master's rule.
  • University of Manchester, Pakistan: 4-year HEC-recognised, 70% to 85%; 2+2 and 3+1 contact.

Get feedback on your personal statement

Paste your draft. The free Quick Review shows what to fix against the programme's rubric before you submit.

Review it free

Rubrics for This Topic

All Graduate (MS/MA) rubrics

Related Articles

Check your personal statement before you submit

A free Quick Review against an admissions rubric. Sign up, paste your draft, see what to fix.

Get the free review
No credit card required